Potential owner..

U are rite, I prefer everything in one lens, so when I travel, I dun need to bring so many lenses, and the 18-200mm has 11.1X zoom, which is a good range for travelling, especially when u go places like grand canyon, where u can't simply just walk nearer to the subject u wanna take.

IMHO, the AFS18-70 @ S$410 is not "so cheap" that I can just keep it. The 50mm/f1.8D @ S$170 will be cheap enuf to keep.

Reason I wanna buy 17-55mm/f2.8 is because of it's fix and big aperture, very good for indoor portraits and to maintain the atmosphere of the ambient lite. Since it's indoors, I can walk closer to subject, so low zoom is ok. The 18-200mm VR and 18-70 widest aperture is f3.5. Zoom a bit and the aperture closes further...

the 18-70 is indeed "so cheap" compared to the 18-200vr....

and dun forget ur 200mm at ur 18-200mm isn't 200mm at all focussing distance...

my suggestion for ambient light photography is to use fast primes. in ur case, for the 17-55 at ~$2200, u can just about get a 50/1.4 and a 85/1.4

but that's the thing with dslr.. end up u will (want to) own all.. i have the 17-55, 50/1.4 and 85/1.4. AND the 18-70 also.. ahhaha

:bsmilie: Wahahahaha... u are so rite... I also want the whole range of lenses if my father owns the bank. Even if not used, laying them out and admiring them will boost my ego :lovegrin: .

But then, at this point of time, my father doesn't own a bank, and I don't think he ever would, and before I reach for my wallet to pay for those lenses, my wife would chop off my hands :sweat: . Hahahahaha... :bsmilie:

AFS18-70 @ S$410... is this brand new price? If so, which shop selling at this price?

Ya, it's brand new price. I got the price from the Nikon Price List. Go check it out. Unless I read it wrongly? :dunno:

I totally understand what you are saying. But I want to start off simple and then pick up stuff along the way as I grow as a photographer...

And update: The lens is totally out of question man.. 1260$

D80 + 18-135 kt len $1900 before any neg ay Alan Photo
within ur budget mai tu liao :cool: :cool: :cool:

oh ya 18-200 VR think whole singapore out of stock now so comfirm out of question :sweat:

me still lookin at best offer for D80...

u realli "poisonous" :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Then you need more...

More Sb-800's, SB-600's, macro lenses, long telephotos like 400mm or 600mm... it's never enough.. hahah

within ur budget mai tu liao

oh ya 18-200 VR think whole singapore out of stock now so comfirm out of question :sweat:

:D Totally within budget but does Alan Photo take installments ;p

within ur budget mai tu liao :cool: :cool: :cool:

actually many shop still have stock on 18-200VR... just that they are waiting for carrot-head to walk into their trap. :bsmilie:

Well IMHO the first lens one should by other than the kit lenses or anything else u care to choose is a 50ml. I think you can learn a lot in your composition and its light to carry around and fast if you choose the 1.4 ect . I think this applies to any brand you choose to buy.

Anyway thats my 5c worth LOL :cool:

the 18-70 is indeed "so cheap" compared to the 18-200vr....

and dun forget ur 200mm at ur 18-200mm isn't 200mm at all focussing distance...

my suggestion for ambient light photography is to use fast primes. in ur case, for the 17-55 at ~$2200, u can just about get a 50/1.4 and a 85/1.4

haha, same combi except I got 50 1.8 instead.
18-70 kinda useless now but cant bear to sell it away... my first love. ;p

Ok done enquiring. This is the price list from my enquiries:

1. Harvey Norman - 2288$ with 0% installment available

2. Courts - 2288$ without 0% installment, they have 3%

3. Alan - 1930$ without installment, 6% for installment ~ 2056$

4.Cathay - 2010 with 0% installment

5. MS Color - 1980$ without installment, 5% for installment ~ 2079$

Couldnt catch hold of the person at Lord's.

Well the interesting thing is that the person at Courts told me to buy the Canon as compared to Nikon. He says the Nikon is using Sony lens which defeats the purpose of buying a Nikon in the first place. Also, Canon has a better image according to him..... I'm :dunno: Any body out there elucidate?

Ok done enquiring. This is the price list from my enquiries:

1. Harvey Norman - 2288$ with 0% installment available

2. Courts - 2288$ without 0% installment, they have 3%

3. Alan - 1930$ without installment, 6% for installment

4.Cathay - 2010 with 0% installment

Couldnt catch hold of the person at Lord's.

Well the interesting thing is that the person at Courts told me to buy the Canon as compared to Nikon. He says the Nikon is using Sony lens which defeats the purpose of buying a Nikon in the first place. Also, Canon has a better image according to him..... I'm :dunno: Any body out there elucidate?

Hmm... a few things. First, I would not go for installment if possible. Increases the cost of the camera for no reason. Unless u dun have cash, then bo bian...

Second, the guy at Courts probably meant that Nikon D80 uses same sensor as Sony A100 (most Nikon DSLRs use CCDs made by Sony). If he really said "lenses", then obviously he knows nuts about Nikon DSLRs, because Nikon makes it's own lenses... The important thing to note, however, is that though Nikon and Sony can use the same CCD, the picture quality can be (and actually is) very different. This is because the CCD is only a very small factor. The low pass filter of the camera, the lens, the algorithm that the camera uses to process the signal from the CCD, the compression algorithm, etc, etc, will finally affect the picture quality.

Conclusion: Go for Nikon because of the pic quality, not because of anything to do with Sony. A note on Canon though: it is a great brand and makes great cameras, but I am still a personal fan of Nikon. Another thing to consider: Canon cameras are good, but usually the kit lenses are lousy and end up as expensive paper weights. Buying a quality Canon lens will certainly blow your wallet and exceed your budget. ;)

Hmm... a few things. First, I would not go for installment if possible. Increases the cost of the camera for no reason. Unless u dun have cash, then bo bian...

Second, the guy at Courts probably meant that Nikon D80 uses same sensor as Sony A100 (most Nikon DSLRs use CCDs made by Sony). If he really said "lenses", then obviously he knows nuts about Nikon DSLRs, because Nikon makes it's own lenses... The important thing to note, however, is that though Nikon and Sony can use the same CCD, the picture quality can be (and actually is) very different. This is because the CCD is only a very small factor. The low pass filter of the camera, the lens, the algorithm that the camera uses to process the signal from the CCD, the compression algorithm, etc, etc, will finally affect the picture quality.

Conclusion: Go for Nikon because of the pic quality, not because of anything to do with Sony. A note on Canon though: it is a great brand and makes great cameras, but I am still a personal fan of Nikon. Another thing to consider: Canon cameras are good, but usually the kit lenses are lousy and end up as expensive paper weights. Buying a quality Canon lens will certainly blow your wallet and exceed your budget. ;)

:embrass: :embrass: Ooops my bad, yea he said Sony sensor. And also that a CMOS is better than a CCD. So,I should go for the Canon.

But well I'm inclined towards the Nikon only. And well have to wait really long if I wanna put down the entire cash. Student's stipend doesnt pay much :cry: By the way, there is an IT fair coming up in March. Will it make sense to wait?

:embrass: :embrass: Ooops my bad, yea he said Sony sensor. And also that a CMOS is better than a CCD. So,I should go for the Canon.

But well I'm inclined towards the Nikon only. And well have to wait really long if I wanna put down the entire cash. Student's stipend doesnt pay much :cry: By the way, there is an IT fair coming up in March. Will it make sense to wait?

It all depends. If u are not in need (or desperately in want :bsmilie: ) of the camera, then u can CHOOSE to wait. U may CHOOSE to buy immediately also. There's no right or wrong answer. U see, tomorrow's camera will always be cheaper and better, and u can end up waiting indefinitely for the dream camera that never comes. And tomorrow's camera, though cheaper and better, cannot capture today's moment. It's all about your CHOICE. ;)

Ha ha well said my man.... well said. What do you think about the CMOS/CCD thing?

Well said. The camera, PC or mobile phone available tomorrow will always be better and cheaper but you can't use it today and what is lost is forever lost. As long as you make good use of whatever you buy, it is always worth the money.