Powershot S3 IS

tks said:
Hi Jackals,

Shop and price of various items purchased by me already posted in this thread. (Read above messages)

Upgrading the free 512MB to 1 or 2GB card is not worth it. You are better off keeping the free card and buying the 1 or 2GB card separately.

Hi Singapore21,

$750 appears to be a good price. Just make sure you do not fall into any of the following traps:

1. The GST Trap - You confirm buying the camera but at the cashier, the shop adds 5% on top of $750. Our price of $760 is inclusive of GST.

2. The Accessories Trap - You buy the camera at $10 cheaper but end up paying $20 more in accessories' (i.e. batteries, charger, case etc) prices.

3. The Different Package Trap - Your set does not include warranty or something that is standard in our packages.

4.The Switch Product Trap - This is the worst. You have done your research on specs and price, and settled on the Canon S3. The shop gives you a very, very good price on the S3, leading you to believe that their prices are really good. Then they convince you to buy another much "better" camera and you end up buying something which you regret the moment you reach home, and at a price that is not good at all.
thanks bro, for the tips.

Whitelion said:
Yes! I am keen! Hopefully they got 0% installment plan ;p

All these shops that offer $760 work on very thin margins. They do not even accept credit card payment, unless you pay extra 3%. So, definitely no instalments. That is only available in dept stores at the retail price of $849.

p.s. you the same whitelion in ppcsg?

BlueBull said:
Anyone upgrading to S3 from S2?

How much can a used S2 fetch now?
yes.. i'm oso keen on knowin e resale value of e S2. anyone?

WAH LAU! 11.35am called MS Color... they told me got stock.... 12.45pm reach there..... no stock liao....... :embrass: :cry:

tks said:
All these shops that offer $760 work on very thin margins. They do not even accept credit card payment, unless you pay extra 3%. So, definitely no instalments. That is only available in dept stores at the retail price of $849.

p.s. you the same whitelion in ppcsg?

kekeke that's me tks ;p BTW MS Color accept installment but must pay 5% more :confused:

I currently own the s1 and would greatly like to get the s3... Was thinking of selling the s1 to contribute to s3 funds... How much would s1 fetch?

Sianzzzz MS no stock for S3 liao.......if not will be playing with it now!!

Alan Photo should have stock. I bought on Saturday and saw quite a number there. As I mentioned, if you really like the camera, get it now before the shops run out of stock and the price actually increases.

shuumi said:
I currently own the s1 and would greatly like to get the s3... Was thinking of selling the s1 to contribute to s3 funds... How much would s1 fetch?

I sold my S1 2 weeks ago before the S3 came out. At that time, the S1 camera itself without any accessories (CF card etc) was fetching about $300 to $350.

I am not sure about S2 but I think it should be around $500 plus or minus $100.

tks said:
I sold my S1 2 weeks ago before the S3 came out. At that time, the S1 camera itself without any accessories (CF card etc) was fetching about $300 to $350.

I am not sure about S2 but I think it should be around $500 plus or minus $100.
where did u sell it?

NightZ88 said:
where did u sell it?

I posted advert in Buy/Sell section here as well as on eBay.

got mine from Alan Photo at $755 30mins ago! am playing with it at Bugis now!

Wow... $755 for the S3 IS is really a good deal! I'm also very tempted liao! :think:

I also paid $755 at Alan Photo. :)

tks said:
Hi Jackals,

Included items already posted in this thread. See #73.
oic, btw thinking of getting a tripod and a carrying bag.
any recommendation which shop offer the best deal?

Whitelion said:
Haha! tks we can have Camera + PPC gathering liao ;p
u also bought S3?
btw, did u go for the extended warranty?

Jackals,

AP sells the "7 in 1" Canon nylon case with mini tripod and cleaning case for $15, together with the S3. I got one even though I was strongly encouraged to choose the leather Canon case. No regrets. It is cool. The S3 fits snugly inside. There are many pockets for my spare batteries, AV cable, extra SD card and even the mini-tripod. MS Colour sells the same case for $25.

Whitelion,

Maybe ... but I have not even attended a single PPCSG gathering, even though i am a very "old" member.