Nikon Coolpix5200/WP-CP2 Underwater casing

pogiman

Anyone using this digicam and underwater casing (Nikon Coolpix5200/WP-CP2 Underwater casing)? How's the picture quality underwater? This is my first underwater digicam, I'll be using it only next year Feb2005 in pulau perhentian. Hope anyone here can give me tips on how to take good underwater pic using this device. Thanks in advance!

WP-CP2_Big.jpg

pogiman said:
Anyone using this digicam and underwater casing (Nikon Coolpix5200/WP-CP2 Underwater casing)? How's the picture quality unerwater? This is my first underwater digicam, I'll be using it only next year Feb2005 in pulau perhentian. Hope anyone here can give me tips on how to take good underwater pic using this device. Thanks in advance!

WP-CP2_Big.jpg

Hi pogiman,
Welcome to the club :D

Hi pogiman,

A big welcome from me too :) .

This is the same setup that my wife uses. The 5200 is a great camera and is very easy to use, but i feel that it tends to overexpose with the built-in flash, especially on close-up shots. I would recommend turning it down at least a half stop. Plus it is easier to correct if the image is underexposed than overexposed. Best if you adjust as you go along, which is the beauty of digital.

Other than that, the usual practices of underwater photography apply i.e. good buoyancy control, get as close to the subject as possible etc etc. A good resource to learn techniques is http://www.bsoup.org/.

Enjoy!

:thumbsup: Thanks for that great tips and url RSU, and hope to hear more inputs from coolpix5200 users.

hee hee, with all said, i would still say, go get a strobe ;)

pogiman said:
Anyone using this digicam and underwater casing (Nikon Coolpix5200/WP-CP2 Underwater casing)? How's the picture quality underwater? This is my first underwater digicam, I'll be using it only next year Feb2005 in pulau perhentian. Hope anyone here can give me tips on how to take good underwater pic using this device. Thanks in advance!

WP-CP2_Big.jpg

Hi pogiman,

I am using this camera without strobe & have taken some pixs recently in the Maldives.

Advice: Just point & shoot lah!!

Check out my gallery.

http://sg.homeunix.com/jovin/Maldives-Nov04

Mantas and whale sharks in one trip? Lucky u...

itchy said:
Mantas and whale sharks in one trip? Lucky u...

Maldives leh.... u think Hantu huh? :p

Goondoo said:
Maldives leh.... u think Hantu huh? :p
Ehh, don't say. Went to Maldives twice, not even one manta.

For Hantu, there are whalesharks and mantas on every dive, just cannot see them... :bsmilie:

BTW, very nice pics, wahlaoeh.

wahlaoeh said:
Hi pogiman,

I am using this camera without strobe & have taken some pixs recently in the Maldives.

Check out my gallery.

wa, long time no hear from you .. how come so few photos only? :)

i think it is ok to take photos without a strobe first, until you are really comfortable with handling camera underwater. even then our dear waisj bought his strobeSSSSS recently also ... after taking plenty of fantastic yet strobeless photos..

wahlaoeh: Malapuasca, Manado, Sangalaki, Maldives in half a year. you are one lucky diver!

So I presume it would be Puerto Galera, Similans, Raja Ampat for next year?

what else can we say, but WAH LAO EH! you should be itching to get a strobe real soon.

For people who ask if they should get a strobe to go digital with, what I can say is once u have tried once, u can never dive without one.

Oceanic Focus should have a special package for UWCS members for the Sunpak G-Flash. Make it cheap cheap. Photosmart, can pass the message to the boss since u know him so well? X'mas coming!

There is a better way to do this. Beivied or whoever here can do a MO with Oceanic Focus. In this way, he can still maintain his retail price for other 'lesser" beings.

Eric

kthan said:
Oceanic Focus should have a special package for UWCS members for the Sunpak G-Flash. Make it cheap cheap. Photosmart, can pass the message to the boss since u know him so well? X'mas coming!

good idea! can have a package for epoque with double tray or not? ;p

kthan said:
There is a better way to do this. Beivied or whoever here can do a MO with Oceanic Focus. In this way, he can still maintain his retail price for other 'lesser" beings.

"lesser" beings??? :sweat:

Eric[/QUOTE]

kthan said:

Eric

No problem with that..

In fact, OF is now having strobe package promotion on the Inon D-180 and D-180S.

http://www.oceanicfocus.com/page4.html for more details

Cheers for the X'Mas

Photosmart said:
No problem with that..

In fact, OF is now having strobe package promotion on the Inon D-180 and D-180S.

Cheers for the X'Mas

Wow! what a deal! how i wish i know the boss of OF!

dun think you can get that kind of price anywhere else!

wahlaoeh said:
Hi pogiman,

Check out my gallery.

Thanks for that sweet and simple advice wahlaoeh "Just point & shoot lah!!" .I'm very excited for my next trip in Perhentian, after checking out your amazing pics taken from 5200. ;)

Photosmart said:
No problem with that..

Cheers for the X'Mas

Beivied, u have the green light now....work with Oceanic Focus on the Sunpak G-flash, strobe arms, tray and cable for a cheap cheap price. Not many poeple willing to spend more on strobes.

Those who want the Inons can approach Oceanic Focus themselves.

UWCS X'mas special. Clubsnap motto.

Buy buy buy!

Eric

WhyZzzzzz said:
Wow! what a deal! how i wish i know the boss of OF!

dun think you can get that kind of price anywhere else!

this is sooooooooooooooooooooo fake.

but I still like your photo though

pogiman, just saw ur pics of bohol. beautiful resort! how's the diving there?