nikon kit lenses!

i think you need to shoot higher than 1/135 because of the crop factor, you probably have to multiply it by 1.5 to be safe though i've shot at 1/flenght with some success.

That'd be 1/200.

But in practice lots of us have hand held with 50:50 chance down to 1/8 with many optics. I have not checked my latest, but I think I've done 1/15 with the 18-70 and got somewhere 90% plus sharp pictures.

No so with the 18-135, in my limited experience.

Guess the max aperture has something to do with it too, as 18-70 and 18-135 both at 70mm have different max aperture, and you'll get just that fractionally higher speed on the 18-70.

Don't get me wrong, I will still use the 18-135 along with the 18-70 for differing purposes. The 18-55 is my kid lens (as in given to my kid to use in school photography club).

That'd be 1/200.

But in practice lots of us have hand held with 50:50 chance down to 1/8 with many optics. I have not checked my latest, but I think I've done 1/15 with the 18-70 and got somewhere 90% plus sharp pictures.

No so with the 18-135, in my limited experience.

Guess the max aperture has something to do with it too, as 18-70 and 18-135 both at 70mm have different max aperture, and you'll get just that fractionally higher speed on the 18-70.

Don't get me wrong, I will still use the 18-135 along with the 18-70 for differing purposes. The 18-55 is my kid lens (as in given to my kid to use in school photography club).

The camera shake has nothing to do with the quality of the lens, but the basics of shooting. If you are shooting with longer focal length, it is more prone to get blurred photos due to camera shake. You have to hold the camera more stably and compensate with higher shutter speed.

Shooting at 1/15s at 18mm is the same whether you use the 18-70 or 18-135. You just have to watch the shutter corresponding to the focal length you are shooting at.

BC

I'll let my humble fotos speak for 18~135mm Kit lens.. = )

Camera: D80 with Kit lens
Focal Length: 135mm (max)
F: 5.6 (largest)
Shutterspeed: 1/4000
ISO: 800
Metering Mode: spot
EV: -0.3
Format: Jpeg Fine Large

This image has no post-processing done, all on-camera image ehancement off or set to min (default curve).

Main Image

100% center crop

100% Side crop

100% corner crop

100% Bottom crop

I think for a Kit lens.. it ROCKS!!

if any of you think the 18-55 lens is bad, or the 18-135, you obviously haven't tried a Canon ef-s 18-55 kit lens...hahaha

18-55mm II

cef09779.jpg

100% crop from JPG 6mp, Normal

8e626f19.jpg

Nice.. and thats at 55mm? :)

But ur nails abit not so clean.. i can see dirt!! :bsmilie::bsmilie:

Nice.. and thats at 55mm? :)

But ur nails abit not so clean.. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

yup.. 55mm..

at 18mm this lens is even sharper.

not my hand! :P i dont have such feminine hands unfortunately.. my palms are rough and dry :confused:

haha..

anyway.. I dun normally look at my photos that way, just that i read so much abt 18~135.. corner soft lah.. not sharp lah.. expecially at max zoom and max aperature.. so today i free.. go dig out those photos taken wif kit lens at 135mm and pixel peep lor. :bsmilie:

haha..

anyway.. I dun normally look at my photos that way, just that i read so much abt 18~135.. corner soft lah.. not sharp lah.. expecially at max zoom and max aperature.. so today i free.. go dig out those photos taken wif kit lens at 135mm and pixel peep lor. :bsmilie:
the 18-135 is very sharp, so far whichever kit lense you go for, be it the 18-55. 18-70, 18-135, there isnt too much of any known sharpness problems with them at all. i've been monitoring D80 threads all these while, reading up on lenses, no such complaints.

corner sharpness is not that critical for me esp when i'm framing a subject away fromm the corner, or filling the background with bokeh. perhaps a little crucial on landscapes, but landscapes, taken at 18mm.. how bad can it get? even printed or resized i might not even notice it unless i pixel peep the corners for little animals crawling on tiny trees or something..

the only issue is the vignetting though, and that when it disturbs you, its time to look for another option, but when it doesnt... you might not even realize it.

the 18-135 is very sharp, so far whichever kit lense you go for, be it the 18-55. 18-70, 18-135, there isnt too much of any known sharpness problems with them at all. i've been monitoring D80 threads all these while, reading up on lenses, no such complaints.

corner sharpness is not that critical for me esp when i'm framing a subject away fromm the corner, or filling the background with bokeh. perhaps a little crucial on landscapes, but landscapes, taken at 18mm.. how bad can it get? even printed or resized i might not even notice it unless i pixel peep the corners for little animals crawling on tiny trees or something..

the only issue is the vignetting though, and that when it disturbs you, its time to look for another option, but when it doesnt... you might not even realize it.

Vignetting is definitely an issue when at max aperture + wide angle. Really hurts when doing landscape shots. But the point I was trying to make is that comparing with other kit lens, optical quality for 18~135 is very acceptable (as demonstrated with the photos above, taken at supposedly the lens's worse possible setting). And even with superior build quality of 18~70mm, this kinda shots will not be possible without the extra reach.. of coz 18~200VR will be even better. :)

I must admit 18-70 is a good lens. But again it's depent on the lens combination that you already have and planing to have.

i agree with that and i think kit lenses arent really good for low light because of the app value

i think the 18-70 is real great just for a kit lens. quite nice aperture and pic quality.
if i bought the D80, i'd personally go for the body only and add on a 18-200 VR. the 18-135 kit lens is not so surprising and apart from the wider focal length range is really not anything much. the minimum focusing distance is 0.45m, and thats not so close compared to the 0.28m of the 18-55 (and thats throughout the range)
then again, if you bought the kit, and didnt need so much quality it'll be fine as a pretty decent travel lens

haha..

anyway.. I dun normally look at my photos that way, just that i read so much abt 18~135.. corner soft lah.. not sharp lah...
That's not right. The 18-135 is the best for corner to corner sharpness among the kit lens.

BC

From the reviews, the performance of the 18-135 is excellent throughout and better in some ways than the other kit lenses. Since there is no compromise in image quality despite its longer focal range I would choose this lens over the 18-70.

From a travel point of view the 18-135 is also great as it is about as light as the 18-70.

Longer reach is important to me when travelling so I choose to suffer whatever compromises of the 18-200 VR.