Newbie with a Canon 60D body. Is EF-S18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS e perfect lens to start?

avsquare said:
hahaha! ok.. what you need to do is:

1) Lure her to a "Ion Orchard" shopping mall in France
2) Find a toilet near some luxury goods shop
3) Tell her you need to lao sai, please wait for a while outside toilet
4) Go in toilet but monitor your fiancee
5) Take out your DSLR with a telephoto and snap at her when she drool over the luxury goods

Mission accomplished :bsmilie:

And... sleep on the floor/sofa for the following week :bsmilie:

Hahaha. Fiancée saw ya post again! She wants to reiterate that she is no branded brand girl. Haha.

Phew..... One LV bag is more expensive than my canon 60d plus e 15-85mm lens. Lol

rhema83 said:
LV is much cheaper in France than in Singapore. If you're going to buy LV, buy there!

The Ion of France is the famous Lafayette Galleria in Paris. You can't miss it. I'm also going there in May for vacation.

Oh rhema83. Nice! I'm going there 28/04 till 22/05. Maybe we can take e eiffel tower together and u can give me tips on shooting! Lol

Will definitely go shop at these expensive boutiques ba. But only buy if it's like damn worth it. Woohoo

I just got a 15-85mm, this is my fifth lens and it is best suited for me so far. Had 18-200mm before and sold off

Hahaha. Fiancée saw ya post again! She wants to reiterate that she is no branded brand girl. Haha.

Phew..... One LV bag is more expensive than my canon 60d plus e 15-85mm lens. Lol

THAT is actually nice and good news for you! ;)

mindfulness said:
I just got a 15-85mm, this is my fifth lens and it is best suited for me so far. Had 18-200mm before and sold off

Feel so encouraged! Chiong ah. Happy snapping man!

Don't forget, honeymoon is about the experience with you loved one. Don't bother so much about taking pictures. You take pictures with your own eyes and record them into your own memory. Some more it is selective: all the unimpressive stuff gets automatically forgotten after some time, leaving only the best and most beautiful ones to last a lifetime.

Right now a part of me is telling me to just bring my S95 to Europe and leave the 60D (or E-M5) at home. Any wise men out there agree with my wild thought?

Don't forget, honeymoon is about the experience with you loved one. Don't bother so much about taking pictures. You take pictures with your own eyes and record them into your own memory. Some more it is selective: all the unimpressive stuff gets automatically forgotten after some time, leaving only the best and most beautiful ones to last a lifetime.

Right now a part of me is telling me to just bring my S95 to Europe and leave the 60D (or E-M5) at home. Any wise men out there agree with my wild thought?

although it is indeed through about the "recording into memory" part.. but sometimes we may not be able to recall things that happened years ago.. and thus there are photographs to remind you. A well taken photograph is sure to evoke vivid memories.. especially the sweet ones :)

Buy a decent glass, smack it to the 60D, set it to the advance model "A" or professional "P" mode, then just shoot without worrying. Come back to Sg then PP. Shoot in raw for better PP.

Try to get an extra battery and some extra memory card for the trip. It is very annoying to be out of battery or memory space in the middle of the trip. Small laptop for backup at night when back to the hotel.

avsquare said:
although it is indeed through about the "recording into memory" part.. but sometimes we may not be able to recall things that happened years ago.. and thus there are photographs to remind you. A well taken photograph is sure to evoke vivid memories.. especially the sweet ones :)

I agree on both thoughts actually. Will take just sufficient photos I guess? Well, quite hype out by e thought that I can take e Eiffel tower new my new equipments. Yeah.

Just thought to update you guys. I finally bought two lens and transacted today. Collected both e 15-85mm and 50mm f/1.8 at yishun and hougang respectively!

Tried out both e lens at the train station, e swimming pool downstairs, e buildings and I must say I'm damn impressed!! Shiok sia. Different class from my prev Sony dslr. PUI. Haha.

Once again thank u peeps for all ya help in assisting me to decide on both e lens within 3 days? Truly appreciated!

P.s. I briefly check both e lenses cause I'm a noob but Both e sellers were helpful. :))

JohnJon82 said:
Buy a decent glass, smack it to the 60D, set it to the advance model "A" or professional "P" mode, then just shoot without worrying. Come back to Sg then PP. Shoot in raw for better PP.

Try to get an extra battery and some extra memory card for the trip. It is very annoying to be out of battery or memory space in the middle of the trip. Small laptop for backup at night when back to the hotel.

Hey John. I bought a second hand Third party BG and also a third party batt Liao! My fiancée was asking why u buy something to put extra weight to the camera. I was speechless cause I Thot I could have just carry e extra batt anywhere I go. Lol.

And yeah, I'm most likely going to shoot using A or P mode man. Haha. Just figured out how to take video with e 60d. :0

U make the right choice!
Trust me, u are going to use the widest 15mm/24mm very often.
Wide enough to take self-protrait with your partners.
Do buy more batteries and dont forget
Big capacity class 10 or faster memory card. Enjoy your holiday.
The last time I am there was with a film camera ... 36 per roll ...

Once again thank u peeps for all ya help in assisting me to decide on both e lens within 3 days? Truly appreciated!

P.s. I briefly check both e lenses cause I'm a noob but Both e sellers were helpful. :))[/QUOTE]

Ya, don't forget a photographer best friend, a flash.
Get a cheap and light 270ex2 with a $10 diffuser.
U are done.

ahboy168 said:
Ya, don't forget a photographer best friend, a flash.
Get a cheap and light 270ex2 with a $10 diffuser.
U are done.

Oh. Do I really need a flash? E built-in flash will not be good enough? Shld I go for 430ex instead at 330? How much is 270ex2 anyway? Maybe I also know what is a diffuser used for? Lol

If you dunno how to diffuse the light (and I mean properly), then an external flash have no difference from the built in one.

Hey John. I bought a second hand Third party BG and also a third party batt Liao! My fiancée was asking why u buy something to put extra weight to the camera. I was speechless cause I Thot I could have just carry e extra batt anywhere I go. Lol.

And yeah, I'm most likely going to shoot using A or P mode man. Haha. Just figured out how to take video with e 60d. :0

TS, the 60D you just bought is just tip of the ice berg. Various lens, battery grip, flash, flash diffuser, lens hood, various type of filter, tripod, ballhead and plate, shutter release, cleaning kit, new camera bag etc etc, more to come.

Ya the BG make the camera more bulky, but you can shoot portrait position without the weird hand position over your head.

Enjoy your new lens, go out and shoooooot!

buso1984 said:

You bought a BG to bring on a vacation? People are talking about downsizing to m4/3 for traveling and you did the exact opposite. I'm quite surprised. Do you take vertical shots often enough to justify the extra bulk? If you need more juice you can always just buy a spare battery.

Forget the flash. If you are new to DSLR, learn the fundamentals well first before getting into all these expensive add on accessories. Your 60D already has a built in flash for desperate times.

Bought the BG together with a third party batt at a cheap priCe. Definitely not bringing the BG to Europe. Just Thot it might come in handy.

Yeah man. Realised that I have a free gift flash with built in diffuser. Trying to figure out how it works though. It came with my purchase of 60d at the IT fair on sun.

Anyone knows where I can get cleaning kit, cloth and so on at cheaper price? Or even lens screen protector? Many more to buy before e trip!!

buso1984 said:
Bought the BG together with a third party batt at a cheap priCe. Definitely not bringing the BG to Europe. Just Thot it might come in handy.

I went on my honeymoon in Spain for 20+days (14days guided) n was glad tat I hv my BG with me. The 6nos. AA eneloop in BG lasted me 3-4 days b4 need recharge.( I kept the cam on since morning n only off in the nite) And the original was kept as spares. "lo batt" was nvr on my mind as I fired away ;p price to pay? Freaking heavy load...

Bring if u tk u might need it rather than complain later when smething arises

Buy one thing at a time, only when you are sure you need it and not because other people say you need it means you must have it.

E.g. people always say must buy UV filter, but I just don't need it on my lenses. Soon ppl might suggest things like polarising filter, ND-filter blah blah .... are you going to buy all without knowing what you are going to do exactly with them?

Some fundamental things you should have:
1) at least 1 spare batt
2) cleaning kit usually consists of a brush and cloth, blower is optional
3) spare memory cards since you might shoot a lot throughout your trip.
4) Charger
5) some kind of weather protection in case rain (zip lock bag).

Others are pretty much good to have but I see it as a bonus.