Photographer wanted for Artistic Nude Photography

vince123123 said:
Wise words from the pro - :thumbsup: for you

OT a bit.. how big a bomb are we talking about? 2k big enough? :P

The last time I did a shoot at my client's house ( a very big house ), I gave her all the polariods, started the shoot with empty film holders, every roll of film was accounted for. Went down to the lab with her to print the slides, waited there for the processing and she took everything. The whole job took about a total of 5 days to reccee, plan, shoot and process and she have all rights to the images as she took all material used in the shoot. Cost? Around $4.5K not including MUA which she contacted on her own.

I can't keep any of the images for my portfolio but only went through with her all the images after the processing as a shoot debrief. I just took this as a commerical job where the clients want full and total copyrights. Since the price is right, I just shoot. If I really want, I'll either do a TFCD with a model or pay a model to shoot for my portfolio.;)

vince123123 said:
Wise words from the pro - :thumbsup: for you

OT a bit.. how big a bomb are we talking about? 2k big enough? :P

hmmmmmm...... reread your post and could not help asking:think: ...................you want to pay me to shoot you isit?:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Perhaps she is not attuned to the model-photographer usual terms of agreement. Perhaps she meant that she doesn't want the photos to be used publicly as a portfolio, e.g. posting on the photographer's website, rather than surrendering the rights. Photographers who have done artistic nude projects should be aware of the codes of conduct.

Or perhaps she thought artistic nude photos can be accorded with the same privacy as artistic nude paintings, where the artist actually paint one and only one work and there are no duplicates, so there is only one copy in the world.

Whatever the case, we should always provide the benefit of the doubt instead of jumping into conclusions. In any case, the client has the right to protect her privacy, while photographers have the obligation to advise on the use of the photographs.

For Peiwen, please don't take the discussion personally. It's good that everyone shares their views objectively, i.e. about the use of photos for own portfolio.

For the rest who is serious about contacting the client, just do what she says and discuss all matters (e.g. rights issues) privately to reach an agreement.

this trend was a in thing in Shanghai and taiwan a few years back.. it seems that s'pore is picking it up a few years after it's out of fashion. relax, have an open mind for the shoot, both parties should be comfortable to review together the initial shoot and improve on it for a second round. i used to know a photographer who worked a short stint with playboy mag and he said the best pictures are usually produced only in the second or third shooting session, when the models start to warm up to the event. of course, some models are pretty natural posing nude in front of the camera.
- i think Playboy mag has the world's best nude portraits, not all the time artistic, but always the best composition without appearing real sleazy.
- Cindy crawford was shot nude but done in an real artistic manner, with lightings and all, she appeared more like a stone statue with the sand covering her moist complexion under the setting sun of the deserted Florida beach.
If you reallly want this level of art-nude, be prepared to pay a more than a few k $$ for a ex-photographers from playboy mag.

pianodancer said:
Perhaps she is not attuned to the model-photographer usual terms of agreement. Perhaps she meant that she doesn't want the photos to be used publicly as a portfolio, e.g. posting on the photographer's website, rather than surrendering the rights. Photographers who have done artistic nude projects should be aware of the codes of conduct.

Or perhaps she thought artistic nude photos can be accorded with the same privacy as artistic nude paintings, where the artist actually paint one and only one work and there are no duplicates, so there is only one copy in the world.

Whatever the case, we should always provide the benefit of the doubt instead of jumping into conclusions. In any case, the client has the right to protect her privacy, while photographers have the obligation to advise on the use of the photographs.

For Peiwen, please don't take the discussion personally. It's good that everyone shares their views objectively, i.e. about the use of photos for own portfolio.

For the rest who is serious about contacting the client, just do what she says and discuss all matters (e.g. rights issues) privately to reach an agreement.

Put it this way, on one is right or wrong here.

Peiwen just wants to do some artitsic shot of herself but at the same time wants to protact herself or is shy about having her images seen by strangers other than the photographer and the MUA. Nothing wrong with that as she just want to protact herself.

For some photographer, they either have clients paying them good money to shoot them nude or have friends who apperciate their artistic flair for the human form and are willing to let them keep the images for the photographer's own portfolio. The images are after all, the photographer's creation. Nothing wrong for the photographers to refuse to give up their rights to their own creation.

Some other photographers are willing to release full and total rights to the nude model/client because they just take this as a commericial job and if the price is right, why not? I don't see anything wrong here as to them, it's just a job to them.

I myself hope to be able, one day, to shoot not just because it is a job where the price is right. But sad to say, the time is not now. One day, hopefully, one day I can do that.

Wah lau eh....I dont have S$4.5k leh!!!

yqt said:
hmmmmmm...... reread your post and could not help asking:think: ...................you want to pay me to shoot you isit?:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

student said:
This is very, very, silly.

A genuine photographer will want to use the opportunity to make good images. There are others whose intention maybe to use the opportunity to oggle a naked woman.

If you were to use your own CF card and then remove it straight away, what is there for the photographer? A few hours of "free show"? Sheesh!

If this is the condition, even if the model wants to pay me, I will not want to waste my time. I will rather pay a model to help me make images.

I am not interested in the money, if at the end of the day, I do not have images to keep and use for my portfolio.

yup yup correct.

And further more, i believe alot of di ko pei have already email to her liao, with or without studio.

If the lady will allow me to keep some shots and hand in studio, then i can help her with some token money (as i don't feel good to do free shoot).

If cannot use images, everything return, where got time for it man, see naked women so what, never see b4 meh???

vince123123 said:
Wah lau eh....I dont have S$4.5k leh!!!

for you cheap cheap 1/2 price:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

I see that this is getting a little out of hand.

Whether or not I add in my two cents' worth, people are just going to keep bickering over the rights issue.

Whichever camp you are rooting for, I see that I am learning something from this. I am very new to photography and I haven't done any artistic shots before. So your discussions have enlightened me on photographer's rights and my rights as well and I thank you all for that.

Donald Trump says, "It's not personal, it's just business."

Well I reckon it is.

well if it's business, then u'd be looking for photographers who are in the business of shooting artistic nudes.

try jason ho, he's the only one i know that does this alot. http://www.ezcapizm.com/

as for some of us, myself included, such of my shoots are all personal, they trust me, i shoot them, no one sees the photos except for me and her. more like a TFCD i guess? watever lar, i'm not too worried with terms...

do have a look at jason's website. his DI is astonishing but it's something where u either love it or hate it.

I agree with Joho...

But well.. these are just my opinions... you can disagree, and I respect your own point of view.

Every true photographer would love to have a part of their artwork. Because we value the photos we take, even if they may not look superb. Even if we may not be that skilled. But we love our own photographs.

However, if its for Business, yes, some PROS will be willing to do it for you at some price, and give you all the images and rights. But pro photographers wont do it for just a practice sake either.

And just asuming someone is shooting for you, with a mindset that he/she would not get to keep the images, the results of photos may not be as good as it should be also.

For me, I do take some artistic shots before, of people I know. (i.e. non-pro-models) And with an agreement, trust, and ethics, we keep the photos to ourselves, and agreed never to be posted, published unless both parties agree. And keep the photos safely with the help of some password program. No harm done, but only it was fun for both parties.

Well, its just sharing my opinions, and please take no offense.

Oh well, sorry if i sounded like trying to make you give up your original ideas. Anyway, im not qualified to shoot you also, cos im not pro... and still a very beginner at this moment.

Good luck with your shoot anyway, and approach special care with keeping your photos, especially if its in digital.... there are so many stories on the internet regarding these delicate things.

Just state a price and look for a pro photographer to do it for you.

Maybe you can go to portrait and pose or you can see those photography sig. Check their folio and see their works. Especially those who took artist nude before.

For some photographers, they would prefer to retain some/most rights in the images, and hence you have some who disagree with the lady's intentions. These photographers may see such a shoot as potentially valuable to their portfolio.

For some other photographers, they may totally relinquish their rights in the images with a hefty fee. This is possibly quite common, especially in the commercial world when they are hired by a client to create images, and the client doesn't want the photographer using the images elsewhere.

I'm not a professional who spends most of his waking time shooting nudes but have done some in Singapore and in Australia, and keep the images for my portfolio. Personally, it's easy to see that many Singaporean women are conservative about doing nude photography (even bikinis give some the creeps), and this conservatism could make it very difficult to get aesthetically excellent images. It's really my preference to meet up with the model/client (such as this lady) to ice-break and discuss issues regarding the photography whether posing nude or clothed.

I hate to say this, but there will be misbehaving men everywhere although it appears that S'porean men are quite notorious (judging by news reports). Blame it on deprivity or whatever you want to think it might be.

In Australia, women may sunbathe topless on a public beach with men around her but nobody gives a hoot. Yes, the men may look and get excited but they don't appear to behave in the same way as S'porean men. (Sorry I don't mean any deliberate offence but this is my true real-life observation.) Breasts, cleavage, or whatever you wanna call it, under a bikini or low-cut top, are a normal everyday sight in their lives for years. Some Aussie women aren't afraid to show, and there are plenty of bare bosoms in all kinds of books/magazines in the land down under.

I would agree with the ClubSnap member who mentioned Playboy magazine. Possibly unseen by, and unknown to, many S'poreans, especially the women who shun this publication, Playboy demonstrates some magnificent photography. The images are provocative but not porn-ish. In fact, Playboy is NOT a porn magazine, it's a men's magazine, like FHM or Maxim but features nudity. I also agree with that member that the first shoot may be a bummer, and images on subsequent shoots after being comfortable in the nude, tend to be better. I know this from personal experience doing shoots with models clothed or nude.

I strongly agree with 1 ClubSnap member who said that if there isn't any trust with the photographer, there's really no point doing the shoot, paid or not, rights retained or not, chaperoned or not. I would also add that if the lady is uncomfortable in the nude, don't bother posing nude. You have a psychological barrier/hindrance. No matter how good the photographer is, your nudity will eventually eat you. Don't follow others (whom you might have seen/heard of) who have posed nude just because you think it may be cool.

Those photographers who wants to fully give up their copyright, please make sure you give the model a contract that you are surrending the full copyright.

Oh by the way, fees for nude artistic shots and give up full copyright?

Photographer fees will be at a minimal $3,000 per shoot for 4-6 hours. Just to shoot without make-up artist, studio rental and so on.

Add another $1500-$2000 Per photo to retain full copyright.

The above is the market rate.....for ARTISTIC nude shots.

If model is not interested in retaining FULL copyright, then terms and conditions is negotiable.......

ndroo said:
One prospect spotted :thumbsup:

ndroo, I seriously don't get why you have been jibing me since I joined clubsnap.
I'm not interested to shoot this woman. At least if you want to say something, then be relevant lah.

U certainly look like someone who is really just out to rile me up. Whether I am annoyed or not is not the point. The point is why me?

I think the only mistake this woman made was to post here. Maybe it should be in consumer corner instead? Or perhaps it should be where others post their intention to look for wedding photographers. You all talk like you cannot understand what is good for others. You forget you got mothers, sisters or neices.

So any relevant rebuttle to that, ndroo?

benedium said:
ndroo, I seriously don't get why you have been jibing me since I joined clubsnap.
I'm not interested to shoot this woman. At least if you want to say something, then be relevant lah.

U certainly look like someone who is really just out to rile me up. Whether I am annoyed or not is not the point. The point is why me?

I think the only mistake this woman made was to post here. Maybe it should be in consumer corner instead? Or perhaps it should be where others post their intention to look for wedding photographers. You all talk like you cannot understand what is good for others. You forget you got mothers, sisters or neices.

guys why dont you keep this within PMs
broadcasting it to the thread wont help matters. i dont know of the animosity but surely things can be resolved in a calm manner.

Cheers and God bless

Those who are keen and sincere to do the shoot for her, lets just leave your email and let her decide for herself and refrain from any 'wise guy' remark and comments. Shes just a young girl.

benedium said:

Come on man, don't take it personally. Ok I shall stay away from posting in threads where you post then. Just to stress that I'm not out to rile you up lah :sticktong :bsmilie: Ok no more jokes here. Apologize if I did say something wrong. Sorry for the OT too :embrass: