Normally how do u guys ask for discount?

Quoting another shop's price is one of the most ineffective ways to bargain. If I were the shop owner, I will also say go to that shop and buy lah. Makes sense, what. If you feel the other shop provides a better deal, then why are you even in my shop?

exactly. You admit that you prefer to buy from the high price shop BECAUSE the high-price shop has something that the other shop doesn't. It's a self-contradictory argument in most cases. Think yourself why you must ask one shop to drop the price to the level of the other shop without buying straightaway from the cheaper shop.

Shops with better service may employ more salesmen or simply pay their salesmen better so they aren't grumpy and non-responsive. Or maybe they exchange things easily, have better after-sales service and have to incur more overhead costs with they have to recover from the pricing of things they sell. It doesn't make much sense to ask one shop to sell at the price of another shop.

But reasonable shopkeepers would probably realise that the buyers are trying to update the street prices to the shop and trying to support them as well. That's why I use it once in a while anyway :bsmilie:

this could have been if the price difference was like 1600 and 2000. The said diference was 1650 vs 1680.

It's also an all too common tactic for shops that are out of stock of a particular item to quote way below what they normally sell, and in full knowledge of what their rival prices are also like. That way, they can prevent you from buying from their rivals who do have stock, and they make you come back to their shop where they will almost inevitably quote their "normal" price, giving a 1001 reasons why this changed from their "out of stock" quote (new stock higher cost, blah blah). And at that point, you've waited too long and wandered in/asked too many shops to care, and just get it anyway.

Not sure if AP acted in this fashion for this instance, but this tactic is so common that it's become farcical. And the customer gets taken for a ride all because he wanted to save $50. This is personal preference, but as Kit says, you go with the shop you are most comfortable buying from, and that doesn't necessarily mean price alone.

It's also an all too common tactic for shops that are out of stock of a particular item to quote way below what they normally sell, and in full knowledge of what their rival prices are also like. That way, they can prevent you from buying from their rivals who do have stock, and they make you come back to their shop where they will almost inevitably quote their "normal" price, giving a 1001 reasons why this changed from their "out of stock" quote (new stock higher cost, blah blah). And at that point, you've waited too long and wandered in/asked too many shops to care, and just get it anyway.

Not sure if AP acted in this fashion for this instance, but this tactic is so common that it's become farcical. And the customer gets taken for a ride all because he wanted to save $50. This is personal preference, but as Kit says, you go with the shop you are most comfortable buying from, and that doesn't necessarily mean price alone.

Thats an interesting one. Never thought of it.

Maybe I add one more suggestion for squeezing out a few more discount , offer to pay in cash.

Sorry TS, hijack your thread, but i want to ask all the more experienced people here, what are the more reputable shops at funan and penisular area?

Indeed you should have done a search, it's very often mentioned. But anyways, John 3:16, Alan Photo (some may disagree) from Funan and Cathay Photo (again, some may disagree) from Peninsula.

Most importantly, do your research from Clubsnap first before going.

You can search the forum for the keyword 'reputable' in the first place ...

Sorry.. ._.

Thanks anyways. :)

i think alan photo is really out of stock , cos my friends is working there but the best price he can offer mi is 20 dollars or 30 dollars difference from other shops :( i need that cam on the 4th of nov :(

even though it's onli $20 to $30 dollars but it still mean alot to a student like mi as i have saved very long for this cam liao
so i will try my best to find the best deal i can get hope adult here will understand and don say i very mean or what

this could have been if the price difference was like 1600 and 2000. The said diference was 1650 vs 1680.

uh... relevance? 1650 vs 1680 I[buyer] will also prefer 1650. If I were the seller I would probably prefer to sell it at a lower profit than to not sell it at all, thus I'd prefer to be updated?

Dont really understand lei

If I know the shop is already charging low, then I will just take their offer.

Quoting another shop's price is one of the most ineffective ways to bargain. If I were the shop owner, I will also say go to that shop and buy lah. Makes sense, what. If you feel the other shop provides a better deal, then why are you even in my shop?

ive worked behind a counter before and i know how irritating it is for people to tell me that

really if the shop charging lower just shut up and go there and but dont have to say it out.

but being the *ehem* customer-oriented employee I am, i just reply that im sorry but we cannot offer any lower price

Guess the level of service here still leaves much to be desired.....

Indeed you should have done a search, it's very often mentioned. But anyways, John 3:16, Alan Photo (some may disagree) from Funan and Cathay Photo (again, some may disagree) from Peninsula.

Most importantly, do your research from Clubsnap first before going.

I will have to disagree ( and many will also disagree) about Alan Photo. Based on my past experiences, they judge and serve you based on your appearance. If you look like a young punk or someone without much money, they won't even bother, or they'll serve you halfheartedly.

They may have low prices, but their prejudiced service leaves much to be desired.

i think saving 30 dollars or wait longer for a discount is a waste of time/effort!

u could haf easily bought the d90 kit and get a whole week's worth of "ulitily" from using the camera than to spend money on transpot/research to get ur desired d90 kit at a lower price. More often than not, you will end up spending more money to get a lower price!

on the other hand if the difference is more than 200 dollars, that might be worth waiting for!

my suggestion: know the lowest base price and work from there. If u can't squeeze out a discount, then a freebie - ie memory card might sweeten the deal.

uh... relevance? 1650 vs 1680 I[buyer] will also prefer 1650. If I were the seller I would probably prefer to sell it at a lower profit than to not sell it at all, thus I'd prefer to be updated?

Dont really understand lei

relevance is that shops DO have small price differnces due to various reasons and that's why you dont' get the same thing and Harvey Norman and Sim Lim at same prices. If one thinks that they must be exactly the same price even without some 20-30$ difference one is being naive. That's the price you chose and pay for the quality of service. Especially so because the cheaper shop didnt' have stock and were free to quote anything.

:nono: bad business attitude. Shopping is about price, service and product. If someone tells me that I'll never visit the shop again. I kena before from AP when I was a super newbie, that's why I've never stepped into the shop since.

Heh. Yeah. That's why I reckon I'd make a really bad businessman. Sure lose money one. Every customer I see that I don't like, I'd give them the finger. :devil:

It depends on who you are talking to really. If you've proven yourself to be a genuine buyer, they are open for negotiations. I shaved $150 dollars off a quotation from a shop I frequent most by quoting their rival's pricing.

Agree. The people at the shop I visit frequently already know me by face, and if their price is too out of the ordinary, I'd say "eh? How come XXXplace sells lower?" And of course, it has to be significantly lower, and not just a matter of 20-30 bucks out of $1000++. But frankly though, I don't recall myself ever needing to do that. At the most, I just smile and ask, "hmm, best price, ah?"

I will also admit that the shop I go to (somewhere in AMK area) does NOT give the absolute best price in Sg. Some say they can get better deals elsewhere, but for me, as long as their prices remain reasonable and that I am happy with their service, I'll continue to buy from them.

w.r.t. AP, I think you get a higher chance of getting a good deal if you're female. Many of my guy friends say this place people got attitude problem, but my female friends say no ley, they quite nice ley. And they always get good deals ley.

I will also admit that the shop I go to (somewhere in AMK area) does NOT give the absolute best price in Sg. Some say they can get better deals elsewhere, but for me, as long as their prices remain reasonable and that I am happy with their service, I'll continue to buy from them.

I am also a regular of that shop.:bsmilie: I dont remember myself asking for discount before. Usually their E-quote is their best price already (and its a very resonable price).

When buying please factor in the transportation cost and travelling time as well. The AMK shop is 10 mins walk/ 2 mins car ride from my house. Thats why i dont mind even if its $10-$20 more expensive than other places.

have a good relationship is the key:D

w.r.t. AP, I think you get a higher chance of getting a good deal if you're female. Many of my guy friends say this place people got attitude problem, but my female friends say no ley, they quite nice ley. And they always get good deals ley.

Hahah... don't really agree with you.
I'm a female and I tried AP at Funan. The sales there cant even be bothered to promote me their service. That left me a bad impression on them...

It really helps to do your homework and evaluate the prices offered by each competitor. Then head on towards your favorite store. They would recognize you, if you're a regular. But if you're not, at least your knowledge of the average street price will be useful.