need 2nd opinon on lens

First of all, background blur doesn't just come from big apertures. The subject to camera distance plays a part. 18-200 can still achieve decent blur if you shoot at longer focal length say 150mm onwards. For landscape at wider end, normally we will stop down the aperture so having a variable aperture or not is not that crucial here.

So I am saying is you have to see if you got the skills to work around the "weakness" of 18-200 before jumping to 24-105.

I might consider 3rd party lens such as tamron 17-50 f2.8 non vc + sigma 50-150 f2.8 and if you can get good 2nd hand deals they might cost ard the same as 24-105 new.

Otherwise consider a prime lens to go with 18-200.

i probably want to have a better bokeh for my pics if i were to get the F4 lens..

the 10-22 will probably more for landscape shots as i travel quite a bit..

Personally if I were you I would go for a 10-22 + 18-200IS + 50F1.8 setup.

If I am using a crop for my non-commissioned travels, I would just bring the above combination (only that I uses Sigma 12-24 instead coz it can be interchange with my other bodies).

I havent really read the post from most of u here but according to the topic this is my suggestion....

I have a Sigma 18-200 and it works fantastically for me when it comes to streets and walkabouts!!!! So ya it covers ALMOST anything!!
I also have a Canon 10-22, and u know what? Whatever the 18-200 cant do, this UWA lens will do it for u! so i always carry these 2 lens to compliment each others flaws! I never regret buying these 2 lens!! Worth it!! i am using cropped 550D btw.

Personally if I were you I would go for a 10-22 + 18-200IS + 50F1.8 setup.

If I am using a crop for my non-commissioned travels, I would just bring the above combination (only that I uses Sigma 12-24 instead coz it can be interchange with my other bodies).

this is what i am having!

i probably want to have a better bokeh for my pics if i were to get the F4 lens..

You mean more background blur? You will get more blur shooting the 18-200 at 200mm f/5.6 than at 105 f/4, because focal length affects background blur as well. Of course, you'll also need to stand far far away...

Assuming you shoot both at 105mm, I think the 18-200 has a max aperture of f/5.6 at that range? Not much of a difference to f/4 in terms of background blur, really. You should get a nice 50mm f/1.8 instead.

So if I sum up your needs, it would be:
- Fixed, big apperture (say f4 and bigger?)
- Better bokeh (I assume more background blur? Because there's a difference between the blur quality & blur amount)
- There's a slight need for wide angle lenses.
- And you don't really need tele zooms, do you?

If I have to choose from those 2 lenses you mentioned, i'd go with 24-105 f4 L.. Other than those, I'd suggest a 24-70mm f2.8? (Not really wide, but bigger apperture. May suits your need)

Then again, like what all sifu here would suggest, go to rental shops to try those lenses yourself.

Good luck =)

Yes more background blur...

you are rite not that very wide as i am on crop sensor..if it is full frame different story..thanks for the views.. will probably rent some lens and then do some more homework again!

thanks mate

2 ways to go about it:

1) get the 10-22 and add-on to your 18-200, 8mm more on the wide end, may seem little but it extends into the ultra-wide arena and actually is A LOT.

2) get the 15-85 and sell your 18-200, you get wide to short tele, anymore further you have to look at adding on longer telezooms.

as for the 24-70L/24-105L, like i always say, leave it to the full-frame users.

Yes this seem quite sound advice.. will rent out these lenses..

hmm, may not be to everyone's liking but i'll share one from my canon 10-22:

IMG_3323-HDR-.JPG

just to give you an idea, what a UWA lens can do.

this picture will not be possible with normal 17/18mm lenses.

this is nice!! Awesome!

Who cares whether your friends laugh? What do they know anyway?
They are not you.
Don't do things to please others. Listen to the lyrics of this famous Ricky Nelson song.
"But it's all right now, I learned my lesson well. You see, you can't please everyone, so you got to please yourself."

[video=youtube;Z6S9dCGwB8M]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6S9dCGwB8M[/video]

The lens is not redundant if you like it and you are happy with it. As they say in Hokkien, Ler Hua Hee Jiu Ho.
In this forum there are members who have 50+ lenses.
So why are you worrying about adding 1 more lens giving a total of 2 lenses?

Hahaha very correct and spot on ur comment!

i think what you really need here as a compliment to your 18-200, is a zoom lens that has f/2.8. your current 18-200 is a low performer in dark conditions / indoors. with f/2.8, the problem is solved. your 18-200 is very good as a travel lens as it covers almost every focal length. try out 24-70 or 17-55... i tink you will grow to appreciate the large aperture!

Yes you are rite.. i need another lens to compliment my current lens!

You mean more background blur? You will get more blur shooting the 18-200 at 200mm f/5.6 than at 105 f/4, because focal length affects background blur as well. Of course, you'll also need to stand far far away...

Assuming you shoot both at 105mm, I think the 18-200 has a max aperture of f/5.6 at that range? Not much of a difference to f/4 in terms of background blur, really. You should get a nice 50mm f/1.8 instead.

Thanks for the head up!! will put that into consideration.. Yes it is true F4 and F5.6 is not much of a difference..

Thanks for all the feedback, reply and views.. truly appreciate it...

Will consider the option given... will rent out 10-22, 15-85 and 17-55 lens!

Wish me luck and hope i can give some good picture for you guys to see in return!

Sorry mate.. I think I read your first post a bit wrongly. I thought you only want to REPLACE your lens - that's why I said go with the 24-70 or 24-105L :p

But if you want to ADD more lens, then I agree with most of the suggestions, get a wide angle like 10-22 or 11-16, it will complement your set nicely since you already have the 18-200 :)

Yes, you should get a ultra wide angle lens as mention by silentseth.
I would suggest the Tokina 11-16 F2.8. Everyone should have at least one fast lens.
This is just my 2cents thinking.

UP! for the EF-S 10-22mm! it's a good lens, using it together with my 18-200 too :)

Hi all

i need some comment on a few stuff

i am having a 18-200 lens..

i was thinking of changing or having another spare lens

I narrow down to 10-22 and a 24-105. But i when i share these with my frens they laugh and say my 18-200 has the full coverage...i explain is the 24-105 is a F4 but they claimed otherwise.

i shoot almost anything cept marco...

so if i were to buy these lens will be a redundant?

This lens is good in complimenting your 18-200mm. I used this recently for my trip to Yunnan,China. There was this big restaurant which host import political guest and we had dinner there. In the middle , there was this very big round table and most of other tour member with dslr (kit lens focal range ) had to take at least 5-6 steps away to capture the whole table shot while i can capture it by standing right in front.

However, before this trip, i done some research on ultrawide lens. Well aware that ultrawide isn't about just squeezing everything in. Those object near to you becomes bigger while those further away become much smaller. It just gives an different view. For traveling purpose, i find that while it is good for architecture capture , landscape ( certain landscape with clear blue sky and nice grounding), it is abit short on tele. 22mm is still wide and i wish could zoom some more. Certain landscape are so far that going down below the 15 mm dun give a clear view or rather too small liao. Ths best would be you are right in the middle of the landscape. Until last few days of travel, got so tired of changing lens that i use my s95 instead of carrying slr. Overall, it is a good lense to add to your range of lense.

However, i thought that perhaps ( on hindsight) , i could just just a wide prime since it is good for certain situation. Use zoom for mid & tele instead. Any one will good advice to give on this ? tks

I'm not sure why, but I enjoy using my 10-22 as a walk around lens, probably because i love to go close to my subject =X

here's a shot i took at USS during the halloween horror nights

6292740584_fcaf300f08.jpg

hi ts, i was in the same situation as u back when when i was thinking whether to get a second lens!

yes indeed the 18-200 is doing well in the range it covers (wide to tele)

however, if u would love to shoot landscapes like me, i would recommend a UWA like the toki 11-16 or the cheaper sigma 10-20 :D

im sure u realise the IQ of 18200 still lacks somewhat here and there + the range at the wider end is a lil limited! :D

plus ultimately, it depends on needs/wants, from wad i see, that ur options of a 2nd lens is 2 completely different types!

a standard f4 zoom compared with a UWA! well!

c what u need to shoot! plus, u MUST take apple to compare with apple, while not apple to compare with an orange!

jus my 2cents :P