[Need to vent] Some appalling standard of wedding photographers...

Ehh...if its 6.5k with pretty nicely customised MTM gowns, pre-wedding pix then it ain't very expensive with the PG incld. Coz I am not sure if anybody charges in the way like 2.5k for tea ceremony, 4k for dinner.
maybe hear wrongly liao, 2.5k for tea dress, 4k for dinner gown........ lol

is she really charging 6.5k, still have to take table shots, isn't it a waste?

something is wrong somewhere....... :think:

Well...from what I understood earlier, my friend was charged $4K for the dinner package and $2.5K for tea ceremony. There was no coffee table prints either except to create powerpoint montage during the dinner and photos was provided by the couple. :what:

wow, can u intro me to Mr and Mrs Carrot head? Would love to meet them professionally...
come on la...come here with a dubious story. At least make sure it sound decent.

How u know she was out for fresh air when popping champagne? How u know she didn't capture the the march in ?? Maybe tat's why she's paid so much ...NINJA photographer...u dun see her, SO CONFIRM + CHOP photojournalistic.

How u know she was out for fresh air when popping champagne?
Actually, don't doubt the guests when they say "the guy was outside having fresh air when popping champagne". Coz once I was at Chijmes and we were going to have the march-in, the VG really was at the roadside having a fag. Did not have his phone number and the brothers literally had to fan out and searched the whole compound, finally found him at the roadside beside the main gate which is just metres away from the main door you see. :bsmilie:

Like I always said, anything can happen. Even the funniest things which you cannot imagine happening. That's murphy's law.

Spoil the market?
Look at it this way... if she is really so "bad" as what you describe and still command $6.5K, then many photographers can easily justify for charging $10K.... isn't that good? :bsmilie:

I agree totally! :thumbsup:

Hor say liao.....moved from Photo Biz to Kopitiam.

Maybe...maybe the real PG is the true ninja photog, you never see him one. The girl is probably just a relative learning to shoot the wedding, the pro is never seen :bsmilie:

i say...before you jump to any conclusion of the photog, ask your friend to show you the end result. i am sure many of us will be curious too.

I think that sounds right LOL

Then again, maybe uncle Hotwork's friend exaggerating? You know, the usual coffeeshop casual talk, anything also can.

i think should be the couple friend invited to take snapshots.

with an 18-135 in typical ballroom, should either be firing flash every shot or must be a master in removing high iso noise.

anyway, as long the couple dont make noise...take it easy. the only way to know for sure is to ask them.

Unless either the vendor or the client is in the thread.. there seems a lot of missing pieces with regards to the dealings between the couple and the PG. There maybe reason that outsiders are not aware of?

Anyway, once I covered a wedding dinner for my friend, technically FOC ($50 red packet), I also make sure I'm around at all the critical moments, plus all the table shots that the couple wanted. Whether paid or not paid, there have to be certain level of commitment once a person agrees to the job.

maybe is $2.50 for the tea ceremony and $4 for the dinner......

wow, $6.50 still need to take table shots.....really spoil market.

Well...from what I understood earlier, my friend was charged $4K for the dinner package and $2.5K for tea ceremony. There was no coffee table prints either except to create powerpoint montage during the dinner and photos was provided by the couple. :what:

seriously i don think any photographer will quote in this manner

:bigeyes: .... now market so good. I still charge around $1k. :(

Time for me to increase the price. :bsmilie:

Yesterday I was at my friend's wedding. The official photographer was a youngish girl. :think:Hmm...I thought...that's a good change. She was deck out in a Nikon D90 with battery grip and a standard 18-105 VR kit lens. Interesting again...or so I thought. I was curious...no helper? No second photographer? Hmm...that's also new or am I behind time after all I'm 89.

Along the way...she missed a lot of opportunity shots when the couple strolled in. (Where was she?) When the couple popped the champagne, she was out for "fresh air". When the traditional "Yum Seng" was in progress, she took only a few shots from the middle of the hall. (Huh??? Need to go so far?)

Again when the traditional photo op at every table was done so slowly that most of the guest said their byes before the process completed as the couple was rushed to the door to thank the leaving guests.

Most of us at the table were left wondering whether it was a new concept or a very inept wedding photographer?

What do you think?

If I were invited as a guest in the wedding dinner, I would concentrate on makan and drinking and merry making.

I wouldn't pay any attention to the wedding photographer shooting. :bsmilie:

If I were invited as a guest in the wedding dinner, I would concentrate on makan and drinking and merry making.

Maybe because the photographer is a youngish girl.:bsmilie::devil:

Anyway....

I think TS should really start this thread after seeing the images from your friends and ask them really what happen.

There is no point speculating based on personal opinion.

What you see don't always translate to what is the real life....

I won't jump into conclusion to be honest....

Hart

Problem is I'm an avid photographer myself and I have great admiration for wedding photographers.

The groom also happens to be my distant cousin's grandson (My old friend turns out to be my family's long lost relative when we traced our roots not too long ago-just to make a long story short) . BTW I 89 in case you're wondering.

Now the latest just in:
The photographer was hired by the wedding planner for tea ceremony but not dinner. But on the eve of wedding, couple decided to have the photographer's service to complement the videographer. The photographer declined the dinner job as he was committed to other projects and hence recommended another stand-in photographer. That's why there was a separate price.

I'm standing on the turf of "customer" and wonder why pay so much to get so little. We (relatives) were asking what happened? But I guess what's done is done.

Anyway....

I think TS should really start this thread after seeing the images from your friends and ask them really what happen.

There is no point speculating based on personal opinion.

What you see don't always translate to what is the real life....

I won't jump into conclusion to be honest....

Hart

Actually, the comment came from the wedding planner and he apologised profusely for the quality of work when he reviewed the shots midway. I can't do anything as I'm a guest and my job is to eat and give Hong Baos. In my mind I told myself that if I had a hand in it, I would have got you guys but who am I to be meddlesome. :(

I think HW maybe can enlighten us some more, you mention that 4k for dinner, 2.5k for tea ceremony, so it this case the standby photographer is charging more than the main photographer? and the price given is what the photographer charged? does it include the videography package as well?