Nikon D3000 user Thread

Hi all! I just bought my D3000 @ $1280

Includes 2 x 8gb SD card, camera bag, tripod, brush, filter and an additional battery. I think i am a carrot head!! hahah!!

:o:eek: You must be a C H & Bugs Bunny got to you liao:kok:. I tot the D3000 with kit goes for something like $880, no? so you paid $400 for the extra freebies?:flush: Sori to rain on your parade but enjoy the cam lor and welcome to the Dark side:devil:

Beware!!!
Company is Nikon UK Limited c/o nikonshop@live.com or nikonshop@yahoo.com
They scam people!!! beware!!!

As CS-ers have always recommended, only get from the reputable shops.

Includes 2 x 8gb SD card, camera bag, tripod, brush, filter and an additional battery. I think i am a carrot head!! hahah!!

Yes, could get a D5000 for that price.

did you get the camera at $880 nett?

I wish to switch from compact camera into my first DSLR camera. Any Intro for new entry point?
Nikon D3000 it is good? But heard that Nikon D3000 body not inc the motor itself and it need to attach with the Lens which have motor...
could it be a disadvantge for this? So we need to buy the high leven lens and cannot use low level lens without motor....

I wish to switch from compact camera into my first DSLR camera. Any Intro for new entry point?
Nikon D3000 it is good? But heard that Nikon D3000 body not inc the motor itself and it need to attach with the Lens which have motor...
could it be a disadvantge for this? So we need to buy the high leven lens and cannot use low level lens without motor....

You are right that you will need to buy the lens that is "AF-S", means the autofocus motor is in the lens itself.

It isn't a 'higher level' lens per se, just lens that has the motor built in. As for the price, you can check out this thread: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=458315

You can also use the lenses without built-in autofocus motor, you just have to focus them yourself.

I switched over from compact, too. D3000 works great for me, I'm just doing photography as a hobby, not making a living out of it.

D3000 is better then DC.

for DC when you press the button for shooting and have to wait for saving into memory card.
i will be abit slow.

so for DSLR whatever works is difference everthing is very fast after press the button is no lagging.
then you can continuous shoots.

maybe it's my choice.

erm...i got it at $850 at AP
freebies include a screen protector, uv filter, 8gb card, a nikon camera bag & a nikon tripod :sweat::sweat::sweat:

eh, i used to have the 35mm film camera, like 20 years ago.
i like to take pics, but no time to pursue the hobby, so i've been using pns camera for many years.
when i got my d3000, i feel kinda comfortable- no live view, no video. i switch everything to manual, including the focus. it works well for me. maybe i'm more into street photography & candids.
furthermore, i don't drive & i'm a gal, so its a good camera to lug around.

i have some friends who has better camera body & expensive lens, but they are still struggling with aperture & things like that. & even if they drive, they find it a chore to carry the heavy camera body + lens(es), speedlite, tripod, & blah blah blah with them...

of coz, i'm just saying that we buy cameras due to hobby :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

Wah!! Bro or Sis...u bought the standard D3000 kit with 18-55VR? If yes....then sadly to say....u are indeed a carrot head. U bought the extra battery for $400++:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

eh, i used to have the 35mm film camera, like 20 years ago.
i like to take pics, but no time to pursue the hobby, so i've been using pns camera for many years. when i got my d3000, i feel kinda comfortable- no live view, no video. i switch everything to manual, including the focus. it works well for me. maybe i'm more into street photography & candids. furthermore, i don't drive & i'm a gal, so its a good camera to lug around. i have some friends who has better camera body & expensive lens, but they are still struggling with aperture & things like that. & even if they drive, they find it a chore to carry the heavy camera body + lens(es), speedlite, tripod, & blah blah blah with them... of coz, i'm just saying that we buy cameras due to hobby :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

I have same hobby with you. I like to take photo.. and keep for sweet memory on that moment. I also not time to go into deep for analyst like a photography. I'm affected from my friend who using DSLR many years.. they ask me to step in to use DSLR. I told him i dislike to bring the heavy camera and taking 1 photo need to do so much setting... heeee . If using pns camera easy and fast.. hee

Now come to next level.. asking myself, treat as hobby.. I plan to move in DSLR camera but with very basic entry point. Maybe Nikon D3000 can bring me go into futher interest when I use it.

Can you share some of your photo with your D3000?
Thanks ...

You are right that you will need to buy the lens that is "AF-S", means the autofocus motor is in the lens itself.

It isn't a 'higher level' lens per se, just lens that has the motor built in. As for the price, you can check out this thread: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=458315

You can also use the lenses without built-in autofocus motor, you just have to focus them yourself.

I switched over from compact, too. D3000 works great for me, I'm just doing photography as a hobby, not making a living out of it.

Hi Timolol, thank your info. Just to ask, if we using good/more professional lens with D3000 body. Will it be affected the quality photo ... Eg using Body D90 with D3000
I think it should be have a some different right?

We can gather all togather for those using Nikon D3000. Exchange idea and discussion..
Then money spend on the D3000 will be more worth and meaningful... hee..

I have same hobby with you. I like to take photo.. and keep for sweet memory on that moment. I also not time to go into deep for analyst like a photography. I'm affected from my friend who using DSLR many years.. they ask me to step in to use DSLR. I told him i dislike to bring the heavy camera and taking 1 photo need to do so much setting... heeee . If using pns camera easy and fast.. hee

Now come to next level.. asking myself, treat as hobby.. I plan to move in DSLR camera but with very basic entry point. Maybe Nikon D3000 can bring me go into futher interest when I use it.

Can you share some of your photo with your D3000?
Thanks ...

hmmm....when i was thinking about going back to my hobby, i also wonder if i changed my mind along the way.
so, here's my thoughts:
- d3000 is lightweight for a gal
- its affordable (except the lens lah :bigeyes:)

if, in case, i want to drop the hobby, i can also use this small & light weight camera as a normal point & shoot camera...looks cool too :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:
for some people, they may want to sell it, as nikon still has its value.

however, if i'm continuing it, then lagi no issue...this d3000 can always be my secondary camera so that i do not have to change lens ...

pictures, maybe later. i'm a perfectionist. i delete all pictures i deem not good. unless i am using p&s cameras lah.

Any advise for D3000 users who wish to get 55mm - 200mm AF lens?
When you are out on the field, 18mm - 55mm does not seem to be adequate.
Or should you settle for 18mm - 105mm lens instead?:dunno:

Hi Timolol, thank your info. Just to ask, if we using good/more professional lens with D3000 body. Will it be affected the quality photo ... Eg using Body D90 with D3000
I think it should be have a some different right?

Don't really understand your questions, but let me try to answer anyway.

From what I know, the D90 does correct for chromatic aberrations (purple fringing), and I do think it has better noise control over the D3000. So the D90 would give better quality photos in that sense.

But then again, there are many other factors to consider, like are you as likely to bring the heavier camera out to shoot as the lighter one? Maybe you can use the price difference to invest in things like an external flash?

For me, I'm just doing photography as a hobby, the image quality of a dSLR is way better than that of the compact camera I used, so I'm happy with a D3000. I do not make a living out of taking photos, they just go up on facebook for my friends to see.

hello all! :)

am thinking of getting a d3000.. hopefully soon! initially wanted a d90 but i think i will prob save that money and get another lens or flash =P plus, i'm damn broke.. haha.

how's everyone and their d3000? read through this thread and don't see photos! post up yours and share leh :D

This thread is dying. How's everyone's and their D3000?

I discovered hot pixels just now, quite several of them, was doing long exposures. Heh.

Im looking to get a d3000 too!

just 1 qns, will the kit lens for the d3000 be sufficient to shoot a mixture of scenery, night shots, portraits etc etc? bringing it on my year end trip! dont wanna reach there then realise that i cant photograph nicely all the attractions ;)

Im looking to get a d3000 too!

just 1 qns, will the kit lens for the d3000 be sufficient to shoot a mixture of scenery, night shots, portraits etc etc? bringing it on my year end trip! dont wanna reach there then realise that i cant photograph nicely all the attractions ;)

I would say yes, but that's just my opinion. I find it generally does well in most situations though, but I guess some would advise a lens with bigger aperture for night shots, or perhaps longer zoom (18-105mm).

Is the holiday for photography or for family?