Need advise for D40

Can someone post a pic taken by the Tamron 17-50, please?

But the Tamron 17-50 won't AF with the D40 =/

So better don't pose, wait u tempted, buy, then find out you have to MF then cry then sell at BnS then.... we all benefit =)

Muhahaha

So better don't pose, wait u tempted, buy, then find out you have to MF then cry then sell at BnS then.... we all benefit =)

Muhahaha

MF is ok,I've MF on my 50 f1.8 for 90% of my 800 shots during a recent trip, hehe

It's different for a zoom lens that's not really designed for MF, furthermore during any event of any sort. During travel, it's alright, provided you're shooting group photos, scenery or still life. Anything else such as a stage show will be quite a headache (wrist ache too, I'm sure).

no lah, no stage show for me...is the 17-50 compatible like the Nikon 50mm?

asking because the 17-55 is way to ex for me at least...

no lah, no stage show for me...is the 17-50 compatible like the Nikon 50mm?

asking because the 17-55 is way to ex for me at least...

What do you mean compatible? If you mean "does it have a Nikon mount?" then the answer is yes.

i meant all functions supported accept AF?

Now Nikon has you trapped in their AF-S only doctrine. Haha. The only other way out is through HSM. Notice there's no standard zoom HSM lenses? I bet Nikon noticed too. ;)

Standard zoom? u mean the 17-50 range?

Aiya, thats why thinking of upgrading to D80 (sell D40).

But if i spend a few hundred $ more for a body, might as well a good lens...its not easy to decide...have been drawing up pros and cons table recently....haha

Precisely what Nikon wants you to do! After you realise you can't AF on normal AF lenses, you

1) buy the pricey AF-S lenses
2) upgrade your body

Either way, Nikon wins.

haha.... get some lens first... play around with it... then upgrade the body lor... upgrade to a body with can provide AF and MF... so got wider variety of lens

Nikon very successful... sell D40, get people hooked, so they will upgrade body to accomodate non AF-S/AF-I lenses.. :thumbsup: This is something which Canon is not able to do because all their lenses already have integral motor... hahaha.. ;p

I'm one of those that fall for this type =/

Bought D40 then sell and buy D80

I'm one of those that fall for this type =/

Bought D40 then sell and buy D80

Think of buying D40,but after all you guyz comments seem like not so good.I
am a newbie by e way what is AF and MF,is in important for photography.Any recommandation please,is D80 ok:thumbsup: ?To me e good thing D40 is it is lighter easy
to move around with.

Nikon very successful... sell D40, get people hooked, so they will upgrade body to accomodate non AF-S/AF-I lenses.. :thumbsup: This is something which Canon is not able to do because all their lenses already have integral motor... hahaha.. ;p

You mean D40 only can upgrade to certain kind of lens ?

seriously skip the 17-50... You don wanna fiddle around with a zoom and a focus ring at the same time... :cool:

Muhahaha

btw, the 17-50mm got a 92% review in Amateur Photographer:thumbsup:

17-50? no shiok le... get 18-200.. hahahaha... and 70-300...