My humble FIRST IR shot of Admiralty Park of the year 2010 :)

SurrealDreamWalker

Dear friends,

Due to being 'poisoned' by bro Ah Chua's awesome macro shots of insects, i decided to try it by joining bro peterpan's wolf-spider macro-photog outing @ Admiralty Park on 15 January (Saturday).

Hence this is my humble FIRST IR shot for the year 2011* :sweat:

IRAdmiraltyPark15012010.jpg

These were my macro-shots.
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=834593

C&C are welecome ;)

*edited the year.

Just like your nick bro..
Very surreal :)
Saw your macro shots...you caught the bug too :P
Nice to know you also using the reversed method..seems pretty cool..

Just like your nick bro..
Very surreal :)
Saw your macro shots...you caught the bug too :P
Nice to know you also using the reversed method..seems pretty cool..

Thanks bro for your compliment :)

Yeah the reverse method using 50mm primes lens is a poor man's alternative to shooting macro at 1:1.. but the working distance may be too close for some insects' comfort... :sweat:

I am thinking of saving up for a special macro lens. as well as getting proper flash lights and macro lens plate for my tripod... all the combined cost may crack my poor piggy bank.. :eek:

Sorry TS OT OT, please call me for macro too next time its my fav...

Thanks bro for your compliment :)

Yeah the reverse method using 50mm primes lens is a poor man's alternative to shooting macro at 1:1.. but the working distance may be too close for some insects' comfort... :sweat:

I am thinking of saving up for a special macro lens. as well as getting proper flash lights and macro lens plate for my tripod... all the combined cost may crack my poor piggy bank.. :eek:

i love it...composition cun..can boost up color saturation???

@ bro iVintage: apology... as the outing had a limited intake of interested participants as decide by the organiser. Ok next time i will put in your name after mine ;)

@ lixin: thank you for dropping by, your compliment and feedback. For this shot, boosting up its saturation will cause 'noise' to be oblivious. So, i prefer it as it is... :embrass:

Alamak... i sotong.. didn't realise this year is 2011.. :sweat:

Paiseh... my thread title should be "... of the year 2011".. :embrass:

Stumbled upon IR photography recently and was already getting confused with all the camera mods, filters, etc.

Today saw a new thing, "reverse stacking" of lens. whoa this whole DSLR photography thingy is really really chim :confused:

Stumbled upon IR photography recently and was already getting confused with all the camera mods, filters, etc.

Today saw a new thing, "reverse stacking" of lens. whoa this whole DSLR photography thingy is really really chim :confused:

not really lar... take it slow, learn step by step. start from the basics, work into one field first before moving into another:)

check out the writeups on the mods
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=826404

as for filters, u have to google limwhow's experiments with the various cutoffs. if i got time, i'll try collate both the mods and the filters and see if we can get them stickied together for ease of reference or something:think:

Hi Jlim,

Don't worry :) You'll understand by reading up on the stickies posted in the relevant sub-forum here. And joining the outings to learn from other experienced shooters.

OT a bit, were you born in 1976 as in the number after your nick :think:

@Allen: ya I've read thru your guide keke and probably may just get a Hoya R72 to test it out. But mmm cannot take portraits, and I'm not so much of a tripod person, shall see how it goes. Anyway i still have lots to learn in normal photography lol.

@Surreal: this sub-forum sure got a lot of stickies, gonna be lots of readup. And bingo, year of the dragon.

@Allen: ya I've read thru your guide keke and probably may just get a Hoya R72 to test it out. But mmm cannot take portraits, and I'm not so much of a tripod person, shall see how it goes. Anyway i still have lots to learn in normal photography lol.

@Surreal: this sub-forum sure got a lot of stickies, gonna be lots of readup. And bingo, year of the dragon.

Me too :cheers:

We are the Chinese 'fire' dragon ;)

I just realised that you are the one who inspired me to go to admiralty! hahahaha. So cool!

Wow... Thanks for your compliment... I'm glad you inspired ;)

Your shots are nice too. Keep shooting :)