Poor Economy affecting 09 Bookings?

engr

I was chatting with some friends and heard that the 2009 booking has been quite poor so far compared to last year. I understand that usually during 4Q, the following year's 4Q is already heavily booked!

This year seems pretty bad, especially for VGs since a great no of couples think that video can been skipped while photos r a must.

R u facing the same problems?

guess not oni for wedding.. even corporate oso slow down lor.
i believe not oni this industry bah?
most industry affected lor..
every couple save save save... every company save save save.. economy will get worst if everyone dont spend! :dunno:

Broadcast also affected a bit, but my 2 cents worth of advice to fellow video professionals is not to cut down on your rates just to stay competitive.

Because if you do that, you'll find it hard to increase back your rates to a level where you think it's worth your time, effort and investments to stay in this trade. :D

Although I dun do wedding videos now, rates now compared to 8-9 years ago is really bad that I stayed away from wedding videos. I hope corporate and event videos rates don't fall that low to a pathetic level, and everyone of us in the industry will play a huge part in maintaining our profession & trade

Yup. I fully agree. Should not lower prices n starting putting the industry into doldrums. Me dun do it for a living so its ok, but for the folks out there whose bread n butter, lagi important! Must hold the fort!

got to agree do not bring rates down no matter what... maybe a bit freebies to stay competitive. got to agree wif dix even broadcaster are hit times are bad lesser new programmes and more reruns coming up... lol

last night a couple came and told me my rate is high - so and so quoted them $550 with highlight.:o

Me fainted, when they ask me to package my service comprising of 4 mins - flash animation, 10 mins - photo slideshow (scan their photos) and video plus highlight for $800.

I ask them how much they paid for the MUA - $450, dinner per table - $688. AD photographer - $1,500 :bigeyes:

i lagi jiak luk.. one company approached me to do some instructional videos, with series of abt 20 clips.. his budget oni $120 per clip! omg.. not even enough for the equipment cost!! :bigeyes:

Just tabulate the amount of man-hours involved and equipment/software investment you've made, working at that rate for a wedding video may tally up to just slightly better rate than working at a fast food outlet... ;p

last night a couple came and told me my rate is high - so and so quoted them $550 with highlight.:o

Me fainted, when they ask me to package my service comprising of 4 mins - flash animation, 10 mins - photo slideshow (scan their photos) and video plus highlight for $800.

I ask them how much they paid for the MUA - $450, dinner per table - $688. AD photographer - $1,500 :bigeyes:

$550 is MAD. Some student quote maybe or they BS. AD-PG @1.5k and video they wanna pay $800 with so much.. go fly kite!!

i lagi jiak luk.. one company approached me to do some instructional videos, with series of abt 20 clips.. his budget oni $120 per clip! omg.. not even enough for the equipment cost!! :bigeyes:

Actually u could have offered him an old handycam for 1k and ask him to DIY. Cheaper ;p

hahaha give old handycam final product on VHS ;) ! lol

I think I know which company you are talking about. I got approached by one company asking for about the same rate too for instructional videos for their China counterparts. :sweat:

:cool: Lotsa of last min bookings coming now. I think many ppl will be looking for last min deals next yr. Ppl just dun wan to commit long term. Will be very interesting next year.

I think I know which company you are talking about. I got approached by one company asking for about the same rate too for instructional videos for their China counterparts. :sweat:

maybe the same company bah.. i think some ppl don't understand videos.. they tot very ez.. they not aware of the work involve.:dunno:

:cool: Lotsa of last min bookings coming now. I think many ppl will be looking for last min deals next yr. Ppl just dun wan to commit long term. Will be very interesting next year.

If last minutes booking charge higher lor ;p

maybe the same company bah.. i think some ppl don't understand videos.. they tot very ez.. they not aware of the work involve.:dunno:

yup! should really get them to watch us edit one day. lolx!

My gf was sitting with me watching me edit a express highlight video for a client's wedding the other day and she was like wah...*jaw dropped*...haha! :bsmilie:

Hey guys, since we'r on this topic.

What is a good average AD wedding videographer rate? (With and without highlights)

David