My PowerShot S5 IS

Since there is a S5 IS thread here...

Anyone can recommend a value for money wide angle lens for S5 IS? I have a 0.5X Wide angle but a bit of fish eye effects which turns me off. :(
58MM adaptor thread that Canon 1.5X Teleconverter is using.

Don't want expensive ones since I will go for DSLR and Camcorder if I am rich. :o

Have PMed you an offer, my friend is selling his.

Putting anything in between might mess up the image quality. Some of these converters best work at a certain distance from the lens. For instance, the Raynox 6600Pro has two versions, the 58mm & 52mm. 55mm version sits slightly closer to the main lens, and has a better IQ.

Why do you want to add a lens in the middle?

The reason is that I want to have a protection when I take my wide angle lens off... and I dont want to be carry the extra lens around.. having it fixed on saves the hassle of screwing it on and off....

Unless I keep the wide angle lens permanently on.
Other than the inability of using effect lens, are there any other negative impact to different type of shots due to having the wide angle on?

I always have my wide-conversion lens on my S5 IS as a permanent setup.

I'm using the original one, u can consider that. Abt $180 but of cos u need to get the adapter.

Whao kao... $180 for original Canon! Isn't that only 0.75X which make ur 36mm to 28mm? ;(
Bloody ex leh... $180 can get another cheapo samsung PNS liao.

BTW, I have tube adaptor as well as Canon 1.5X Teleconverter.

The reason is that I want to have a protection when I take my wide angle lens off... and I dont want to be carry the extra lens around.. having it fixed on saves the hassle of screwing it on and off....

Errr.... why do you screw it on & off? Just keep it on the adapter, then use the bayonet mount. I have an adapter for each converter & one adapter just for the UV filter. It is not much of a hassle. Try changing a 80-200 f2.8 while walking around, that is worse! :bsmilie:

I always have my wide-conversion lens on my S5 IS as a permanent setup.

Unless I keep the wide angle lens permanently on.
Other than the inability of using effect lens, are there any other negative impact to different type of shots due to having the wide angle on?

For a WC, you will only be able to zoom out to about 5-10X (depending on converter) before the IQ starts to degrade. It is mainly meant to be used on the wide end of the camera's lens.

Whao kao... $180 for original Canon! Isn't that only 0.75X which make ur 36mm to 28mm? ;(
Bloody ex leh... $180 can get another cheapo samsung PNS liao.

BTW, I have tube adaptor as well as Canon 1.5X Teleconverter.

The Raynox HD-7000PRO (0.7x) is only S$295.00. Think I can get a second hand S3IS at that price. :bsmilie:

The reason is that it hardly has any distortion and that it can be used throughout the full zoom range of most lenses. So you do end up paying quite a lot of money for the better converters in the market.

For a WC, you will only be able to zoom out to about 5-10X (depending on converter) before the IQ starts to degrade. It is mainly meant to be used on the wide end of the camera's lens.

Yes u're right cos i noticed towards the tele-end, the pics will start to become softer and purple-fringing increased.

hey guys,
just wanna know whether there's a way i can switch betweeen the multiple, af, ae, and fe face detection modes. the brochure says that there are these different ability but is there a way to select particular? and in the menu there is an option whether to tset IS mode at Single or continous? what dose that means? been tryin to find out but have gotten no where still getting used to this brilliant cam. thanks in advance to all answers.
regards,
emirates

hey guys,
just wanna know whether there's a way i can switch betweeen the multiple, af, ae, and fe face detection modes. the brochure says that there are these different ability but is there a way to select particular? and in the menu there is an option whether to tset IS mode at Single or continous? what dose that means? been tryin to find out but have gotten no where still getting used to this brilliant cam. thanks in advance to all answers.
regards,
emirates

No idea about face detection, since I am not using a camera with that capability.

Set IS to shoot only. This means that IS will take effect once you press the shutter. This has been shown to produce better results then having IS on continuous mode. Continuous mode, as the name implies, leaves the IS on all the time. Only reason I can think of using this is if you are standing on a boat or a car that is moving about slightly and want a stable image on your screen.

No idea about face detection, since I am not using a camera with that capability.

Set IS to shoot only. This means that IS will take effect once you press the shutter. This has been shown to produce better results then having IS on continuous mode. Continuous mode, as the name implies, leaves the IS on all the time. Only reason I can think of using this is if you are standing on a boat or a car that is moving about slightly and want a stable image on your screen.

ok thanks. i'll do that.:D how bout the AF setting in the menu?

hey guys,
just wanna know whether there's a way i can switch betweeen the multiple, af, ae, and fe face detection modes. the brochure says that there are these different ability but is there a way to select particular? been tryin to find out but have gotten no where still getting used to this brilliant cam. thanks in advance to all answers.
regards,
emirates

hi All

Is VITACON micro wide angle lens good for S5IS, found this at Lucky Plaza... tried it on my S5 but didn't buy it tho'

hi guys, new to photography and having just receive this gadget Powershot S5 IS as a gift, i am glad that i now owns a great camera! But being curious, i like to ask whether my dad actually got a decent deal (he never surf net, so he bought it at best denki). Heres the bundle i received:

- Camera (of cos)
- 2 x Toshiba SD High Speed Type Class 4 2gb Memory Card
- Card Reader
- A canon camera pouch
- 4x GP 2300NiMH Battery + Recharger
- Canon Digital Camera Kit

In all $699 -> is this really a bad deal?

Btw, i would also like to know if i need anything else, say like better batteries (I have read last few entries of this thread, but theres seems to be no clear answer, i would ask here again : using Eneloop instead of the free GP, can i use the GP charger to charge Eneloop batteries?) or lcd screen protector? I would appreciate any help here, thanks~

$699 is the list price. If you shop around, you should be able to get it at about $50 cheaper at some camera shops. The 2GB card, digital bag and battery charger are standard freebies from Canon. Best Denki probably threw it in the 2nd free 2GB card, card reader and camera pouch, but these things do not cost very much. But your dad got the camera from a reputed shop, and the extended warranty is excellent.

Eneloops are not a must but are very good because they retain their charge very long. You cannot possibly rely simply on your 4 free batteries, so might as well get one set of eneloops as the 2nd set. Yes, you can use your GP charger. And the screen protector is not necessary.

Hi guys.. im a newbie to this forum..

Anyway, jus got my S5IS not too long back. Still quite unsure of how to use this gadget.. hope to get some help from u guys here in the near future.

Tried a couple of shots and realized tat some of the pics are rather noisy and some are blurry.

I dun quite get it as to why some images are still blurry even after I've set the IS mode to shoot only. :think:

Hope u old timers can give me some gd tips on how to reduce the so called blurry images. :angel:

Tks.

hey!
im new to prosumers too..

well to the best of my knowledge
what kind of bluriness are you having?

noise?
distorted image?
glares?

try playing around with the settings
AV, TV, P, M

change your ISOs accordingly to the movement of the objects when necessary.

i just had my s5is a month back
and thought of adding a wideangle lens

what are you guys using the most?

my first step is to get my 53mm adaptor. most probably a lensmate one.

looking for maybe the raynox WA lens.
but kinda out of my budget.

:rolleyes:

hey!
im new to prosumers too..

well to the best of my knowledge
what kind of bluriness are you having?

noise?
distorted image?
glares?

try playing around with the settings
AV, TV, P, M

change your ISOs accordingly to the movement of the objects when necessary.

i just had my s5is a month back
and thought of adding a wideangle lens

what are you guys using the most?

my first step is to get my 53mm adaptor. most probably a lensmate one.

looking for maybe the raynox WA lens.
but kinda out of my budget.

:rolleyes:

I always believe pictures tell a thousand words.

Pic 1 and 2 are taken at ard 0100hrs (040208). Pic no. 1 is the blurred shot. Pic no. 2 was taken immediately after that. All shots are taken with a canon mini tripod and all settings for both pics are similar. ISO 80, 8"/f3.2

Pic 1.

IMG_2458.jpg

Pic 2.

IMG_2459.jpg

Note tat these 2 pics are exactly identical. Only tat 1 of which is blur.

I took a couple of shots to test the camera at night and found it quite hard to get some pics to come out clear even after i took the shots many times with a mini tripod. Take for example this;

IMG_2445.jpg

No matter wad setting i tried.. I still couldn't get the optimum results.. was rather disappointed.