My Round the World Trip

I think for long term travelling photographers, this is a biggest issue of all. I have contemplated ways and decided to get a HDD with screen. Bought a local manufacture brand from Sim Lim Sq that has a 160GB storage with direct card reader without a computer. This is raelly a great option because internet speed is a problem with using online library especially with the amount of photos and the size of each picture.
Example in Zimbabwe, the network is so bad, in one hour hour+, I managed to upload 2 pages - one is yahoo webage, the 2nd is to my email page which I can see who wrote to me and that's all.. couldnt even read a single email ior reply anything in that one hour, much less about uploading pics,, can forget it or I will be in the internet cafe for weeks and contribute all my travelling expense to them:devil:

Also , at times, I will be in some remote areas wher I dont get access to internet for days.. by then my memory card might be full or I would have change destinations and have to sort out photos later.

Bringing laptop is another option but a few days ago, I received an email from a Singaproean whom I met in Guatemala and she is still on the road (after 18 months) and her laptop was stolen in the dormitory of Argentina.. it is too stressful to have a laptop while travelling as dormitories are also thieves infested (including fellow travellers, be aware of this) and then also the weight issue.
It was my own fault.. Initially, I backup into CD for the first 5 months or so and thereafter, I became complacent because nothing happened to me. I recall telling myself and some fellow dormitory mates while in Argentina that I'll back up soon as I am arriving in Colombia and I am a little concen about safety issues there... NATO ... and then the S**T hit me faster than expected - In Santiago, Chile

Only can blame myself..

Thanks for sharing. Internet access and speed is indeed an issue for remote locations and even hostels in cities. I guess there is no fool proof way. I bought a netbook for storage and for keeping maps and digital guides. But like what you mentioned, if it is stolen, it doesn't matter what. Everything is gone. Maybe need to rethink strategy. Probably require remote support systems whereby one send memory cards/thumbdrives of photos via post on a monthly basis home. And have them send the emptied cards/thumbdrives to the place you are going to stay way in advanced.

Let's assume each photo is 12MP. 50 photos a day x 30 days would be 1500 photos per month. So every month you need 18GB of storage. So you need maybe 3-4 of those 32GB cards/thumbdrives when you depart....hmm more added costs. Burning to DVD is an inexpensive way but you will still need a PC to do it.

BTW, you bought an 18-200mm lens. Is there anything you find limiting when taking landscape, architectures and people? If you are to do this trip again, what will you want to bring?

A HDD is a temporarily method and once get to a more developed region then back up to a CD in the internet cafe. I slacked on this because time is required for the backing up and I was lazy.bearing in mind that weight is a BIG concern of mine and I knew for sure that I wanted to bring only ONE lens -the 18-200mm is really a great one-for-all travelling lens. It zooms in for my safaris and antarctica (of course a 300mm will be even better but not complaining ) and day to day usage is more than sufficient. Only limited situations - gorgoeus wide landscapes in Patagonia, Antarctica and huge structures like Sagrada Familia, Alhambra, Alcazar (mostly in europe) that I wish for a Ultra Wide angle lens.

One thing I would change... a good camera and lens that performs well in low light situations. If there is such a thing (or is there already?) like a 18-200mm f2.8/2.4/2.0 then I would gladly pay the money for it. I had soooooooooooooooooooo many low light/interior situations that I usually end up not taking any photos (Inside a church, inside a home, dark alleys,dusk, souks (usually dark in the shelter unlike the asian markets)
As for the contents in my backpack, there is nothing much to change. Your life is in a bag so the daily used items is a must- keep in mind that there nothing you cant buy on the road except for that which caters to the female needs.. so just keep the backpack as light as possible.. if you hear some of the situations I were in, you will know why weight is such a major concern of mine.. sinking into very muddy african roads with your body weight + 25kg of bag weight wearing flip flops is one of those examples.:devil:

A HDD is a temporarily method and once get to a more developed region then back up to a CD in the internet cafe. I slacked on this because time is required for the backing up and I was lazy.bearing in mind that weight is a BIG concern of mine and I knew for sure that I wanted to bring only ONE lens -the 18-200mm is really a great one-for-all travelling lens. It zooms in for my safaris and antarctica (of course a 300mm will be even better but not complaining ) and day to day usage is more than sufficient. Only limited situations - gorgoeus wide landscapes in Patagonia, Antarctica and huge structures like Sagrada Familia, Alhambra, Alcazar (mostly in europe) that I wish for a Ultra Wide angle lens.

One thing I would change... a good camera and lens that performs well in low light situations. If there is such a thing (or is there already?) like a 18-200mm f2.8/2.4/2.0 then I would gladly pay the money for it. I had soooooooooooooooooooo many low light/interior situations
that I usually end up not takin any photos (Inside a church, inside a home, dark alleys, dusk, souks (usually dark in the shelter unlike the asian markets)
As for the contents in my backpack, there is nothing much to change. Your life is in a bag so the daily used items is a must- keep in mind that there nothing you cant buy on the road
except for that caters to the female needs.. so just keep the backpack as light as possible.. if
you hear some of the situations I were in, you will know why weight is such a major concern
of mine.. sinking into very muddy african roads with your body weight + 25kg of bag weight wearing flip flops is one of those examples.:devil:

A good camera that performs well in lowlight, hmm. I will like to say...Cannnn....5.....D.....Mk......II. But better stop before starting a flame war. :) Ok noted on the lenses requirements. I thought so too. Maybe planning a photography trip needs to segregate the locations, eg Europe will need UWA, for Africa will be a tele lens. Mixed both and you will be carrying a lot of weight. For interiors, whether to carry a heavier wide aperture lens or a lighter lens with tripod. It is really about compromising. Decisions, decisions. decisions. If you are going to a handful of countries, you can prioritize which lens to bring but in your case, the all-in-one zoom is probably the best option.

Wow...lost 8 months worth of photos and many lowlight shooting situations. You need to do this trip all over again man :)

If I am stuck in the mud with 25kg wearing flip flops. I will just sink and stay buried till a landrover hooked me out of it. 25kg backpack...I wonder how you managed. 15kg for me is a lot already.

If there is such a thing (or is there already?) like a 18-200mm f2.8/2.4/2.0 then I would gladly pay the money for it. I had soooooooooooooooooooo many low light/interior situations

i think versatility, aperture and weight - u can have only two of them, if not only one. if u are solely after tele and big aperture, nikkor AF-D 180mm f/2 is about 800gm, much lighter than the other large aperture tele lens abt 1.3kg (mine is 80-200mm f/2.8). this f/2 lens is good for being lighter and sharp, probably good for animals (often centred) that u crop later, but no good as its limited focal length means it is hard to compose for scenaries (unless u learn to see the frame as per rangefinder). it cost about the same as the other tele, abt 1k plus.

but since u need versatility. u have to stick to 18-200mm. tele in low light is tough takes, so even the pros cannot take an easy way out.

i might consider 50mm f/1.8 as a good light lens for low light take (indoor), but it is not for animals in low light outdoor.

i think another way is to keep light is netbook and cable at 1.2kg, with one otg hdd and one separate hdd. this allow u light weight, double backup, and ability to backup if you can't bring out a netbook. alternatively, u can still do without the network, and bring two or even three hdd (they are not heavy), if u think u can find computers on the go. if u put two location, this reduces u the loss against theft and device failure. too bad, ipad is super slow, needs jailbreak and cannot power up a hdd. ipad can have up to 64GB. thumbdrives and sd can be supported when u jailbreak - and still super slow.

A good camera that performs well in lowlight, hmm. I will like to say...Cannnn....5.....D.....Mk......II. But better stop before starting a flame war.
Wow...lost 8 months worth of photos and many lowlight shooting situations. You need to do this trip all over again man :)

If I am stuck in the mud with 25kg wearing flip flops. I will just sink and stay buried till a landrover hooked me out of it. 25kg backpack...I wonder how you managed. 15kg for me is a lot already.

Think you are itching for a war!!:nono:
I'll admit the thought to travel the world a 2nd time round has crossed my mind but i will not push it. I am at a comfortable zone now so if the opportunity arise, i will take it! Maybe I will be a better photgrapher by then!

The other time when i wish my bag is much much lighter was when i had to run for a train and fight with the africans to get on in maritania.
It is the longest ore train in the world.. yes, the longest but there are only 2 carriages for passengers and it runs like twice a week so many locals will be waiting for this train to take them between cities. It cuts through the sahara desert.. quite an amazing ride.

so, the train came, me and an italian couple were running towards the carriage entrance. Imagine, the locals are pushing you away, the women are jostling and elbowing you in the face as they try to load their bags and sacks of groceries and what nots.the women are more aggressive than the men, dont play play!! I managed to squeeze in to the front and then.. the first step is like so high up..nearly at my hip.. alamak.. i hang on to the two handles, hoisting myself up.. had lots of difficult coz the weight of the backpack and my hanging shoes and sleeping bag was pulling me backwards..really got kick in the ass by he africans below and they push me up coz I was jamming up one of the only two entrance..its funny coz you see people climbing in through windows and all:lovegrin:

As for the bulldozer...might be easier to get a bull

25kg = backpack on the back + daypack on the front?

eight months of photos stolen! :sweat:
Btw, really liked the shots of the Granada, amazing symmetrical beauty and love the colors of Morocco too. Do keep spare HDDs next time so you'll reduce the risk of losing all ur great shots next time!

Thanks Fudoshin..compliments.. yippeppee
morocco is one of the few countries which i spent a fair bit of time. More of the photos coming up and then whatever i can salavage from the loss. The next time (if that ever happens again) I will carry 2 HDD. The one I got from Sim lim was great. HDD,160GB/320 GB, can watch video as there is screen and aslo card reader, the upload takes a couple of minutes. Lesson learnt!

25kg = backpack on the back + daypack on the front?

The bag just gets heavier and heavier.. I start to have more stuff, some I cant throw out or not enough reason to spend money and sent home.

when I left singapore, backpack was 16kg. along the way it went up to 21 kg (had to buy a sleeping bag in Africa and start to bring around bigger-than-travel size shampoo and conditioner and detergent - too much hassle to buy a small bottle every week and sometimes cant find) In south America it went up to 25KG because i had to get a pair of jeans and a coat/sweater/gloves/hats/ due to cold weather and also carry a small pack of rice +spices. Also had spanish books with me as i took lessons, pirated dvds and a million other nonesense accumlated)
when I got home it was 27kg (include some shopping and a 1kg+ antique dial phone from Colombia)

all these excludes my day bag which holds my camera , lens and usually a book and all the knick-knacks.
Come back home, and the body part that suffers the most? The knees...:eek:

when I left singapore, backpack was 16kg. along the way it went up to 21 kg (had to buy a sleeping bag in Africa and start to bring around bigger-than-travel size shampoo and conditioner and detergent - too much hassle to buy a small bottle every week and sometimes cant find) In south America it went home to 25KG because i had to get a pair of jeans and coat due to cold weather and also carry a small pack of rice +spices)
when I got home it was 27kg (include some shopping and a 1kg+ antique dial phone from Colombia)

all these excludes my day bag which holds my camera , lens and usually a book and all the knick-knacks.

wah.... your load is really unsuitable for travel. have to change habits to go light. i can survive on a small bottle (hotel shampoo size) for two weeks - same stuff for shampoo and shower that lasts me abt 1.5weeks or more. soap bar to wash clothes helps me to reduce weight as they wear out slower, but i will usually "da bao" my dirty clothes back or send it for washing. i also can't go light. my backpack excluding cam usually weighs 8-9kg, while my cam and comp weighs well abt 5-7kg (i bring 2 bodies, 3 lens, 1 netbook, 2hdd, 2 waist holster). of cos that is for short term travel, so i dun think i'm smarter anyway... hahaha....

maybe next time u think abt how to cut down on the weight. think do without netbook. get bed inlining instead of sleeping bag. etc

I am a woman lei.. no matter how cant be as slop as the guys (sorry men, no offence) Seriously??I dont think many women can survive even with what I had, dont even talk about lesser than these:)

I have long hair so my shampoo and conditioner is a must.. or I'll die. I survive 15 mths with only facial cleanser and moisturizer becuase of dry weather everywhere .. also die die must have.
I have only 4 sets of clothes and I handwash by the sink every other day and till I get to a city, I will sent the load for local washing to get rid of smell.Heheheh! I was carrying a bed linen cover but had to buy the sleeping bag because I was camping in south of africa and it was relly cold at night as the coldness seep through from the grounds about 3-4am... i bought the wrong one - kid size and I was nearly freezing every night. In the end, very useful for I was also sleeping on rooftops and courtyards while in africa

Small things like nail clipper, scissors (to trim my own hair), book, ipod, shoes,flip flops, neck pillow, socks, .. the daily things you used every day or week, you have to bring with you. It might not seem like a lot but when you travelling for so long - your entire life is all in that backpack! hahaha.

Like the rice,pasta, spices that sometimes I have in my bag - cant throw out a full packet just after cooking one meal and especially when I will be eating again at the next hostel. (this is sometimes to cut cost but at time aslo tired of eating out)
AND ALL THESE TIME I didnt even have a netbook.. I bought a netbook in PAraguay because my HDD was stolen and I needed somewhere to store my photos. (also tax free or black market ) in paraguay..so had to smuggle it out..:devil:

I only know when I came home.. I was looking very "dirty" and scruffy.. my friends were all too kind to tell me.. only recently after I have settle back into city life and cleaned up,did they tell how horrible it was..hahah

Thanks for sharing your experience in detail. Its really worth reading and learning from the pains that you went through.

I have been reading all the posts with interest and enjoying the photos as well.

I have travelled a little bit, I don't think I will be able to a RTW trip like you did, but hope you don't mind if I chip in my 2c worth...

What goes in your backpack is really upto you and it boils down to discipline as you would've figured out along your journey, to manage the weight. I won't be able to carry more than 12-15 kgs and walk for long distances. My backpack, whether its a 3 day trip or a 15 day trip, contains almost the same stuff and never exceeds 12kgs (if no winterwear, then 8-9kgs). Its a different story altogether when it comes to my camera backpack :bsmilie:

For a RTW trip, from a photography perspective, I would certainly do what you did. A DSLR with an 18-200mm lens. I would also pack a backup DSLR (maybe the same model or one that uses same batteries, so you don't have to carry too many chargers), fixed with a wide-angle lens. This way, you never have to change lenses. In addition, I would carry a small PnS that works well in low light, one that I can slip into my pocket. Don't want to start a flame-war, so won't mention brands. I would also carry a cable release, a lenspen, ND and GND filters, spare batteries, some ziploc bags etc.

And lots of media. And two harddisks, like the one you bought. And religiously copy all photos that I would've shot during the day into both the harddisks every night (before I go to sleep) or every morning (as I brush my teeth), so it becomes a habit. After all, it only takes a couple of minutes if you do it every day. I know its easier said than done, but that's the only way possible. If both harddisks fail or are stolen, then, well, that's karma :cry: In my case, I have noticed that as long as I am disciplined, everything will be fine. The day I get lazy and tend to relax, I get a kick up my backside. Such is life...

I don't think any of my friends will visit me halfway through my trip, but in the rare instance that someone would do so, I would ask him/her to bring me two more harddisks and I would send the original harddisks back home.

Maybe you thought the weight of a tripod would be too much to handle, but I can't think of going on a photography trip without carrying one (sometimes I take two - backup, backup, backup :bsmilie:) Once again, no brandnames here, but there are lots of travel tripods that will work well with mid-range DSLRs.

Unless I want to write my experiences as I travel, I wouldn't carry a netbook.

I am gonna shut up now and sit back and enjoy your stories.

And yeah, good luck on that Central Asia trip next year :thumbsup:

Cheers...

Oops.. haha, I started my journey because one of the reasons is doc says my knees are wearing out... so wanna see things before I baika ;p... looks like its gonna wear out sooner.... :(
My starting backpack is already 16.5kg and cam bag is 8-9kg but I don't think I will be increasing it much as I travel. And your statement is a good reminder about the knees, so I think I gotta cut down a bit

Didn't follow all the discussion (I just looked at the last page) but useful info on dorm safety in South America.. been pretty lax in my security so far in Europe; will have to buck up! Thanks for the reminder again!

Will not comment on packing and cam, everybody is different lah :)

Thanks Fudoshin..compliments.. yippeppee
morocco is one of the few countries which i spent a fair bit of time. More of the photos coming up and then whatever i can salavage from the loss. The next time (if that ever happens again) I will carry 2 HDD. The one I got from Sim lim was great. HDD,160GB/320 GB, can watch video as there is screen and aslo card reader, the upload takes a couple of minutes. Lesson learnt!

Your story telling is just great pupuce! I enjoyed every encounter that you wrote. I can just close my eyes and imagine the whole scene in front of me. Keep it up!! :thumbsup: :D
By the way, which HDD did you get from Sim Lim? Thinking of getting on the next time if I'm not bringing a netbook :)

What goes in your backpack is really upto you and it boils down to discipline as you would've figured out along your journey, to manage the weight. I won't be able to carry more than 12-15 kgs and walk for long distances. My backpack, whether its a 3 day trip or a 15 day trip, contains almost the same stuff and never exceeds 12kgs (if no winterwear, then 8-9kgs). Its a different story altogether when it comes to my camera backpack
I don't think any of my friends will visit me halfway through my trip, but in the rare instance that someone would do so, I would ask him/her to bring me two more harddisks and I would send the original harddisks back home.

Asterixsg, dont shut up... share with us because its interesting to hear different views. U are right, everyone has different priorities and what goes in their bag is their perogative. being a woman, there are some thing I cant do without - hair conditioner and moisterizer is a must..:) After a few weeks together on this thread, you would've figure I am more a traveller than photographer and guess thats why I was prepared to forgo the equipments and instead took items that will make my life on the road more comfortable! I cant ever imagine myself with all those equipment.. everyday I will be stress out about being robbed or stolen from the hostels. it will limit my spontanity and also the places where I can crush for the night on an impromptu basis.

But I have learnt to carry to HDD , just like I have 2 credit cards , copies of passport stashed in different bags for backup reason!

Oops.. haha, I started my journey because one of the reasons is doc says my knees are wearing out... so wanna see things before I baika ;p... looks like its gonna wear out sooner.... My starting backpack is already 16.5kg and cam bag is 8-9kg but I don't think I will be increasing it much as I travel. And your statement is a good reminder about the knees, so I think I gotta cut down a bit

Yeah, knee cap is a big problem.. those volcano trekkings and in countries like Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia with so many highland cities.. even day-today walking is always uphill/downhill. Dont forget a knee cap guard.extremely useful.
As for the backpack.. I know for sure, anything above 6 months of travelling (even for some who are in the same region with similar weather conditions) the bags are all about 20kg and above.

Colombia and Bolivia are beautiful beautiful countries..enjoy

5148773268_5ce0b7cab3_z.jpg

#3 Morocco - Fez, Man and his cat
This was taken in the madrasa

5148773260_809bf79e8c.jpg

#5 Morocoo - Fez,
Sweet Dreams

Your story telling is just great pupuce! I enjoyed every encounter that you wrote. I can just close my eyes and imagine the whole scene in front of me. Keep it up!! :thumbsup: By the way, which HDD did you get from Sim Lim? Thinking of getting on the next time if I'm not bringing a netbook

I dont know which shop nor the brand but I am trying to find it again. Give me some time, once I locate the store, I will inform you. I remember its somewhere on the 5th or 6th floor at the corner. It is similar to the creative HDD with screen but their hard disc then was only 32/64 GB

Just dropping by to say hello. Your story/adventure truly inspired me and changed the way I look at things.

Thanks for sharing your wonderful adventure!