Nikon Portraiture Shootout!!

nightwolf75 said:
uppzzz... still got 5(?) hasn't pay. today's the last day! :sweat:

shld be doing one last check of the location next week, just to make sure they dun go ard digging holes at our shooting location. pray for good weather... :sweat:

Err .. our location so good already still need to check some more ?? If they dig you just have to fill up the holes ... :bsmilie: I dont mind if they dig up another waterfall ... ;p

plsoong: Got meh??? :dunno:

Photominia: Not me actually, you should encourage the helpers & Nikon SG instead, I haven't been doing much :sweat:

Upz upz :)

eh u call skyestang leh....

i passed to him liao

eh, i dun want tag can boh (A)

final countdown for those who haven't paid... :embrass:

uppzzzz.... today last day b4 espn moves the reserves up! ;p

Supposed to move up the list last night but slept early ;p

Ok, updating the 2nd post now

Updated 2nd post.

Two lucky fellas have already responded to my PMs and told me when they'll make payment.

One last slot.

The rest can still PM me, if I don't get their payment by their designated timing, I'll open it to the next ;)

Sorry ah but v busy, no time to keep chasing for payment. Appreciate your understandings.

Don't worry about my PM space. I've got sufficient for everybody.

Yeah .. more than 90% has confirmed their place .... :cheergal:

Ok, 3 PMs have been recieved. Two will be making payment by the time they stipulated for themselves. One has paid.

I will KIV all the other PMs I receive.

(Dang, should have done this long ago.)

Details are going out now by pm.

uppzzzz... ah! hurry and fill up the last slots!! :cheergal: :gbounce:

Aiya I have been replaced.... It's my fault I know. I would like to join back. Is it ok? Still got vacancies or am I too late? I have PMed you ESPN...

benedium: Solly ah... but all the slots are taken and have been confirmed paid. Apologies.

----------

wrt to some PMs, thot I'd want to share with all of you. Please feel free to raise any questions.

do you think we can have the entire programmes for the day as well as time allocated for each programme.
as it is only about a week left, full details including themes, etc would be appreciated for our planning purposes. eg. what will be provided like lights, reflectors, props, etc, so that we can also do our planning for the upcoming shoots too. all geared towards a more satisfying and productive shoot for all.

The itinerary has been posted on the first post of the thread 2 weeks ago.

It is with recognition that lighting is important thus I chose for morning light from 9am and cut the shoot by 12pm where the lighting gets harsh.

There won't be props as this is a workshop, goals are to get the basic posture, angles correct and to work with various equipment (courtesy of yourselves and Nikon SG ;p ). Some very well known to be used as ad-hoc props are cameras & lenses. Hahaha.

I have already gotten hold of reflectors so please rest assured all of you will get a chance to hold it and understand what it can do for fill-in :bsmilie:.

Theme is definitely casual, sporty kind of look.

I apologize for the lack of photos for the other two models as I have really no time to shoot and do up their images, even Michelle's images was 'stolen' from sykestang :bsmilie:

Workshop Purpose:

1) How successful this workshop will be depends on how involved you want to get. As I said, this is a sharing workshop, I'm not going to slam you with 10K of my posts and say that I'm right.

The right attitude is to go there to share with one another, ask questions and learn together, yeah I'm still learning too. This is the purpose for the morning.

2) The other purpose in the afternoon is to demonstrate workflows, share ideas and learn more about post-processing and what's not-so-scary about it. Printing, color profiling and the jazz. Perhaps you might even like it.

Finale) Hopefully it would give all a better idea of pre-shoot-post. I aim to try to help as many fellow shooters as I can, I'm no where near what Avatar, chngpe01, megaweb and the rest can produce, but let's all help one another. Hopefully by end of the workshop you all can upgrade your workflows or have better knowledge in a way or another.

Thus I term it the "Sharing Workshop". :)

regards,

espn

p/s: The loaned equipment is just in for bonuses only. Hahaha...

just to add on to espn..

i guess the final details will be released to the participants after our final meeting next week. guess common sense will tell u dat we cannot publically release the location to avoid gatecrashers, yah?

as said, this is a sharing session - ie. its only successful if each of us do our part to teach each other. i believe there are some participants who are very good portrait shooters. so, it would be great dat we can learn from one another. if everyone decides to keep his/her mouth shut, then it will be a waste of time for everyone.

the helpers for this event have tried our best to ensure dat this event will go smoothly. yes, we have made provisions for reflectors. but, if u want more sophisticated stuff, then much apologies, we dun have. however, if u think u need such extra stuff like portable lights, extra reflectors, booms, light stands, CF tripods.. etc... heck, even ur own PA, to shoot, by all means go ahead and bring them. i'm sure it will also benefit the rest of the shooters. :thumbsup:

most imptly, IMO, is to have fun. so, for myself, i'm looking forward to meet everyone - to make new frens and to catch up with some old frens which i've made in earlier shoots. :bsmilie:

nightwolf75 said:
heck, even ur own PA, to shoot, by all means go ahead and bring them. i'm sure it will also benefit the rest of the shooters. :thumbsup:

Erm. Don't bring any PAs, the bus is not chartered for them. Heehee. However, you can hire a helper at the spot to be your PA. :bsmilie: j/k.

I'm really looking forward to this :)

First time shoot portrait... i got a question in mind.... dun flame me...haahaa.... i noob lar.... when shooting need to use tripod/monopod? i dun see why i need.... but just asking... dun want to be there on e day with tripod/monopod where everyone didnt bring....or everyone with tripod/monopod and im the only w/o...

thx :D

Looking forward for the shooting.... :sweatsm: good job espn..... kam sia

kegler said:
First time shoot portrait... i got a question in mind.... dun flame me...haahaa.... i noob lar.... when shooting need to use tripod/monopod? i dun see why i need.... but just asking... dun want to be there on e day with tripod/monopod where everyone didnt bring....or everyone with tripod/monopod and im the only w/o...

thx :D

hey, kegler!

u newbie...?? :faint: :bsmilie:

nah. its up to u. a tripod or monopod is not a must for portraiture photography. but, if u are using a long lens, it helps to stablise ur cam to prevent blur pics from handshakes. its a personal pref. i normally dun use a tripod as i try to adhere to the 1/focal length rule. however, i know of shooters who swears by the use of a monopod. to each his/her own. :thumbsup:

the point in my earlier post is dat each participant is free to bring watever he/she needs to shoot the best pic. but, most imptly, each participant must be willing to share with each other, else this is a waste of time.

The itinerary has been posted on the first post of the thread 2 weeks ago.

It is with recognition that lighting is important thus I chose for morning light from 9am and cut the shoot by 12pm where the lighting gets harsh.

There won't be props as this is a workshop, goals are to get the basic posture, angles correct and to work with various equipment (courtesy of yourselves and Nikon SG ). Some very well known to be used as ad-hoc props are cameras & lenses. Hahaha.

I have already gotten hold of reflectors so please rest assured all of you will get a chance to hold it and understand what it can do for fill-in

Theme is definitely casual, sporty kind of look.

I apologize for the lack of photos for the other two models as I have really no time to shoot and do up their images, even Michelle's images was 'stolen' from sykestang

Workshop Purpose

1) How successful this workshop will be depends on how involved you want to get. As I said, this is a sharing workshop, I'm not going to slam you with 10K of my posts and say that I'm right.

The right attitude is to go there to share with one another, ask questions and learn together, yeah I'm still learning too. This is the purpose for the morning.

2) The other purpose in the afternoon is to demonstrate workflows, share ideas and learn more about post-processing and what's not-so-scary about it. Printing, color profiling and the jazz. Perhaps you might even like it.

Finale) Hopefully it would give all a better idea of pre-shoot-post. I aim to try to help as many fellow shooters as I can, I'm no where near what Avatar, chngpe01, megaweb and the rest can produce, but let's all help one another. Hopefully by end of the workshop you all can upgrade your workflows or have better knowledge in a way or another.

Thus I term it the "Sharing Workshop".

regards,

espn

p/s: The loaned equipment is just in for bonuses only. Hahaha...

:bsmilie: but good job espn :)

i'm looking forward to looking at how our friends do.
i'm going to kaypo onli :sticktong

OT:-
scanner> i'm going to be quite involved in some shoots coming mid April..... u noe, my "gal friendSSSSSSSS" ;) we can discuss about that if u are keen :)

nightwolf75 said:
hey, kegler!

u newbie...?? :faint: :bsmilie:

nah. its up to u. a tripod or monopod is not a must for portraiture photography. but, if u are using a long lens, it helps to stablise ur cam to prevent blur pics from handshakes. its a personal pref. i normally dun use a tripod as i try to adhere to the 1/focal length rule. however, i know of shooters who swears by the use of a monopod. to each his/her own. :thumbsup:

the point in my earlier post is dat each participant is free to bring watever he/she needs to shoot the best pic. but, most imptly, each participant must be willing to share with each other, else this is a waste of time.

To add on, a tripod/monopod is useful for heavy lenses, but from what I see is that almost all are muscular enough to handheld a 200VR f/2, not forgetting there's a VR on the 200, so... monopod/tripod isn't very necessary for myself.

I prefer to be versatile and moving, having extra legs will hinder my movements and angles, but it differs from each other.

Basically, bring what you feel is necessary, I've requests like bringing their laptops, or whatever. You won't look stupid or anything just because you bring something extra.

Some advice is to probably bring a polarizer/soft filter. The group's that's with me will be lucky as I have both. Heehee.

To add on, a tripod/monopod is useful for heavy lenses, but from what I see is that almost all are muscular enough to handheld a 200VR f/2, not forgetting there's a VR on the 200, so... monopod/tripod isn't very necessary for myself.

I prefer to be versatile and moving, having extra legs will hinder my movements and angles, but it differs from each other.

Basically, bring what you feel is necessary, I've requests like bringing their laptops, or whatever. You won't look stupid or anything just because you bring something extra.

Some advice is to probably bring a polarizer/soft filter. The group's that's with me will be lucky as I have both. Heehee.

ok.... good idea...noteboook....so can preview and discuss further later on....

Note: For those that want to pull out after payment, PLEASE PM me and let me handle the replacements, DO NOT plan your own replacements. I still have a reserve list.

Also please note I'm kinda tied up with a lot of personal stuff & work & this outing so queries/questions might not be answered in full & in time, solly ah... :embrass:

Appreciate your understanding :)

Thank you :)