Please shed some lights (no pun intended) :-)

porcupine

Hi fellow videographers,

Can anybody suggest a good starting light kit for short film or music video. I'm using a DVX102B. I've started to do some research online but alas it confuses matter as there are so many options out there and not enough information on how to start into this area. I know that lighting is vast topic to grasp but if anybody out there has any information on what kits / model to start with, it would be appreciated. I know that budget matters in this case as well but everybody has to start somewhere.

Thanks in advance everyone.

if you intend to rent, then i wud strongly advise you to talk to FEG or Cinegear about what you wanna shoot. Get straight practical advise and also maybe get the chance to look at the equipment they got.

dun worry, most of them are nice people.

its best you dont purchase... least for now. many many reasons why u shudnt

if you intend to rent, then i wud strongly advise you to talk to FEG or Cinegear about what you wanna shoot. Get straight practical advise and also maybe get the chance to look at the equipment they got.

Hi Shawn,

Thanks for your comment. I'm not based in SG. Is FEG and Cinegear based in SG ?. To get to my exact need, I wanted to experiment with lighting as a personal project and is there any particularly good starter kit for a newbie to start with ?

Thanks for all comments. Appreciated.

ok tan try DIY lights bro ! try using fluorescent tubes instead the provide quite soft lighting , i did it 4 a friend to modify 4 2ft fluorescent tubes into a so called budget kino flo wif no ballast attached ! should oso try to buy those kinda photographic slave bulb holder , add a 50w spot bulb and voila u got a set of dedo lite! but best try to get an 800w redhead wif barndoor

Yup. i'm sure you'll know. after Cages.

heh.

Hi Shawn,

Thanks for your comment. I'm not based in SG. Is FEG and Cinegear based in SG ?. To get to my exact need, I wanted to experiment with lighting as a personal project and is there any particularly good starter kit for a newbie to start with ?

Thanks for all comments. Appreciated.

Porcupine

depends on what you want to achieve and your style of lighting. Different lights have different purposes but like a painter, you have to paint the frame with light.

PM me if you need more help.

you were in cages too? cages didnt get anything from them. its thru my experiences when still a student ;p

OT but looks like Cages has come back with a vengeance!

you were in cages too? cages didnt get anything from them. its thru my experiences when still a student ;p

I was supposed to crew for cages way back. but i got another offer so i took up an overseas shoot instead.

You've got yourself a good crew on cages though, from Art D to the boys, all of them were working hard and did a good job.

yeah, sorry , my bad. your stuff were from camquip right?

heh. as a student, it was tough also! but i learnt more stuff in the real world and very much lesser practical stuff in school

heehee. :)

Thanks to all who posted comments although I'm still at a loss on which light kit to get. I've done some research online and came across the Arrilite DV kit which is an all in one portable kit but the prices do look a bit scary. Anybody out here uses Arri kit to light DV shots ?

Thanks in advance again !

My reco is just to get a set of Red Head...works great anytime and certainly affordable...anything with ARRI on it is great but exp...

Thanx
Pierce

Thanks to all who posted comments although I'm still at a loss on which light kit to get. I've done some research online and came across the Arrilite DV kit which is an all in one portable kit but the prices do look a bit scary. Anybody out here uses Arri kit to light DV shots ?

Thanks in advance again !

well, for most shoots

a redhead (800w) and 2 Arri 650w fresnels would be good enough.

heh. thats what i think lah.

:cool:

well, for most shoots

a redhead (800w) and 2 Arri 650w fresnels would be good enough.

heh. thats what i think lah.

:cool:

I did some research online and is it true that the so call "redhead" is an Arri type ? and where do you guys get your lights in SG ?

Again, thanks for all the helps. Appreciated.

Yes arri has 800w but they aren't redheads ironically they are blue heads instead ! alright in singapore there are a few companies selling lights , arri's are brought in by cinequip or warta transmarco they bring in ianiro or u can get your quotes from expandore saw they have a few lighting equipments. Should try to look 4 china lighting saw those at broadcast a few years ago ! cheap and they copy arri design 100% man!

Hey Faiz, do you know any website that has more information on those china "arri" copy lighting ?

Thanks in Advance.

I think Film Gear is one of the ARRI lookalikes