damm... this image of the stickman keeps coming back into my mind... cannot concentrate and work properly now... jialat liao....
V600 is about $400+++, but its meant for documents plus transparencies.
V700 is about $800+++, with Dual head dedicated for photographic film
V750 Pro Dual lens $1000...
Thanks for some education from Ah Kang.
You would not deny Ah Kang's images are the best now, good for making prints on the wall too.
He is affectionately known as Master B
hi Nikkornos
why you want to get v700 scanner? i have no scanner now, and i did thought to get one.. but i am worried as i hear lots of negative feedbacks on using scanners..
what is your view, boss?
Cathay selling it at $900+
the learning curve of using scanner is quite steep... not easy at all.
it took me about 6months to 1 year to learn how to make full use of this monster.
There is only 1 shutter speed ( you cannot control the CCD sensor moving scan rate )
There is only 1 aperture ( you cannot control the lamp intensity )
Therefore, if your picture captured on the film is OUT, it is OUT....
Billy
It's really what you intend to do with it la. If you want to archive all your negatives and slides at the best quality then get it. If you're providing a service like kgston then get it. If you don't think you require that quality for the majority of your photos then just pay for the service as you need it. And if you have the money anyways then I have nothing to say lor. hahhaha
Personally I have no interest in delving into the secrets of scanning. My 4990 is enough for my casual usage from 4x5 to 35mm. If one day I really get a negative or slide I want to keep forever and ever in digital format, I will pay for it because it means so much.
For some, the joy of shooting film is to spend less time on the computer editing. But that being said, it is good to have a decent scanner to digitize your images so you could get them printed. You only have a photograph when you've got a print. Those low res scans produce some decent 4x6" prints but I have been yearning a larger print which would need a better scan. Sending to a lab to get scanned is expensive in the long run too
wa , from what you said, it seems epson 700 is so good.. haha.. just googled your 4990, it is out of production liao lah.. it is being replaced by V700.. so they are almost the same thing
how can you call it almost the same?! the v700 owners will whack you! hahah
4990 got no dual lense system hor..
of course it's never as good as drum scanner, but home use / small commercial business don't go buy drum scanner la.
according to boss, only 750 got dual lens.. Cathay never bring in 750 leh.. so i think boss must buy from ebay..
ya i think v700 is alot better than your 4990 lah, v700 users pls dun beat me!!!
drum scanner? i guess i will go crazy..
i think for ppl who shoots lots of film, scanner is good.. wet print is too slow to generate so many outputs ... anyway who knows.. haha.. i am too new to all these.. u guys know better.. my only wet darkroom is at patrick's house..
wonder how those photo shops in the past make print using enlargers... i think there must be some other machine for those 35mm prints those days..