new firmware v2.004 for the M8 and M8.2 on March 3rd

Wow. The discreet mode for free, no need to pay a few hundred euros. I feel like crying.

That's the only functional feature I thot is good in the M8.2- I cried already; now grinning:lovegrin:

the bad thing is i think need to use a normal SD card to update. SDHC does not work.

Hmm... I updated using a SDHC card.. interested.

The white balance is improved :thumbsup:

Hmm... I updated using a SDHC card.. interested.

The white balance is improved :thumbsup:

any "side-effects" from the update so far?
like hangs and crashes??

That's the only functional feature I thot is good in the M8.2- I cried already; now grinning:lovegrin:

If I know that Leica is putting it on the M8 earlier, no need to buy the M8.2 liao.

Doesn't help too much leh,,, the first shutter release noise is FAR louder than the wind-on sound. So you now get "KLUNK... (gap) ...whisper" The KLUNK-part still darn loud (粗 is the word). M8.2 should be much quieter I imagine.

YOL

i think that the m8.2 shutter would still be more quiet than the m8 (with the discrete mode on), as the shutter units are different, justifying the loss of the 1/8000 sec on the m8.2.

but i suppose we would only know for sure once the firmware is out and some CSers get together to test it out.

Doesn't help too much leh,,, the first shutter release noise is FAR louder than the wind-on sound. So you now get "KLUNK... (gap) ...whisper" The KLUNK-part still darn loud (粗 is the word). M8.2 should be much quieter I imagine.

YOL

Loke, don't regret, don't regret! YOL is right. The first sound is much louder so I think not much different. I switched back to standard mode. But WB improved:)

wow , the new auto white balance is working really well for me.. so much more dependable!:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: i am so touched that i wanna cry :sweatsm:

life with the M8 is finally not like 'a box of chocolates'.. (you never know what you get with the old white balance)..

life is finally chocolate sweet! :lovegrin:

Leica is making lots of grown men cry.

thanks guys. u all made my day, WB bettter now..
anyone has problems with the sensors???

like lines in the pics???

yes, but my lines on the sensor had nothing to do with the firmware. my m8 has already been sent in for 2 months still waiting for it to come back.

I must agree the Auto White Balance is much better now. :)

two months !!!

i just send in mine... was one line and now two line.. sian, back to film again.

Now, I just noticed that my M8 is not the odd case with verticle line problem!!

This problem only happen about 4 months ago and I have owned the M8 for more than 2 years - no more warranty :( I have not done any sensro cleaning mysef except tow times by Schmidt Singapore.

When it first appeared, I thought this vertical line problem may be due to lense. I tried many lenses with different focal lenght - this vertical line problem is till occured in the exact location. Likely that it is sensor problem. BTW, just upgrade the firmware to 2.004 and the line is still there.

Still undecided if I should send it to Schmidt for servicing as my M8 is longer under warranty.

Jusst curious how many M8s are having this line problem in sensor.

regards,

if so many of us have this problem.. its the kodak sensor that has problems, should bring in and they should fix this foc i feel.