Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread (Season II)

it's good to know that there are other fans of the 35mm, as there are not many pics taken with this lens posted in the image sharing thread.

no doubt the 50mm (or variations thereof) is very popular, and very rightly so, the 35mm is still my personal choice for everyday shooting, as it allows me more flexibility and does nor require me to step back too much to get my composition.

hope to see more pictures taken with the 35mm!

i think because 50mm are easily available in faster apertures at a better pricing, so it's more popular. harder to find a very fast 35mm lens.. and yes i do agree with you that 35mm is much more flexible for street photography but then it depends on the preference of the photographer. I fell in love with 35mm when i was using the fujifilm x100 as my main camera before i have the a7.. currently using the sigma 35mm for my a7. heavy setup though..

U rarely need to use fast aperture on a 35mm lens when shooting street... There are many good 35mm adapted lenses for zone focus street shooting with very good results. N some are pretty affordable like voigtlanders or canon/nikkor LTMs

i never and dunno how to use zone focus.. my street shooting normally i try to compose, not shoot from hip or stomache.. fast aperture is needed when it is low light or unfavorable lighting conditions without using flash and tripod, not because any focal length lesser 35mm onwards no need fast apertures.

Damn sad need to send my A7r to service again. Can see some dots on my pic taken by a7r with lens aperture >11 =(
Can see the dots thru EVF lol

Damn sad need to send my A7r to service again. Can see some dots on my pic taken by a7r with lens aperture >11 =( Can see the dots thru EVF lol

Where have u been bringing yr cam to snipe? Haha

Seldome use f11 above to shoot lor.. my cam just after sensor cleaning leh then use tripod shoot n found that =(
Sensor not dirty also

Seldome use f11 above to shoot lor.. my cam just after sensor cleaning leh then use tripod shoot n found that =(
Sensor not dirty also

So its the lens ya? I m confused, if its not the sensor then y send A7R to cleaning again?

Dirt or dust on lens usually won't result in dots in evf or images, just overall softness. It should be the sensor. It may have been made dirty again after being cleaned.

I had try use my 2 minolta 50 lens can get the same result.
Somehow I doubt they know what is the problem as they didnt ask me to provide them sample...

I had try use my 2 minolta 50 lens can get the same result. Somehow I doubt they know what is the problem as they didnt ask me to provide them sample...

Confirm bro sensor dust if you shoot at small aperture and the spot appears on the same spot in photos it's sensor. Can bring it back to sony for cleaning you can't show them the photos. Last time my A77 got dust I show them sample pix then when I get back the cam it's cleaned already plus they updated the firmware for me also hehe

i found the spot after i get back my A7r from 1st cleaning lol, just went down 313 somerset again this evening:cry:

Did Sony moved their CS at 313? Last time I always go to wisma. Long time never visited sony CS

how well does the voigtlander 40mm f1.4 resolves on the A7 huh? anyone knows?

Saw someone posted in d image sharing thread. Forgotten who is tat. Why dun u do a search??

Hi all, I read reviews that the af is slow. Just before I plunge myself to an A7, is the AF adequate enough for active toddlers?

Saw someone posted in d image sharing thread. Forgotten who is tat. Why dun u do a search??

yeah, i went through 30 pages but only saw 2 photos from the lens. very limited information.