Nikon D80 kit

I love my D80! Using the Sigma 17-70 Macro lens on it.

If u're a guy, all the more u should get the D80. The Canon one simply cannot make it in terms of "man-handling". :bsmilie:

:o
G has nothing to do with plastic or metal mounts. G has nothing to do with lens quality too. It simply means that there is no aperture ring which all new AF cameras are not going to utilise it. A number of the good lenses are what you called G lens.

Yes, there are some flop kit lens previously. I think the current line of lenses are quite ok.

BC

NOOOOOooooooo G means Gold mount =.= ... haha
anw, i bought the D80 ealier today, without the kit lens...loving it so far :thumbsup:

:o

NOOOOOooooooo G means Gold ring =.= ... haha
anw, i bought the D80 ealier today, without the kit lens...loving it so far :thumbsup:
wat wat Gold ring? :dunno: did I miss something?

:bsmilie: "G" lenses...since people are so hung up on plastic or metal mounts....so i say G means GOLD mount lor:embrass:

not "Google" meh? i want my G sponsor by them :bsmilie:

The kit lens that comes with the D80 is not bad. In fact it is a lot better compared to the Kit lens of Canon. If you have loads of money to throw away, then you can buy the 18-200VR. If you are just starting out, I suggest you go with the kit lens. It should serve you well for some time.

2nd hand value of nikkor 18-135 about 400-450
that of efs 18-55 about 50-70..
Though within same range some lens are more value for $ than others..
generally.. the 2nd hand price can tell the diff in abilities.
Anyway do a search. there had been tons of such kit lens/replacements enquiring thread ;)

Thank you all.
I also read some reviews elsewhere and come to a conclusion that D80 should be good enough. Anyway maybe I wouldn't be able to get those pricey L lenses in the end. So no point getting Canon

Will get one maybe in the end of the month. Hopefully price going down (fat hope)
Wish the DSLRs won't cost so much :cool:

Any accessories should I get in addition of this. SD Card won't cost so much money I supposed?

Thank you all.
I also read some reviews elsewhere and come to a conclusion that D80 should be good enough. Anyway maybe I wouldn't be able to get those pricey L lenses in the end. So no point getting Canon

Will get one maybe in the end of the month. Hopefully price going down (fat hope)
Wish the DSLRs won't cost so much :cool:

Any accessories should I get in addition of this. SD Card won't cost so much money I supposed?

eh..regardless of wat system u choose, nikon or canon, remember remember to get a dry cabinet... top top top of the priority list.

ya sd card is very very cheap. U can easily find a 1gb sd card at < $25 in sim lim square

eh..regardless of wat system u choose, nikon or canon, remember remember to get a dry cabinet... top top top of the priority list.

ya sd card is very very cheap. U can easily find a 1gb sd card at < $25 in sim lim square

Agreed....

Nikon Lens are all good.

Its very easy to understand why...

Do you see Nikon Printers, Nikon Copier, Nikon Video Cameras around?

If you are a dedicated photography company, what else can you focus on but lenses and cameras (and Film scanners) ??

;p

current Canon 300D user
read a lot abt N80 this few days make me tempted to change plan of upgrading to 400D
went down CP to feel it and love the grip and view-finder
just to comfirm Signma 17-70 f/2.8-4.5 can mounted to N80?
if I get the N80 body wgich combo kits should I get, basically for travelling taking landscape and important is indoor area where light are limited.
looking at 18-135 and 50 f/1.8 as budget tight tight

kum sia~~~

current Canon 300D user
read a lot abt N80 this few days make me tempted to change plan of upgrading to 400D
went down CP to feel it and love the grip and view-finder
just to comfirm Signma 17-70 f/2.8-4.5 can mounted to N80?
if I get the N80 body wgich combo kits should I get, basically for travelling taking landscape and important is indoor area where light are limited.
looking at 18-135 and 50 f/1.8 as budget tight tight

kum sia~~~

dude u mean the D80 right? not N80?

if u're prepared to change your entire system n start from scratch then why not?

50mm 1.8 gd for low light but must caution u on the 18-135 - if u wan to use it for landscape, there's a fair bit of distortion - check the reviews online.

The degree of distortion with the 18-135 is not so critical for landscape lah... architecture maybe...

There is some vignetting though... but should be easily corrected.

Taken with the D80 kit lens...

Taipei-27-web.jpg

SunsetDanshui.jpg

Find it very handy for travel...

BC

dude u mean the D80 right? not N80?

if u're prepared to change your entire system n start from scratch then why not?

50mm 1.8 gd for low light but must caution u on the 18-135 - if u wan to use it for landscape, there's a fair bit of distortion - check the reviews online.

omg...really a newbie to NIKON hahah
series also can remember wrongly
tink i have to sell away my CANON body + kits 1st before committing

bro Scaglietti ....kit len for D80 realli better than canon kit lens...no doubt abt it

I love my D80! Using the Sigma 17-70 Macro lens on it.

If u're a guy, all the more u should get the D80. The Canon one simply cannot make it in terms of "man-handling". :bsmilie:

is the kit lens good enough? Any suggestion on third party replacement with good quality?
Coz I read in this forum Canon 400D Lens is a lousy one.
So thinking of buying D80 with an all around Lens, let say 18-200mm???
weighing between 400D and D80, will be first DSLR. Suggestion plz

Same scenario for me last time. 400D or D80.... or D70 .. D50 ..... E500.....?
Then I chose D80. Because of the grip, view finder and big LCD.
400D's grip is a bit small for me. I tend to loose my grip. Even with the battery grip.
But the D80, it really stay on my hand, and the weight makes my hand steady.
How can I take good photos if I can not hold the camera properly...

For its kit lens, it is ok. but I am not impressed.
I prefer to get a better lens. maybe 18-200VR.

cheers

Aiyo, we are comparing Kit Lens lah. You cannot compare non-kit vs kit lens leh.

yea D80 has it made for the handling and the viewfinder size!!
but i still using d70s :cry: no $$$

yup love the kit lens of the d70s, the 18-70..
oh one thing abt the d80's kit lens the 18-135, it has no distance scale,
a bit hard to set hyperfocal leh...