Prime Len for Travel Photography

I think there are several factors, but main thing is what you want to achieve?

1. Are you bringing other lenses eg bring wide zoom and telephoto zoom, and bring 50mm to cover the gap. Or bring one full range zoom, but prime with big aperture for low light.

2. As others have said, what is your style and preference. Some like angle of view/perspective of 35, others like angle/perspective of 50.

3. If you are planning to use prime to supplement other lenses e.g. zooms or other primes, then are you used to changing lenses on the move? Sometimes, when travel in group or with others and everyone rushing, either may not have time to select prime, change lenses etc. or paiseh to make everyone wait while you do that.

4. Also depends on environment. For those who sayang their eqpt, may not be so keen to change lenses in dusty environment or if raining. In crowded and not so safe places, changing lenses can attract unwanted attention.

5. Focal length of prime also depend on what you are likely to shoot. If you are going to shoot family, friends group in front of big monument, may need wider angle. Same for narrow or confined places. If there is more space, then you may not get enough isolation with wider prime. As others have said above, sometimes no space to go forward or backward to get better FOV.

my personal perference is a 35mm and coupled with a 85mm. i am on FF. But now I am toying w getting a 24mm to replace my 35mm.

Usually I need 1 UWA, 1 normal, 1 short tele on APS-C

UWA - 10-20, 15mm
Normal - 24, 28, 35mm
Short Tele - 85, 100, 135

If one of these does macro, its a bonus.
Else I bring along a 25mm section of extension tube for close-up possibilities.

The normal lens stays on the camera most of the time.

i wish there was an affordable APS-C wide angle prime at maybe 10, 12 or 14mm focal length (and that's cheaper than the APS-C UWA zooms). closest i can think of is that Sony NEX has a 16mm f/2.8 pancake lens. or am i mistaken and there really is a wide angle prime for crop-factor cameras?

samyang 14mm? although may still not be wide enough if on a crop factor cam.

There is on Pentax mount for APS-C
DA14/2.8

DA15/4
via DPreview
allroundview-001.jpg

Don't think there are affordable UWA lenses. Cheapest wide are the 18-55mm kit lenses. The Sigma 10-20/4.5-5.6 are about $750 bought in the US or HK.

There is on Pentax mount for APS-C
DA14/2.8

DA15/4
via DPreview
allroundview-001.jpg

Don't think there are affordable UWA lenses. Cheapest wide are the 18-55mm kit lenses. The Sigma 10-20/4.5-5.6 are about $750 bought in the US or HK.

i guess this is a plus point for Pentax... seems like the other camera manufacturers simply choose to stay out of this market (wonder if it's cos they don't want an APS-C UWA prime to eat into their sales of their UWA zooms).

samyang 14mm? although may still not be wide enough if on a crop factor cam.

oops, i realize there's a manual-focus samyang 8mm (seems like setting the focus to 1 metre gives a DOF from 50cm to infinity, so manual focus might be okay)... on the other hand, am not sure with regards to this particular brand. also, not sure whether i might prefer something less wide for less distortion.

ermm the 8mm is fisheye... 14mm is the normal ultra wide angle.

i think some of us here had bought via Mass Sales... i am still waiting their reviews and photos... to see if it is worth to sell my 17-40 for this.

You can try 17mm, 35mm and 50mm. you will be amazed that you will be a master of lenses switching in the shortest time.

Not to worry of miss shot because better opportunity will come. :bsmilie:

I've travelled places using only my kit lens (18-55) and I rarely missed a shot, but had plenty of lost opportunities at night. Which goes to show how important a fast (and inexpensive) prime lens can be of help.

I currently utilise 50mm, 35mm and 28mm prime lenses for both digital and film, and I believe these cover a day-to-day spectrum of needs (in my case of course).

If possible, just borrow a friend's lens and see whether it is to your liking. I've never looked back after sticking a Manual Focus 50mm prime on my D40... so much so I'm getting another one for my film SLR.

Shoot first and talk later :)

i think the most difficult thing is when you want to be in the photo then you ask some stranger or another person from the same tour group take the pic for you...

then jialat~!! half the time koyak one..

i think the most difficult thing is when you want to be in the photo then you ask some stranger or another person from the same tour group take the pic for you...

use tripod, self shot? :bsmilie:

sometimes you are walking past the river and then you wanna take a shot with the (lets take for example in europe) nice church along the street... then quite unlikely to set up tripod and all la..

haha, alot of times end up ownself 自拍 hold the camera around guess and shoot...

if got people ask them take but sometimes quite jialat one.. hahah.. thats why travel must travel with photo savvy people~!!!

You never watch Mr Bean?
Later the fella ask you to move back more, then run away with your camera :bsmilie:

You never watch Mr Bean?
Later the fella ask you to move back more, then run away with your camera :bsmilie:

hahaha....

yes yes, this one oso must be careful...

must get those who can't run one.. with a child holding on to their leg.. or carrying lots of things, or pushing a pram..

I just got back from holiday with Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 constant aperture..
Works like a charm! It can take wide enough picture for me

I will take Nikon 18-200 VR for travelling. No need to change lens . :D

I use a ep1 with 17mm panny & 450d with 50mm 1.8 + 135mm f2