PC Show Canon 40D price

Thanks for your encouraging words! :) My wife and kids my everything but let's not go OT. :P haha. Hope you have a wonderful experience with the 40D buying! Any experience, good or bad, is valuable, so that's what I always tell myself. Anyway, I have nothing against the sales people there. There was one Canon sales assistant at the lvl 4 Canon booth, he's one of our brothers here and hey, I say he's very knowledgeable. ;) Anyway, it's really funny about the 7fps demo the Sony staff was doing. Haha.

I attended a photo fair in Bangkok before, and there was a roadshow girl, I still have her photo somewhere in my flickr. ;) She was demonstrating a camera to me at that time, I tell you, I was blown away. She knew the camera INSIDE OUT. And when I started to use some terms which photogs use regularly, she was right at home and started to talk lingo with me already. Impressive for someone pretending to be just a 'roadshow' pretty. :P

haha.... cool.... oh there one of our guys there? who? i was there on the first day... anyway! all the best! hope i get to buy my cam at e end of the year! haha

Sure? I got insider info that there was a 5% discount or $100 during the last 1 hour of the show leh. They refused to give discount? but so? Did you buy the kit? But one thing I have to say, the free photo frame is really really nice and pretty. And high resolution one. THUMBS UP for a gift that's actually decent!

No le brother, I asked 2 different salesperson. Both of them told me the same thing that the price is fixed. Haha, think I just gotta get it from MS Color liaos.
Haha, so you got the Kit 1 from them @ $1760 right? must in cash only or can pay by card?
:think:

Mainly I dun like to sell stuff with personal details tag to it. Warranty contains all your name and address.
Yah, that's true too. :) But I am sure you can 'transfer' the ownership right? At least for cars can la. :P

No le brother, I asked 2 different salesperson. Both of them told me the same thing that the price is fixed. Haha, think I just gotta get it from MS Color liaos.
Haha, so you got the Kit 1 from them @ $1760 right? must in cash only or can pay by card?
:think:

Well, I won't name forummers here in case they don't want to be named. :) But I got the message from him. Last hour, 5% or $100 discount. Anyway, get from MS color. It's one of the lowest priced already. $1,760 is cash price.

sian.. shd i call canon to ask abt the ext warranty n lens.. sounds gian png leh.. haha

bro, if I were you, I would call. I mean... after all, you were side stepped by the sales staff at level 4 who just wanted you to buy something from them.

Ok, so I buay song and decided to call Canon to fight for you guys here... The deal is this...

THE OFFER IS STILL VALID on the following condition:
1. You go down to Harbourfront Keppel Tower Canon office.
2. You produce your receipt which states that you bought a local set Canon from an authorised dealer
3. The purchase MUST be within the PC SHOW dates of 12-15 June 2008.
4. You may then purchase the extended warranty on the spot and get the free 50mm F1.8 Mk II on the spot.

I hope this doesn't open a flood gate and guys, please take advantage of this special case offer of Canon honouring their word. I think they're doing an extremely good job at managing the situation here. Don't step over the board and demand for more exceptions like you bought it 1 month ago and want to extend and such. I hope the conditions are clear enough.

I talked to Lee Anne. Very nice and kind enough to get back to me. So please don't fault her for anything if you still can't get your lens.

Ok, so I buay song and decided to call Canon to fight for you guys here... The deal is this...

THE OFFER IS STILL VALID on the following condition:
1. You go down to Harbourfront Keppel Tower Canon office.
2. You produce your receipt which states that you bought a local set Canon from an authorised dealer
3. The purchase MUST be within the PC SHOW dates of 12-15 June 2008.
4. You may then purchase the extended warranty on the spot and get the free 50mm F1.8 Mk II on the spot.

I hope this doesn't open a flood gate and guys, please take advantage of this special case offer of Canon honouring their word. I think they're doing an extremely good job at managing the situation here. Don't step over the board and demand for more exceptions like you bought it 1 month ago and want to extend and such. I hope the conditions are clear enough.

I talked to Lee Anne. Very nice and kind enough to get back to me. So please don't fault her for anything if you still can't get your lens.
wah.. thanks man! appriciate your effort. think i going down tomorrow to get it. cheers

Yes, I've always find Canon Singapore to be very reasonable and willing to go the extra mile to ensure that their customers are taken care of at all possible.

There was a thread in CS about people buying 40D just days before the price drop and when they go to Canon, they were offered some sort of freebie (IIRC, a Canon printer). Under normal circumstance, they don't have to do it but it is a very good gesture out of good will that they are willing to entertain such requests.

Ok guys, I think there are a lot of confusion over the canon free lens giveaway promotion. I hate to do this on forums, but I think there are possibly some irresponsible posting online. You might not have intended it, but if the facts are not verified, you could be causing a lot of inconveniences to readers who rely on Clubsnap to provide them with a reliable source of information. I have highlighted the below three posts which I think are, sorry, completely untrue and possibly, unverified by the posters before they posted.

Now, if you are truly SURE that it's the case and you can provide the evidence to prove your posts, please also post here, I will take the case up with Canon since I was made to run around the island to get my stuff done (story later). So, don't be afraid to admit that you're posting baselessly and without proof, but if you have proof, let me know, I will confront Canon.

WRONG : I bought my set from MS Color, I got the free lens after registering for extended warranty AT the PC SHOW level 1 Canon counter.

WRONG : Canon Singapore (2 staff names withheld) at Harbourfront insisted that they dun have it there and they are unaware of the promo available OUTSIDE the PC SHOW and worse, they don't even HAVE the lens at the office there.

WRONG : Canon Singapore (ANOTHER 3 staff [technically 2 cos 1 was just listening] names withheld) stated that EVEN if you do the extended warranty ONLINE, you are NOT entitled to a free lens pick up. After I probed and probed, they have NOT done a single LENS issue at the center at all. And there is no such promotion.

So, dfcn_, hocheekeong, Kretia, where did you get your information from? Verified before you posted???

I called the Canon helpline at 1800 799 8686. The helpdesk said can do it online, and I specifically ask about the free lens, since that was the whole point of it.

Sorry if the info was not accurate, but it was direct from Canon Helpdesk.

I called the Canon helpline at 1800 799 8686. The helpdesk said can do it online, and I specifically ask about the free lens, since that was the whole point of it.

Sorry if the info was not accurate, but it was direct from Canon Helpdesk.
Thanks Kretia for the update. It's important that we know. I was gonna flak them already but since they have countered me by extending the offer and also allow my 'friend' dfcn_ here to redeem, I am most likely gonna let it go. I physically went down to Canon HB and Vivo and both places told me cannot get free lens from online registration. No one right and wrong in this case, just that I feel their comms a bit jammed somewhere.

wah.. thanks man! appriciate your effort. think i going down tomorrow to get it. cheers
Most welcomed. Please please, if you can spare a bit of time, call the nice lady to confirm you going down and that they have stock. I scared later you go down and can't get, disappointed again. If need reference, say your 'friend' kar wee (me) called and verified already and that you are the friend who has to extend and get the lens. She will have my number so anything just contact me again.

Yes, I've always find Canon Singapore to be very reasonable and willing to go the extra mile to ensure that their customers are taken care of at all possible.

There was a thread in CS about people buying 40D just days before the price drop and when they go to Canon, they were offered some sort of freebie (IIRC, a Canon printer). Under normal circumstance, they don't have to do it but it is a very good gesture out of good will that they are willing to entertain such requests.
Kudos to them and thought I still feel their comms a bit screwed up for this show and promo, they have done well to rectify the issues.

Ok guys, I think there are a lot of confusion over the canon free lens giveaway promotion. I hate to do this on forums, but I think there are possibly some irresponsible posting online. You might not have intended it, but if the facts are not verified, you could be causing a lot of inconveniences to readers who rely on Clubsnap to provide them with a reliable source of information. I have highlighted the below three posts which I think are, sorry, completely untrue and possibly, unverified by the posters before they posted.

Now, if you are truly SURE that it's the case and you can provide the evidence to prove your posts, please also post here, I will take the case up with Canon since I was made to run around the island to get my stuff done (story later). So, don't be afraid to admit that you're posting baselessly and without proof, but if you have proof, let me know, I will confront Canon.

WRONG : I bought my set from MS Color, I got the free lens after registering for extended warranty AT the PC SHOW level 1 Canon counter.

WRONG : Canon Singapore (2 staff names withheld) at Harbourfront insisted that they dun have it there and they are unaware of the promo available OUTSIDE the PC SHOW and worse, they don't even HAVE the lens at the office there.

WRONG : Canon Singapore (ANOTHER 3 staff [technically 2 cos 1 was just listening] names withheld) stated that EVEN if you do the extended warranty ONLINE, you are NOT entitled to a free lens pick up. After I probed and probed, they have NOT done a single LENS issue at the center at all. And there is no such promotion.

So, dfcn_, hocheekeong, Kretia, where did you get your information from? Verified before you posted???

haha, the PC-fair extended warranty with free lense issue done. So happy to get my 50mm free lense also.....

i got the following free gifts in PC show last Saturday, 40D kit 1 ($1999) + extended warranty to 3.5 years ($250) + EF50 lens

1. 4GB ultra III (get extra somehow, probably salesman thought I would buy 2 units for me and my brother, actually only one).
2. 4GB ultra II
3. 2GB ultra II
4. Canon bag
5. 20 dvd+r
6. philips 8" lcd picture frame
7. 120GB maxtor 2.5 external harddisk (was looking to buy one initially, well, 120GB not bad)
8. tripod
9. lcd protector (probably worth $8, but end up bought another one, as first application was failed)
10. radio and water jug (from ocbc card)
11. lens book and some catalogs

Most, if not all, free gifts are useful to me. quite happy, even with extra $200-$300 as compared to street price.

just extend the warranty at Canon habourfront, pay RM250..... then they will give u a free 50mm lense, but must buy within pc-fair period..
So Canon Harbourfront accepts RM also? RM250 is good since this is basically another 50% discount compare to S$250? :bsmilie:

RM --> SGD... haha, forge thet currency....

i got the following free gifts in PC show last Saturday, 40D kit 1 ($1999) + extended warranty to 3.5 years ($250) + EF50 lens

1. 4GB ultra III (get extra somehow, probably salesman thought I would buy 2 units for me and my brother, actually only one).
2. 4GB ultra II
3. 2GB ultra II
4. Canon bag
5. 20 dvd+r
6. philips 8" lcd picture frame
7. 120GB maxtor 2.5 external harddisk (was looking to buy one initially, well, 120GB not bad)
8. tripod
9. lcd protector (probably worth $8, but end up bought another one, as first application was failed)
10. radio and water jug (from ocbc card)
11. lens book and some catalogs

Most, if not all, free gifts are useful to me. quite happy, even with extra $200-$300 as compared to street price.

bought 40D body only for 1580, free as below:
1. 2GB ultra II
2. philips 8" lcd picture frame
3. lens book
4. lcd protector (probably worth $8)
5. buy third party battery (2000mA) with sgd 20

items 1,2,3 is free from canon....

save 200sgd instead of getting the 120gb hdd,20 dvdr,tripod......