photo threads appearing in equipment discussion subforums

No point flooding the thread with hundreds of snapshots from all over the world, the only justification being that a 1000D was used. That doesn't help much.[/QUOTE]

I think if you go thru the thread it consist of local pics only ( very amature pics i must say ) unless it's like on a holiday kind...you have to understand that many other threads are the same and they don't get picked and we get emotional cos we already had our 1st thread closed abruptly without any warnings and since then our 1000D gallery is mostly pics and comments only...we just want fairness and transparency!!!

is flickr for showcasing works from a particular camera or brand?

you go take a look at the comments there, do i really have to quote the negative examples and thus end up pointing fingers? later all so emo, all come and scold me lagi worse.

Hmmm....perhaps i should do some homework and go thru other gallery threads to see if they are chatting uneccessarily/irrelevantly...which i know i regularly come across even among senior members...or maybe ur past posts to see if you really dun post unecessarily!!!

BTW by quoting...you are already pinpointing!!!

Hmmm....perhaps i should do some homework and go thru other gallery threads to see if they are chatting uneccessarily/irrelevantly...which i know i regularly come across even among senior members...or maybe ur past posts to see if you really dun post unecessarily!!!

BTW by quoting...you are already pinpointing!!!

grow up. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

have a nice day.

btw, nothing very fantastic about being senior member, i don't see why you seem to think that they are special in any way.

btw, nothing very fantastic about being senior member, i don't see why you seem to think that they are special in any way.[/QUOTE]

SENIORS...I respect them in certain ways....some are really very good in their photography....some just post too much...

btw, nothing very fantastic about being senior member, i don't see why you seem to think that they are special in any way.

SENIORS...I respect them in certain ways....some are really very good in their photography....some just post too much...[/QUOTE]

HI

how is your arguments gg to help the admin/mods in making the decision? All i see is petty arguments. harping on the same issues over and over. What i see is a kid trying his argue out in which he has slight/no power in. Im sure the mod/admin will make the right decision they deem fit. so let just wait and see what the admins/mods have to say abt this issue.

And play nice.

Shaz

Actually those threads are pretty useful for new comers who are looking at buying a new camera. It does help new comers to decide what brand/model to go for. And TBH, a lot of other threads under those sub-forums contain chit chat la kopi comments too, isn't it?

I think if you go thru the thread it consist of local pics only ( very amature pics i must say ) unless it's like on a holiday kind...you have to understand that many other threads are the same and they don't get picked and we get emotional cos we already had our 1st thread closed abruptly without any warnings and since then our 1000D gallery is mostly pics and comments only...we just want fairness and transparency!!!

Is it fairness if one immediately points fingers to other threads "They do the same, why can't we?" Look at your 100D threads, see where you can improve with your fellows. As far as I know the moderators here apply the same rules for all threads. I do understand your concerns after the first closing of thread. But a more conscious filtering and posting will improve the quality of your thread. If the picture shows some nice landscape then it's irrelevant whether it was taken by C, N, O or whatever. If the picture shows a certain technical aspect of the 1000D camera then your thread is the best place and it's worth keeping it. Apply logic please. It makes it much harder for newbies to find information if they are all over the place. The structure of CS forum has its purpose.

Mmmm...are you sure that when you go into photo threads/galleries...you won't ask questions? You won't post praises/critics ? Or if you meet a friend there...you won't chat abit? The question is why pick on the 2 clubs??? Why mention names??? Is it bcos these 2 threads are very active and many members do come online to overchat abit now and then??? Or it's plain envy!!!

Wah piang eh bro, why get so worked up over a thread discussion? And why would any members get envy over others just because their threads are more popular?? Would a 50D user buy a 1000D/450D camera just because their forum threads are highly active?? I doubt so. If the 1000D/450D users are enjoying themselves in their 'own' threads, then good for them. Those who have a problem with the directions the threads are heading, just don't go visit them lah.

I'm a 450D user and I sort of agree that there's a tad too much irrelevant chatter in the 450D thread, but that don't bother me at all. Everytime I visit the thread, I just scroll to look at the pictures...next page, look at pictures...next page, look at pictures again. Skip whatever you find is not useful.

I respect the seniors here not because of their 'senior' title, but of their more adequte experience and good knowledge in photography. No point calling names lah, photography is a peaceful hobby/ profession.

alright people... knock it off the accusations. Darren has already pointed out the Admins will be looking into resolving the issue. so, can we all take a deep breath, and go take some pics?

Guys from Club 1000D, please do not get too emotional about this matter.
Its not going to make the situation any better. If people want to comment/complain about our thread(s), let them.
We've not done anything wrong so far, have we? Besides the occasional/accidental OT when commenting on photos.
If we've really broken any rules, then I think the Mods should step in and warn or explain to us what we've done wrong.
Lets not get all feisty over this matter. We just want to enjoy this hobby and companionship, don't we? And there's always a peaceful resolution to any matter.

To the Mods, we'd appreciate it if you could at least give us a warning or explanation, if we are deemed to have breached any rule/regulation of the threads.
To Club 1000D, lets keep shooting and posting.

Cheers.

Our gallery is where we share our photos. Be it simple comments like "whoa bro! nice pic!:thumbsup:) behind the computer/laptop, we try to learn something from it. Even comments like that, shows the photographer how people feel towards his photos, some might like it, some might not. And it gives a rough gauge where he stands, although some our comments are not in details, because most of us have not much experience!

I believe the members in our thread are people who want to have fun, enjoy, learn, make friends.. If we want to be pro photographers, work as a photographer, we won't be here in the 1000D thread. For me I'll be paying money to learn.

We do not only have 1000D users, I am a 450D user myself. Not biased against the 450D club, its because my first outing, my first photo shoot, is from the 1000D club. After meeting them, realized that they are very easy to get along with, and started hanging around. We also have NIKON users as well!! Why?

And also we have MORE newcomers, we are also doing our part to help people who are new in photography to get comfortable. If i were to see threads that critiques a photo so seriously, comparing to our friendly threads. Its obvious to me that i would choose the latter. Yes some of you might say, what's the point of giving such short and useless comments? If i want serious comments.. I would post in the critique corner myself.

Please do drop by our Kopitiam section, its where we host our outings and announce what is going on and what events is coming on etc etc etc.. Its really a place to start learning.

Note to some of the bros out there. I am just explaining my point of view, not to counter some negative comments i see here.

firstly, i've been a canon user for the past 5 years, and rarely visit the subforums of other brands so i do not know if they've got similar threads.

secondly, i've better things to do than to "envy" the "clubs" online. i'd rather be out there shooting and experimenting on what my camera is capable of instead of staring at my computer.

thirdly, from some random viewing on the pages, 75% of the images that i see are photoshopped (colour wise) and i don't think this helps in showing what the camera is naturally capable of producing. i'm very sure with a few
tweaks here and there in photoshop, a 1000D image can look just as good as one from a XX-series or even a 5-series.

fourthly, a little suggestion to those TS of such threads. consolidate all queries posted by members onto the first post of the thread so it makes viewing/searching easier. from the years of surfing CS, i've been seeing similar questions being posted every week or so just because new users either do not know how to use the search function, or are unable to find what they want due to discussion threads being too cluttered with OT.

lastly, my question posted in regards to whether there's a better place to post such threads, and not to question the existance of such "clubs". e.g. threads like "monthly theme" looks like photo sharing threads and should belong to the photo galleries subforum.

This thread puts a sour image into my mind..

Thanks clubsnap for ruining the fun.

Anyway.. since it's a club thing.. like 1000D or 450D, I feel it shouldn't be wrong to post edited or not edited images into a thread. I'd love to see works done from people not the camera afterall it's advocated that the user is the one who makes the camera not the other way around. Furthermore, from the club.. I'll get to see a wider range of styles and personalities where I'll get inspiration. Whats the use of browsing one million threads when you can see quite a bit from a club thread?

Relax, life is too stressful as it is.. would a couple of club threads really twist your underwear so uncomfortably?

As a sidenote.. if there was a canon 1000D club share thread where we can do everything such as in the threads we have created.. I'd be there. The problem is there is no club specific sub forum to posts our stuff. So it only seems logical that we have a club threads in the equipment sections.

firstly, i've been a canon user for the past 5 years, and rarely visit the subforums of other brands so i do not know if they've got similar threads.

secondly, i've better things to do than to "envy" the "clubs" online. i'd rather be out there shooting and experimenting on what my camera is capable of instead of staring at my computer.

thirdly, from some random viewing on the pages, 75% of the images that i see are photoshopped (colour wise) and i don't think this helps in showing what the camera is naturally capable of producing. i'm very sure with a few
tweaks here and there in photoshop, a 1000D image can look just as good as one from a XX-series or even a 5-series.

fourthly, a little suggestion to those TS of such threads. consolidate all queries posted by members onto the first post of the thread so it makes viewing/searching easier. from the years of surfing CS, i've been seeing similar questions being posted every week or so just because new users either do not know how to use the search function, or are unable to find what they want due to discussion threads being too cluttered with OT.

lastly, my question posted in regards to whether there's a better place to post such threads, and not to question the existance of such "clubs". e.g. threads like "monthly theme" looks like photo sharing threads and should belong to the photo galleries subforum.

Firstly, I think you misunderstood what i meant. I guess i didn't make it clear to you guys. What i meant was we have a handful of nikon users in our club.

Secondly, You've better things to do than to "envy" the "clubs" online. You'd rather be out there shooting and experimenting on what Your camera is capable of instead of staring at your computer. Others are different.

Thirdly, Photoshop exists, shows that we don't really have to get a very good camera to have a good photo. Also helps people who know nuts about photoshop a place to learn. Perhaps we can work on where we should post our photoshopped images.

Fourthly, I think we can work on that too.

Lastly, I can't find a general photogallery where we can post our club photos in for sharing among our members and even other people.

And I find that rather hard to believe as you have raised a complaint about "photo threads appearing in equipment discussion subforums"...

:dunno:

"noticed quite a few photo sharing threads in the equipment sharing subforum, especially the canon one"...from this quote you're deemed to have visited other similar threads b4 picking on esp Canon/1000D/450D so dun say you rarely visit subforums of other brands

I think you do spend an enormous amount of time in CS based on your postings/thread records and your eagerness to complain

Dun agree cos most pics posted in 1000D threads are noob shots posted by newbies who dare not post in the normal galleries and even if PPed, only very amatuerish tries..nothing compared to all the PP "lau jiaos" in CS...so i think you didn't actually had a good look at the pics posted in 1000D threads

i think even newbies won't have much problems Q&A in our threads cos most of us are very accepting and helpful especially to newbies since we were newbies once too

If your complain is targeted across the board..i'm fine with it.. then it's a question on CS's structuring but you specifically mentioned club names and so therefore b4 you post your complain, pls check on other subforums b4 pointing your fingers at us!!!

getting all defensive and worked up? only goes to show what type of people you are.

if i simply post a question without examples, one group of people will ask for examples. if i post examples, another group of people will become agitated.

if you're not aware, this is the FAQ and Feedbacks forum. i'm posting a general question to the admins on the placement of such threads. and maybe there might be a possibility of a new subforum set up for such threads. if you cannot differentiate a question from a complaint, kindly keep your comments to yourself.

as point has been noted by the admins, i rest my case.

getting all defensive and worked up? only goes to show what type of people you are.

if i simply post a question without examples, one group of people will ask for examples. if i post examples, another group of people will become agitated.

if you're not aware, this is the FAQ and Feedbacks forum. i'm posting a general question to the admins on the placement of such threads. and maybe there might be a possibility of a new subforum set up for such threads. if you cannot differentiate a question from a complaint, kindly keep your comments to yourself.

as point has been noted by the admins, i rest my case.

So you think being a senior with a merc avatar makes you a different type of person:thumbsd:...like i mentioned keep ur postings/complains neutral...dun quote names...that's our issue!!!

quoting helps the admins in speeding up their work as it helps to pinpoint the source of the feedback.

and as i've pointed out earlier on, the issue is not about being a senior member so i would kindly advise you to keep your childish comments to yourself.

thread has served its purpose and will be closed while the admins come to a decision.

I am going to make 2 posts in this thread. This is the first one addressing the issue brought up by +evenstar.

The reason we have subforums, like any other online forums, is to keep the discussions organised, so members can get to the topics of interest easier. Since it would be pointless to have subforums without any general guidelines for location of discussion threads, we put a brief description of what each subforum is for in the forum description. So far we have not establish rigid rules on the exact types of discussions that are allowed in each sunforum. In other words, we are flexible as long as the usage is reasonable.

With respect to photo sharing in the equipment forums, there has been a few discussions and adaptations of the accepted practice in the past. We initially wanted to restrict photo sharing to the gallery subforums, then later agreed to allow brand/model specific photo sharing threads to exist in the equipment forums. Bottom line is, what works better? If a member is interested in buying a particular camera and would like to see sample photos taken by that camera, it is easier if there is a specific thread for other members to share pictures taken by that camera in a single thread...or sometimes 2.

If a thread is used for equipment specific photo sharing int he equipment forum, we would expect the discussions to center around the particular piece of equipment as much as possible. That means, members should restrain from kopitiam styled chatter and OT posts (such as discussing HDR processing or suggesting locations for shooting). Otherwise we would prefer to have the threads located in the galleries or general discussions.

I hope that clears up the stand of the admins/mods on this topic.