Photo Sharing: Manta Rays

WhyZzzzzz

Ahhhhhh dun say i never take photo of manta for you all to see... it's not the quantity ... it's the quality!!!! kekekkekek

CRW_4541_RJ_edited.sized.jpg

and the second pic, actually it was an over exposed picture... but i try and salvage it lah, convert to black and white... who knows...i kinda like it!

CRW_4542_RJ_edited.sized.jpg

More pictures at

http://sg.homeunix.com/gallery-paul/dayang20041016/

Cheers!!!!!

Hi paul,

what shutter speed are you shooting at? i notice a wee bit of motion blur...

the first pic gave me a sense of a panning shot. ... idea eh?

any tips on photographing mantas?

waisj said:
Hi paul,

what shutter speed are you shooting at? i notice a wee bit of motion blur...

the first pic gave me a sense of a panning shot. ... idea eh?

any tips on photographing mantas?

oh, but since the manta's have been avoiding u, there's no point in telling u how...... wahhahahahaah...kidding... painful right?

basically, when i saw the manta, my knowledge of photography went blank, it's like you want to get the shot, but the fr3@king manta swims so fast, you gotta shoot quick, but your camera reacts like a slug.... ..

well, if i could have dived there again, with manta's around, i wouldn't be so kan chiong, because according to Song, if you don't move , the manta will come and play with u.

then you just apply all the rules of photography to it, ambient shots - metering the water - sunburst shots, metering - sunburst and shots with strobes - depends on what kinda background you want lah.

my manta shot has abit of motion blur because of my slow shutter speed, if i had a better housing, i could have changed shutter speed and open the aperature with ease. then i would have a sharper shot.

anyway, Song has more experience with manta's, might be good to ask him too.

eh you guys have to thank me leh.. i go newton send you off give you my blessing then you manage to see the mantas ok hahahahahaha :P

love that black and white shot!

WhyZzzzzz said:
well, if i could have dived there again, with manta's around, i wouldn't be so kan chiong, because according to Song, if you don't move , the manta will come and play with u.

the instructor on my trip told me i shouldnt have avoided the manta when it came straight at me, quite a couple of times, and let it swim up a bit and glide over me... say it would have been beautiful... but i couldnt help but give way to this majestic animal.. hahah... (in case...)

but hor, i was thinking, wouldnt videography be nice for such sightings? just my thots...

hey guys...

not sure what that big fish that is taggin along the manta called? anyone?

darn paul... u lucky son of a bi$%h... haha... :)

regards
jeff

jeffrey said:
hey guys...

not sure what that big fish that is taggin along the manta called? anyone?

darn paul... u lucky son of a bi$%h... haha... :)

regards
jeff

That fish is called a cobia.

WhyZzzzzz said:
oh, but since the manta's have been avoiding u, there's no point in telling u how...... wahhahahahaah...kidding... painful right?
OUCH! hahaha... waisj, you've got 2 weeks left to change that... ;)

WhyZzzzzz, thanks for sharing your lovely photos of the truly spectacular animal. Can never have enough of them. :thumbsup:

Beivied, buy video cam & housing lah. ;p

kng said:

WhyZzzzzz, thanks for sharing your lovely photos of the truly spectacular animal. Can never have enough of them. :thumbsup:

Thanks, will continue to try and take good photos.

anyway, i also have video's of the Mantas, but too huge to put on my website. maybe we can organise some get together soon then we can view them. Cheers!

kng said:

:D yeah baby yeah.... :D Hundreds of devilish rays loop feeding, in formation and big mama's that keep circling us...... yeha baby yeah

Beivied, yeah time to get a video and housing. complement each other mah.

WhyZzzzz.... how about 30th? or maybe compress the video to a smaller file..... at least let us have a glimpse of it

waisj said:
:D yeah baby yeah.... :D Hundreds of devilish rays loop feeding, in formation and big mama's that keep circling us...... yeha baby yeah

Beivied, yeah time to get a video and housing. complement each other mah.

WhyZzzzz.... how about 30th? or maybe compress the video to a smaller file..... at least let us have a glimpse of it

I'll get my friend to do some post processing on the videos first then let u guys see....

WhyZzzzzz said:
I'll get my friend to do some post processing on the videos first then let u guys see....

wah liew, u really many friends leh.... so we expecting to see it in Discovery Channels soon? :p

Goondoo said:
wah liew, u really many friends leh.... so we expecting to see it in Discovery Channels soon? :p

i friendly mah ... what to do? i think my footage is far from Discovery Channel std lah....

if i get real videocam down there then maybe....

WhyZzzzzz said:
i friendly mah ... what to do? i think my footage is far from Discovery Channel std lah....

if i get real videocam down there then maybe....

btw, u didnt use double manual focus on those mantas hor? remember the pygmy seahorse? hahahaaaa

Goondoo said:
btw, u didnt use double manual focus on those mantas hor? remember the pygmy seahorse? hahahaaaa

Song wanted to, he wanted to take a macro of the Manta's eyes.