Phuket Recommendations Please!!!

Need advise on how to get to Patong beach hotels from Airport... read a couple of threads on google-search and I am now confused.. :sweat:

Go try the metered taxi's at the airport, exit the airport and turn right, ignore the limousine touts calling out to you.

You should be able to see a booth with the sign "metered taxi". State your destination at the counter and you get a receipt with a phone number to call if the taxi driver tries to overcharge you.

Used their services every-time I go phuket (around 5 or 6 times), trouble free so far. My price might be outdated, but I think you would not need to pay more than 400THB from airport to the beach area (including the 100THB surcharge to leave the airport)

Go try the metered taxi's at the airport, exit the airport and turn right, ignore the limousine touts calling out to you.

You should be able to see a booth with the sign "metered taxi". State your destination at the counter and you get a receipt with a phone number to call if the taxi driver tries to overcharge you.

Used their services every-time I go phuket (around 5 or 6 times), trouble free so far. My price might be outdated, but I think you would not need to pay more than 400THB from airport to the beach area (including the 100THB surcharge to leave the airport)

thank you thank you.. i take note of this.. it will come in very helpful :angel:

wow thanks it a big help reading this thread. phuket trip on jan 16 2011

Need advise, if we take on a 1-day exursion trip during our stay at Phuket, would one is better and more worthy...Krabi or Phi Phi ( prices are the same ).. :D

Hahahaha, Lotus, I think both are just as great!!!! :bsmilie:

Krabi is on the mainland itself and phi phi is an island. Each has its own charm. For me, I would choose phi phi cos its nearer and I can visit other surrounding interesting islands.

btw do you know that the famous james bond island is in Krabi.
just google thailand james bond island and phi phi island to do a comparison.

Thanks for the great advice!!! I'm still doing my research! lol

3 weeks liao.... still haven't go har??:bsmilie:
I was expecting to see some nice photos from here when I see new post from you.

Not sure about you...Phi Phi got nothing much to see. Its just sand, sea, and beautiful bodies. Not that it's not nice but there's nothing much to do except to buy a drink, laze at the sun chair and watch the pretty girls gyrate under the hot sun. Give me 5 minutes and that's enough. Krabi would roughly be the same experience but if you have a rented car, go inland, the waterfall and limestone mountain ranges would be beautiful if you have the stamina to trek.:cool:

that sounds good for krabi, i wanna snorkel too..:lovegrin:
will go google for more info..

anybody has recommendation which tour agency to recommend? good and reliable and not overload their boaty ones..

Hi Peeps!

I've booked my ticket to Phuket this Christmas and I have a good 4 days there! I would like to know if anyone can share some good itinerary and a land operator perhaps??? Heading there alone, so I'd prefer a guide/driver who can speaks English. :)

Thanks much! :)

17 more days to go.........:sweatsm:

that sounds good for krabi, i wanna snorkel too..:lovegrin:
will go google for more info..

anybody has recommendation which tour agency to recommend? good and reliable and not overload their boaty ones..

what I did was go there and check out the price and itinerary.... never thought of good and reliable.... hmmm... maybe I am lucky. Most of the operators have a small shop along patong beach for you to pick and choose.

3 weeks liao.... still haven't go har??:bsmilie:
I was expecting to see some nice photos from here when I see new post from you.

Wah lau, it's like Christmas eve I will be departing lor....:sweat: and i still havent done much of a research!!!! Bz BZ BZ.... Die, I think just go there and be adventurous...wahahaha...I'm really keen to do some street shoot and Architecture/Cultural stuff....I hope I wont KO from Christmas EVe! lol ;p

Wah! Great information here. I am going there on 7 Jan : ).
Any must take (photograph) islands?

Wah lau, it's like Christmas eve I will be departing lor....:sweat: and i still havent done much of a research!!!! Bz BZ BZ.... Die, I think just go there and be adventurous...wahahaha...I'm really keen to do some street shoot and Architecture/Cultural stuff....I hope I wont KO from Christmas EVe! lol ;p

you can try doing a simple search like this in flickr as a start in your research for things to shoot there.
http://www.flickr.com/search/?w=all&q=phuket&m=text#page=0

some photos to inspire you.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orvaratli/4391380487/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37041293@N05/4328289926/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/24958117@N07/3641197144/in/set-72157609942350882/

if you like Muay thai, you can catch a Muay Thai fight in Patong area along Bang La Road, near the Ceylon Junk mall. If you time your ticket purchase right (just after 1st or 2nd fight), you may get the tics at half price!. bargain like crazy. Furthermore first few fights all small kids one and later on is adults. ;p

If you rent the motorbike, check the tires and where you ride over man! last time i went with my wife to Laem Promthep (Promthep Cape), sibeh suay the tire pancit (flat) when we left that cape and we had to take turns ride slow, walk up and down some pretty steep hills until we managed to find a tire shop. :sweat: Luckily that was in the afternoon.

I would advise to spend some time in Karon / Kata as Patong will be PACKED while these 2 beaches are slightly less popular.

If Ah Gua's on your menu - you can buy some tickets to Simon Cabaret in Patong. :bsmilie:

if you like Muay thai, you can catch a Muay Thai fight in Patong area along Bang La Road, near the Ceylon Junk mall. If you time your ticket purchase right (just after 1st or 2nd fight), you may get the tics at half price!. bargain like crazy. Furthermore first few fights all small kids one and later on is adults. ;p

If you rent the motorbike, check the tires and where you ride over man! last time i went with my wife to Laem Promthep (Promthep Cape), sibeh suay the tire pancit (flat) when we left that cape and we had to take turns ride slow, walk up and down some pretty steep hills until we managed to find a tire shop. :sweat: Luckily that was in the afternoon.

I would advise to spend some time in Karon / Kata as Patong will be PACKED while these 2 beaches are slightly less popular.

If Ah Gua's on your menu - you can buy some tickets to Simon Cabaret in Patong. :bsmilie:

Thanks Blackgoddess! I love caberet and Ah Gua Show! lol

I AM INSPIRED!!!! ;0 Thanks coolthought!!!

back from your trip? how was it? any more tips for those who might be going there soon too? Any photos? Thank you.