Official Canon EOS 7D User Thread Part I

for me, i shoot a lot of pics at 17mm and 55mm of my 17-55 f2.8.. for longer end, i have my 85/f1.8 so not a big prob but sometimes i wish that it can go wider, think i have to purchase the 10-22 soon to quench my UWA thirst.. :(

hihi...i jus bought a canon 7D =) a beginner thou...;p can we organize a outing or coffee session so that i can learn from all the lao jiao?

how about this sunday noon?somewhere in town?

1.uenuei

for me, i shoot a lot of pics at 17mm and 55mm of my 17-55 f2.8.. for longer end, i have my 85/f1.8 so not a big prob but sometimes i wish that it can go wider, think i have to purchase the 10-22 soon to quench my UWA thirst.. :(

Yes, I tend to shoot a lot at the wide end of my 17-55 lens. When I bought my first UWA (a Sigma 10-20), it was like a lens from heaven. I really enjoy the wide end. Here is one of my favourite photos taken with the Sigma:

2009-12-20%20-%20Christmas%20on%20Orchard%20by%20Night%20-%20DPP%20-%201016.JPG

I joined :)

uenuei wrote :

hihi...i jus bought a canon 7D =) a beginner thou... can we organize a outing or coffee session so that i can learn from all the lao jiao?

1. uenuei
2. biskandar

I joined :)

uenuei wrote :

hihi...i jus bought a canon 7D =) a beginner thou... can we organize a outing or coffee session so that i can learn from all the lao jiao?

1. uenuei
2. biskandar

7d for beginner is too over and too rich hha..

but congratz on acquiring good camera..

7d for beginner is too over and too rich hha..

but congratz on acquiring good camera..

cos i take it as a long term investment...as i dun see a need to buy a camera and having problem selling it later part to upgrade the camera....;)

But which lens did u get.. U should be on f4 L lens, if not it doesnt do justice to 7d :p

But now is the outing time, so r both of u on foto excursion now?

But which lens did u get.. U should be on f4 L lens, if not it doesnt do justice to 7d :p

now using stock 18-135mm len...havent decide to use wat len till i decide wat i wanna shoot ;p

Good good. No rush. Too many a new photographer has rushed into buying new lenses and wasted his time & money when he decides that his photographer interest is not suited for the lens. Take it slow and know what you’ll shoot, then match the lens to your needs :)

ya lor....let me learn the technique first...;p

Got my 7D at long last! :D

Congratulations! It's a very good camera.;)

Thanks raydio! Got lots to learn on how to handle it! =D

Went to the zoo yesterday to test it out, spent some time camping at the white tiger exhibit :D

188231_192474080774409_167964616558689_544018_7502040_n.jpg

190239_192474114107739_167964616558689_544019_3886835_n.jpg

183147_192474164107734_167964616558689_544020_2566216_n.jpg

Do u all experience a rattling sound inside the body when u shake it??I sent it to csc and the technician said it's very usual and they shoe me their demo set which is the same...wonder if anyone might be lucky to get a perfect set here??

Hi there everyone!! Am a 7D user too... for 3 months now.
So far been using the following lenses:
- Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 non VC
- Canon 50mm 1.8 II
- Canon 50~250mm 4~5.6
They cover the range of 17~250 pretty well so far, and I've been quite happy... (yes i know, they aren't exactly superb lenses to pair up with the 7D but well, the 7D burnt a hole in my pocket!!!)
Am thinking of getting the Tokina 11-16mm 2.8 as a UWA lens... do you guys think it is advisable?
Would love to hear from you!

BTW - any good sites for advice on maximising the potential of our 7Ds to share? Thanks in advance!

Hi there everyone!! Am a 7D user too... for 3 months now.
So far been using the following lenses:
- Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 non VC
- Canon 50mm 1.8 II
- Canon 50~250mm 4~5.6
They cover the range of 17~250 pretty well so far, and I've been quite happy... (yes i know, they aren't exactly superb lenses to pair up with the 7D but well, the 7D burnt a hole in my pocket!!!)
Am thinking of getting the Tokina 11-16mm 2.8 as a UWA lens... do you guys think it is advisable?
Would love to hear from you!

BTW - any good sites for advice on maximising the potential of our 7Ds to share? Thanks in advance!

You'll really like the UWA lens. The Tokina 11-16 mm is a very good one.

I recently tested the Sigma 8-16 and it is a nice lens too. It has received very good reviews from pros and regular users. If you ask me, there's lot of choice in the UWA segment. None of the brands/models can be a wrong choice... they are all good for various reasons. The advantage of the Tokina is the constant aperture throughout the focal range and for low light photography.

With respect to sites on maximizing the 7D.... ClubSnap is pretty good. There are a lot of knowledgeable photographers on this site who will take the time to answer your questions. Another site that I've learned a lot from is DPReview.

Just upgrade from 550D to 7D. I am still adjusting on the settings and button location. The shutter sounds a bit weird (for me), sounds like typewriter :) Anyway any recommended memory card for 7D?

Just get the Sandisk Ultra will do.7D user here btw:)

Hi guys, i would like to know is the promo at IT show worth it? i think it is quite worth it leh.. just wanna know your thoughts.. looking at the Body only promo at S$2549 with freebies: Crumpler 6 million, 1 TB harddisk, extra battery, dry cabinet, lcd cover/eyecup, dry cabinet, Tripod and the usuals like the Handbooks and 8GB CF card.....