Outright fines for commuters caught eating and drinking in MRT trains, stations

so if you have a sore throat / cough and u need to drink some plain water, u alight and leave the mrt station to have a sip of water then come back in and take the mrt? i dont find this really logical...

i mean not everyone needs water whenever they have sore throat/cough, but im sure there are some special cases?

Unfortunately, the moment you introduce exceptions, they get exploited.

like how?
mix honey inside plain water? im sure officers can differentiate between plain water and honey water by the colour? same for sprite/7up with plain water?

i suddenly thought of another scenario:
what if u are travelling from boonlay to tampines, and u got ur hiccups at boonlay? so are u going to hic ur way all the way till tampines then u can drink your water? doesnt make sense at all!

i suddenly thought of another scenario:
what if u are travelling from boonlay to tampines, and u got ur hiccups at boonlay? so are u going to hic ur way all the way till tampines then u can drink your water? doesnt make sense at all!

There are other ways of curing hiccups apart from drinking water. Dun ask, google is your friend...

i know the other ways, but sometimes drinking water could be the best cure :)

i hope you understand that im not trying to go against you but rather, i am just questioning the stringent enforcement.

I have witnessed a train commuter placing an empty mineral water bottle between the platform screen door / train door, causing delay to other commuters as the door was stuck.

If we are considerate & gracious, such fines & rules wouldn't have to be enforced like the courtesy campaigns or the other multitudes of them so famous of Singapore.

If you are drinking or eating in the train, you spilled & dropped your bits of biscuit. You then clean up your mess & leave no traces before you alight, leaving your seat good for the next commuter & nothing for pests. I'm fine with that but how many people do that?

Look @ those countries with velvet seats in their trains & places where everyone do their part to keep the environment clean.

I once saw a teenager eating those coned ice-cream & walked into a gallery lined with carpet. The ball of ice cream fell onto the carpet & the next thing she does is ran off!

We only have ourselves to blame.

Drinking plain water from water bottle is not allow. I was caught by the MRT staff before. Thank god it was years ago and they didnt issue me a fine. I was verbally warned.

i think the MRT enforcement guys gotta exercise sound judgement and some common sense. But to those who eat their breakfast/lunch/dinner on the trains and station, FINE them!!

i know the other ways, but sometimes drinking water could be the best cure :)

i hope you understand that im not trying to go against you but rather, i am just questioning the stringent enforcement.

I am not against you either.

But rather, take a step back and ask yourself, why is it that SMRT is only enforcing this now after so many years? It's probably because SMRT knew about these exceptions all along.

But with the rise of irresponsible people abusing this leniency and the rise of this so-called citizen journalism, SMRT probably was left with no choice...

so if you have a sore throat / cough and u need to drink some plain water, u alight and leave the mrt station to have a sip of water then come back in and take the mrt? i dont find this really logical...

i mean not everyone needs water whenever they have sore throat/cough, but im sure there are some special cases?

Which part not logical? Go out from the station and drink la. That is the logic.

If you spill water will you clean up aftewards or will you run away?
What if someone fall down and break hips, bed riden, and die 3 months later? :dunno:

Cannot tahan just a little longer is it? Die if not drink water immediately?:sweat:

I think it's too extreme if commuters can't drink plain water. What if someone is sick and needs to pop a pill or two? What if I have a sore / inflamed throat? What if I feel faint? Can't drink plain water?

Lame excuses.

1. You don't need to take your pills on the dot. It can wait till you reach your destination.
2. SMRT also says, if you're feeling unwell, please inform the staff or consult your doctor (it's pasted on the bus interchanges and the buses themselves)

Lame excuses.

1. You don't need to take your pills on the dot. It can wait till you reach your destination.
2. SMRT also says, if you're feeling unwell, please inform the staff or consult your doctor (it's pasted on the bus interchanges and the buses themselves)

1) And if I have a stomach ache or gastric attack while on the train, I can't have medicine on the spot? Have to leave the train, go to the station counter, ask the staff for permission, drink water in front of them, head down to the train area and waste more time waiting for another train, thereby arriving a little later for work/school/something else?

What if I feel faint between Khatib and YCK mrt, which is quite a distance between (during the time when I lived near khatib)? Wait till I reach YCK MRT station, go up to the station counter and then drink/take meds? Please, I would've blacked out by then. So what if someone blacks out and faints on the mrt floor but gets back up a couple of seconds later? Also can't drink?

Its absurb to ban the drinking of plain water whether or not it spill on the floor etc etc....
Perhaps they should do a full check a la airport style to ensure you're not carrying, bombs and in this case waterbottles as well. Any food or waterbottles found must be bagged and sealed, and shown to the staff at the alighting station.

For those who say its alright to ban water, you should be able to tahan till you reach your destination, you don't need to take your medication on the dot, I'm sure you'll be agreeing with every word and sentiment that you've said here today when the time comes when you really need that water, or you really need to take your meds.

Inform staff or consult doctor? Perhaps I don't have the fortune to own a car, perhaps I have to get to the docs by public transport, perhaps I can't afford a cab. What do you propose then, you willing to sponsor a house call for me? You chaps are off your bloody rocks

1) And if I have a stomach ache or gastric attack while on the train, I can't have medicine on the spot? Have to leave the train, go to the station counter, ask the staff for permission, drink water in front of them, head down to the train area and waste more time waiting for another train, thereby arriving a little later for work/school/something else?

Gastric pills are usually not taken with water... Now whether that is still considered eating can be subject to debate.

We are talking about the consumption of plain water, our basic need, in the situation where drinking water is necessary. It's not a "isn't NORMALLY taken with pills" yadayada, it's a "I need it now to continue, but I will be fined if I do so" situation.

All staff members carrying backpacks on the train, walking through the cabins, have water bottles with them. I have seen many walk to the front/back of the train, do some adjustments / button presses and then take a sip of water.

Its absurb to ban the drinking of plain water whether or not it spill on the floor etc etc....
Perhaps they should do a full check a la airport style to ensure you're not carrying, bombs and in this case waterbottles as well. Any food or waterbottles found must be bagged and sealed, and shown to the staff at the alighting station.

For those who say its alright to ban water, you should be able to tahan till you reach your destination, you don't need to take your medication on the dot, I'm sure you'll be agreeing with every word and sentiment that you've said here today when the time comes when you really need that water, or you really need to take your meds.

Inform staff or consult doctor? Perhaps I don't have the fortune to own a car, perhaps I have to get to the docs by public transport, perhaps I can't afford a cab. What do you propose then, you willing to sponsor a house call for me? You chaps are off your bloody rocks

If that really happens to me, I blame SMRT lor! :bsmilie:

... anyway let me reiterate what I mentioned earlier...

I'm sure SMRT knows of all these special cases, that's why they've been lenient for so long...

If it really cannot be helped, then just explain your situation... but dun anyhow drink your water suka-suka... :dunno:

Which part not logical? Go out from the station and drink la. That is the logic.

If you spill water will you clean up aftewards or will you run away?
What if someone fall down and break hips, bed riden, and die 3 months later? :dunno:

Cannot tahan just a little longer is it? Die if not drink water immediately?:sweat:

Tahan? What if my destination is Boon Lay and I have a terrible sore throat at Bedok? Tahan?

If you spill water, be responsible to clean it up. If you are not responsible, then it's your problem. Let's not get myopic to the fact that some people do need the relief of water on a long journey.

Lame excuses.

Lame? Again I ask you, what if my destination is Boon Lay and I have to take my prescription when I am at Tanah Merah, having gotten on the train at Simei? I may be unwell but I have business to attend to too right? What if it is not simple medication but it is a prescription to someone who is on a serious illness? Think of senior citizens who need to take their medication.

I think this discussion is getting as myopic as SMRT's enforcement of the no-eating-or-drinking rule.

Sure, the Law is set there, but there is also room for goodwill and understanding. And I am sure that there are a handful of SMRT staff who do have this understanding, but I fear that the majority of them are just enforcing the letter of the law blindly.

RAPID TRANSIT SYSTEMS ACT (CHAPTER 263A, SECTION 42)
RAPID TRANSIT SYSTEMS REGULATIONS

Fit state to travel
(2) No person who is in an unfit or improper condition to travel by passenger train, or whose dress or clothing is in a condition liable to soil or damage the railway premises or the dress or clothing of any passenger or to injure any passenger, shall enter or remain on the railway premises.​