Photoshop Speed test for both Macs and PC.

Wai said:
i dun think dual core or dual processors will help much for photoshop

dual cores helps ALOT.
I have got 2x 254 opteron AMD chips. non dual cores..
i ran 3 times. 23s 22s 22s.

i was hoping some quad core macs users would post some figures. cuz on another forum only 1 quad core mac posted and his figures was 23sec vs a dual core AMD 22 secs.

forgot to mention. not sure if 32bit OS on 64bit processors would make it faster.

Firefox said:
The one with at least 2GB of memory (@ DDR400 or faster) and the fastest storage sub-system.

Technically, the 3.8GHz EE will lead the way. Especially if you have dual-channel, DDR400 memory running at low-latencies.
But I've won dual-cores and faster processors in PS CS2 with my Prescott 3.0 just because of a faster storage sub-system.. So anything goes..

i have tested with 2Gb ram drive vs 15k RPM drive as scratch disk for this test. no diff. it's seems small enough to fit everything into ram.

kahheng said:
You know the version of PS is also relevant.

In PS 7.01, 2:00

In PS CS2, 1:30

P4 3.0C, 2 gig of DDR400 value ram running at slowest ram timings.

My dinky Thinkpad running a Pentium M 1.5Ghz with 1 gig of RAM did 2:31 using PS 7.01 (I don't have CS2 installed on the laptop). The timings were uncannily the same using CS.

OMG PS7. it's as rare as windows Vista OS.

Slighty OT, but still on photo processing.
Things will be more exciting when Opteron 875s are out. 2x875s can process a D2x Raw in just 2 seconds in Bibble.

Zerstorer said:
Slighty OT, but still on photo processing.
Things will be more exciting when Opteron 875s are out. 2x875s can process a D2x Raw in just 2 seconds in Bibble.

wah 875. where got money to buy sia. 254s already considering whether it's cost effective liao. MB for 8 series is crazy. 8x dual cores AMD. lol no money to invest such monster. where you get specs to see 2 sec sia..

dont say 875..

the 275 already $1.5k+ per CPU.

Wai said:
hmm....

Let me try on my Dual Xeon 3Ghz, Prescott 3.6Ghz dual core, Pentium 820 dual core and Pentium 3.8Ghz Extreme Edition

guess which will be fastest? :D

So Wai, where are the benchmarks?:)

anka said:
wah 875. where got money to buy sia. 254s already considering whether it's cost effective liao. MB for 8 series is crazy. 8x dual cores AMD. lol no money to invest such monster. where you get specs to see 2 sec sia..

dont say 875..

the 275 already $1.5k+ per CPU.

It was tested 5-6mths ago on pre-production sets.:)
Here's the drool factor:
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/colfax_dual_opteron/page9.asp

Zerstorer said:
So Wai, where are the benchmarks?:)

i havent reach home leh... zzzz

let me prove if dual processor vs dual core vs hyperthreading will make any different on photoshop :D

tonight i will be bring out a 3054mm/f10 to shoot the sky, will spend the night outside

Zerstorer said:
It was tested 5-6mths ago on pre-production sets.:)
Here's the drool factor:
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/colfax_dual_opteron/page9.asp

kaoz bibble.. sure fast lah.. try with nikon capture. i just checked mine. per image NC takes to open 1 d2x file.. about 3-4 secs. i cant really tell the inbetween cuz it's too fast.. maybe finger reaction slow to press stop on timer.. lol

ok ok dont OT too far.. other test results from others?

Wai said:
let me prove if dual processor vs dual core vs hyperthreading will make any different on photoshop :D
As Photoshop is a known SMP aware program, I'm pretty sure that it does.:)

Ok, my turn now...

1min 23secs

P4 3Ghz 2 Gig DDR RAM (generic)
Total: 480 Gig of WD hard disk
PS CS2

70sec on a AMD Athlon 64 3800+, 1gb DDR ram, CS2

Mine took 1min 24sec

P4-3.0E Ghz
2GB dual channel DDR
PS CS 2

user12343 said:
70sec on a AMD Athlon 64 3800+, 1gb DDR ram, CS2

woah looks like my opterons really fly...

Dual 2.7 Powermac G5 with 4Gb Ram: 46 secs

73 sec on P4 3.2Ghz 1 Gbyte DDR CS2

Just curious to know. Are all those which render under 1 min timing consider powerful machine or something else factor it? Sorry for my louzy english.:) Care for the enlightenment? Thanks in advance.:)