Nikkor Lens

can try the 50mm f1.4 or sigma 30mm f1.4, don't forget the 35mm f2 as well.
perhaps you would wanna loan a 50mm f1.8 to try out 1st, cheapest of all mentioned above.
if die die must get nikon, then go for the 35mm.

lol 85 1.4 very expensive leh. haha. only problem i see with the lense is at wide open on a bright day your gonna get purple fringing. and yes it does mean you gotta stand far away, depending on of course how much of the person u wanna take lar.

50 and 85 provide different perspectives really.

with regards to your question earlier on the ED element. both got ED what. if im not wrong ed gets your sharper and better colours.

oh i see, thanks for the info :-)

oh, forgot to mention, haha, scenery, nature, street
To clarify, good zoom lens can also give you good bokeh.

You should get a wide angle lens and a telephoto lens. Unfortunately, there is no 1 lens to cover both ranges.

Try 10-20/12-24/17-50/18-50 and 70-300 (VR or not, up to you)

the Vr would really helps if u are at 200-300mm range rite?

can try the 50mm f1.4 or sigma 30mm f1.4, don't forget the 35mm f2 as well.
perhaps you would wanna loan a 50mm f1.8 to try out 1st, cheapest of all mentioned above.
if die die must get nikon, then go for the 35mm.

hmm... on wat factor would u consider
50mm f1.4 vs 30mm f1.4 vs 35mm f2?

the Vr would really helps if u are at 200-300mm range rite?
VR won't help if it is your subject that is running around, causing blur.

All 3 are considered as fast lenses. It depends on your usage. 30 f1.4 is the widest of all, probably most useful for landscapes. But then again, in landscapes, big apertures are not really necessary. And 35 f2 is similar to 30 f1.4.
50 f1.4 is probably more useful for portraiture. It's fast and gives nice bokeh, but not wide.

U can get the 70-300 non vr if u are using tripod all the way.. else for range above 100mm yr hand going to shake like siao.. VR helps alot..

for prime.. see what u wanna shoot.. the 50mm f1.4 or 1.8 is already 75mm good for portrait.. but if u shoot in hdb flat good luck .. sometime i find my sigma 30mm f1.4 abit tight liaoz..

Mine suggesstion since u have 18-105vr.. get 70-300vr and sigma 30mm f1.4 or if u super low budget get 50mm f1.8 nikkor

Another suggestion is if u dun need the 300mm range.. go for a used set nikkor 80-200 f2.8 one touch version cost abt $700-800. $900 to 1.2k for 2 touch version...Definatly a superb lens.. and add a 1.4 or 2x tc to extend the range..:)

Hello mate!
I can't comment on the 50mm lens as that focal length is useless for me in general.

With regards to the 70-300s, I use and own the vr version, I'd say if you have the budget, get that. VR helps alot for static objects in lower light, but nothing beats shutter speed for capturing moments.

BTW, the 70-300's bokeh is all right for me, nothing spectacular. This is of course after I've loaned a 70-200VR... it really makes all my lenses look like crap when I shoot them wide open =)

Wahaha. Be poisoned for I'm poisoned too! :devil:

for street shots the 30mm is my 1st choice especially in dark occasions and dim social shots, follow by the 35mm.
50mm is more for portraits.

hmm.. i see most ppl here recommend nikkor?
what about its 3rd party equivalent?
hmm... i do not have much knowledge on 3rd party,
can anyone give some suggestion?
thanks

thanks

Well, for 3rd party, you can spend a lil more and get the f2.8 version.

Sigma 70-200 f2.8
Tamron 70-200 f2.8

As for the shorter lenses, I find that bokeh is not good unless you are shooting at 75mm or more with large apertures of f2.8. Or you're using the 50mm f1.8, f1.4 and shooting the subject closer to you and BG further away...

thanks
As this is nikon sub forum, naturally people recommend Nikkor, you may go to the 3rd party sub forum for more indepth review/info.

Me don't have much experience on 3rd party lenses, but hear and see pictures from Sigma/Tokina/Tamron are not bad for the price.
Just that you got to test a few times and few copies to determine is a sharp copy. Nikon mostly all are great! other then price... :)

okie thanks jnet6, i thought maybe this thread is for specific D90 user to consolidate their opinion of both nikkor and 3rd party lens

for nikon D90 user, the 70-300 VRII is ard 750++
is this is too expensive, which other similar lens do your recommend?

okie thanks jnet6, i thought maybe this thread is for specific D90 user to consolidate their opinion of both nikkor and 3rd party lens

for nikon D90 user, the 70-300 VRII is ard 750++
is this is too expensive, which other similar lens do your recommend?

For 3rd party 70-300mm non VR, u can try the Sigma's.

I have one, it cost me only $290 (grey set).

I bought Sigma because it is cheap and cheerful, the image quality is fine to me too.
I seldom use it because is too tele liao....not because it's no good.

For 3rd party 70-300mm non VR, u can try the Sigma's.

I have one, it cost me only $290 (grey set).

I bought Sigma because it is cheap and cheerful, the image quality is fine to me too.
I seldom use it because is too tele liao....not because it's no good.

yo, can u post a picture taken with the 70-300? ;)

Hi desertstrike,

The Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8 is a great lens. I bought this although it doesnt work AF with my D40x..... it's a great portrait lens although with an APSC sensor, I gotta stand a little further away. Darn fast when I put it onto my D70. Bokeh is alright for me but frankly, I aint too well educated on bokeh.

For the longer lens, I have the Nikkor AFS 70-300mm VR. This is one great lens ! I can do a little birding with this coupled together with a 1.4x teleconverter, but will mainly be in MF mode frankly losing 1 stop aperture. Otherwise, when I just want a reach in general, this is great. The VR makes it possible to have it handheld in day time conditions. Don't use too much of this lens at night, so I can't really comment.... I'd recommend this over the non-VR or 3rd party version. It's not that expensive at $800 ? I got it in HK for like just over $600 brand new.... if you have folks gg HK, perhaps you can try, but I read from CS forum hereabouts that the prices seems to have gone up to about SG levels since I bot it.....

You have an interesting post and I was reading the threads and was wondering whether you are in the same position as me. I shoot mainly scenery, building, archi, nature, streets, lesser portraits etc..... and just to share my setup with you..... I have the following :-

1. Nik 18-135mm to cover the main working range....
2. Nik 70-300mm VR to cover long zoom affordably... ahhaa....
3. Nik 50mm f/1.8 to cover portrait and have a bright fixed mid distance prime affordably ! ;P
4. Sigma 150mm Macro to cover close ups and macros
5. Tok 11-16mm Ultra Wide Angle to cover well, UWA... haha....

The entire set of lenses cost me about $2600.... if you are interested, I can PM u the details of where I got them, but some are not repeatable..... ha.....

Anyways, just sharing my thoughts and hope it's helpful to you !

Cheerios !