Noktor 50mm f/0.95 for M4/3 Fastest Lens

I think I would rather get a Nokton 50/1.1 or any of the decent 50/1.4s out there.

Some said it's just a re-badged senko (originally a cheapo CCTV lens), and the name sounds so cosina. haha.

that could be true.. change the mount.. change some other stuff.. and there you have it :bsmilie: :sweatsm:

i see some similarity in the lenses

http://thephoblographer.com/2010/02/14/50mm-f0-95-micro-four-thirds-lens-is-coming-from-noktor/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/doo3/2956538939/

dont need all this f0.95 lens la.

What i want is a cheapo 50mm f1.8 plastic fantastic that can AF.

Used my friend's $200 plastic fantastic and loved the subject isolation and DOF.

Why wont we ever get a cheap one like all the other brands out there?

I'll give this one the benefit of the doubt. let's wait for some professional review. I mean honestly even if someone lends me a noctilux I'll probably have the same crappy pics as the ones posted :bsmilie:

but I do see the benefits of this kind of lens especially shooting video

Warning, heavy lense of 480g....

Price is US$ 750
http://noktor.com/gallery.php

At this stage, I would rather recommend the Nokton (not Noktor) 50mm f/1.1, but you never know .... Anyway, Steve Huff website has one Noktor already for review it seems ...

I was just looking at the DPReview page on it.

It doesn't seem to have any electronic contacts on the mount. That means that you'd be shooting in the dark in more ways than one. The camera would be completely unaware that there is a lens attached.

I'd suggest that the lens definitely isn't worth US$750 and only the most extreme pin hole camera type photography would work and it's a lot cheaper to build a pin hole camera than that.

3rd time i said liao... no AF :thumbsd: boooo. LOL :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

I was just looking at the DPReview page on it.

It doesn't seem to have any electronic contacts on the mount. That means that you'd be shooting in the dark in more ways than one. The camera would be completely unaware that there is a lens attached.

I'd suggest that the lens definitely isn't worth US$750 and only the most extreme pin hole camera type photography would work and it's a lot cheaper to build a pin hole camera than that.

I dun see how that would be different from Voitglander or any other manual lenses used with an adapter on M4/3... or is it that you've just not tried any manual lenses on the m4/3?

It is just a rebadged CCTV lens (some say Senko), not even a cine-lens. Dun expect too much from it.

At over S$1K, you'll be better off adding a bit more & get the CV 50mm f/1.1, which is a great performer, has solid built & has better resale value as its an M-mount lens.

To put that C/V 1.1 lens on any M4/3 is the best way to make it look super ugly :nono:

well, tat is subjective. some ppl love it other hate it.

smiling ....

Go look at a similar lenses at F0.95 50mm and you will be surprised at the prices .... USD$750 is decent ...

With a GF1 manual focus assist helps alot with the manual lens ..

Nokton 35mm F1.2 is good too ...

http://www.cosina.co.jp/seihin/voigt/english/wide-e.html

Noctilux, Nokton f/1.1 & f/1.2 are all 35mm full frame lenses.

The Angenieux f/0.95 & Switar f/1.1 still can command higher price coz they are Cine lenses, which were made for professional 16mm motion picture cameras & they are rare.

But this? A rebadged CCTV lens?
Looks familiar tho? http://www.flickr.com/photos/doo3/2956538939/

3rd time i said liao... no AF :thumbsd: boooo. LOL :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

3rd time we hear it liao. No need to repeat any more times, ok? We heard you the first time. Your needs and other people needs may be different. That's why there are people who choose EP1 and some who choose GF1 (and there are others like me who prefer G1).

I dun see how that would be different from Voitglander or any other manual lenses used with an adapter on M4/3... or is it that you've just not tried any manual lenses on the m4/3?

I've never tried micro Four-Thirds at all. I live 90 km from the nearest (supposedly) full service Olympus dealer now and haven't bothered to see what they actually have. People in Singapore have it much better. I can only assume that they Olympus Service Centre here is about 1000 km distance from here.

I certainly wouldn't pay much for any lens that didn't have an electronic interface to the camera. I couldn't care less about auto focus, but I shouldn't have to worry about proper metering and auto exposure modes, especially for US$300 or more.

Haiyoh, here cannot take joke 1, LOL :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

I certainly wouldn't pay much for any lens that didn't have an electronic interface to the camera. I couldn't care less about auto focus, but I shouldn't have to worry about proper metering and auto exposure modes, especially for US$300 or more.

I dun think you need to worry, coz manual lenses do meter fine, as long as you use either A or M modes... there's also this concept called stopped-down metering (which I need someone with more experience to explain how this works)... ;p

Hmm... f0.95, so if you focus on the eyeball, will the eyelashes will be out of focus?? :think: :think: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Have a nice day.

Hmm... f0.95, so if you focus on the eyeball, will the eyelashes will be out of focus?? :think: :think: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Have a nice day.

haha not for m4/3, since u have to X2 the DOF, meaning the depth of field is about f2 lor. so maybe the nose is out of focus. haha.