Model shoot Oct 27

Imagine if you go for your first driving lesson, and suay-suay, you mount the kerb. How would you feel if your instructor goes "are you retarded? Don't you know how to operate the steering wheel and pedals? your driving skills suck! Stick to a bicycle next time!"
That is an example of a negative yet unhelpful comment.
My point is that you don't have to be 'Shakespeare-trained', but at least spare a thought for the person who will be reading your post. How would you feel if the same words were directed at you?

Haha, agreed.

However, in terms of skill learning, my generation is brought up under that kind of environment, where the Master/teacher will always scold me upside-down until he is satisfied, then along the way give you a bit here and there, and it's up to me to put them altogether, practise and acquire it. The Master/teacher will get nothing in return, but his skills are being passed down. Hence, I really don't feel bad or discourage over any kind of remarks like this. We pay 100% attention to catch the Gs from the horse's mouth, than to be distracted by feelings.

Of course, nowaday is different. At the extreme thought, every trainees are expected to be taught in a more respectable manner, because skill are usually learned in term of money exchange. I pay for it, and I expect what in return and with due respect. It's part of the Trainer's responsibility to ensure we are successful, and hence for a start we should not be discouraged in whatever reason.

Forum like this are really thanks-giving and invaluable, with every experts throw in their 2 cents worth into our pocket thru their unreserved sharing, and it's absolute FREE! Hence, are we asking too much over here, and wanting them to also pay attention to our feelings? Frankly and seriously, I really could not comment, but felt it's really 见人见智, depending how individual look at it.

Haha, seems abit OT liao. Hope TS dun mind. Cheers!

Haha, agreed.

However, in terms of skill learning, my generation is brought up under that kind of environment, where the Master/teacher will always scold me upside-down until he is satisfied, then along the way give you a bit here and there, and it's up to me to put them altogether, practise and acquire it. The Master/teacher will get nothing in return, but his skills are being passed down. Hence, I really don't feel bad or discourage over any kind of remarks like this. We pay 100% attention to catch the Gs from the horse's mouth, than to be distracted by feelings.

Of course, nowaday is different. At the extreme thought, every trainees are expected to be taught in a more respectable manner, because skill are usually learned in term of money exchange. I pay for it, and I expect what in return and with due respect. It's part of the Trainer's responsibility to ensure we are successful, and hence for a start we should not be discouraged in whatever reason.

Forum like this are really thanks-giving and invaluable, with every experts throw in their 2 cents worth into our pocket thru their unreserved sharing, and it's absolute FREE! Hence, are we asking too much over here, and wanting them to also pay attention to our feelings? Frankly and seriously, I really could not comment, but felt it's really 见人见智, depending how individual look at it.

well said, *clap clap*!! word of wisdom.

Haha, agreed.

i understand what you mean, but how much Gs do you catch if the instructor makes remarks like 'are you retarded?' all day?
i actually agree that being a new shooter doesn't justify having bad photos, you are ultimately responsible at the end of the day for every branch and HDB flat that appears in your photos.
but some criticisms are constructive, while others are simple photo bashing w/o the suggestion of improvement techniques/methods, which is the point of posting here right? (TS wants to improve).

Being a little more kaypo than normal, I was looking through dp's comments, and personally I find that there are no "are you retarded" type of comments. They were actually valid and constructive. :rolleyes:

e.g.
"the composition is badly conceived, cliche and badly executed."
== "improve on the composition; learn best practices in portrait composition; use golden rule, one thirds, etc etc"?

"Aside on the merit of blowing into a gun, let's just look at the overall composition."
== "the idea of blowing into a gun is good"

"That building stood out like a sore thumb in the middle of the picture? Why did you not move around to frame it out?"
=="avoid the building by moving your location such that the building is no longer in the frame."

"Exposure is a bit under. The subject is flat. And I meant the lighting!"
=="your photo is not bright, and the lighting needs work - does not reveal much 3D depth of the subject"

"And the outfit just does not lend to whatever cliche mood you were trying to create."
=="if you want the model to be "cool killer" or some thing like that, the dress cannot convey that mood/spirit well...

In fact, as I see it, most "critique and comment - C&C" in the thread are that - critique/fault-listing and not much "solutioning" because there are many ways to solve a problem, and sometime the solutions is by reading up more and to ask more questions. The internet is a vast source of tips and examples. Look at photo.net, look around, see those good ones and learn. TS, take heart, you are not alone. All the best!

Being a little more kaypo than normal, I was looking through dp's comments, and personally I find that there are no "are you retarded" type of comments. They were actually valid and constructive. :rolleyes:

e.g.
"the composition is badly conceived, cliche and badly executed."
== "improve on the composition; learn best practices in portrait composition; use golden rule, one thirds, etc etc"?

"Aside on the merit of blowing into a gun, let's just look at the overall composition."
== "the idea of blowing into a gun is good"

"That building stood out like a sore thumb in the middle of the picture? Why did you not move around to frame it out?"
=="avoid the building by moving your location such that the building is no longer in the frame."

"Exposure is a bit under. The subject is flat. And I meant the lighting!"
=="your photo is not bright, and the lighting needs work - does not reveal much 3D depth of the subject"

"And the outfit just does not lend to whatever cliche mood you were trying to create."
=="if you want the model to be "cool killer" or some thing like that, the dress cannot convey that mood/spirit well...

In fact, as I see it, most "critique and comment - C&C" in the thread are that - critique/fault-listing and not much "solutioning" because there are many ways to solve a problem, and sometime the solutions is by reading up more and to ask more questions. The internet is a vast source of tips and examples. Look at photo.net, look around, see those good ones and learn. TS, take heart, you are not alone. All the best!

Good interpretion of DP comments. Maybe the TS did not see it that way yet.

我看到好多人 在这里马后炮 。。。。。。。。。

....However, in terms of skill learning, my generation is brought up under that kind of environment, where the Master/teacher will always scold me upside-down until he is satisfied, then along the way give you a bit here and there.....

Yes I agree with your point :thumbsup:
There is a difference in the way we all give comments because of the experiences we had whilst learning skills through life. Nowadays we tend to expect to be taught in a respectable manner (take the army as a good example).
:think: some things to consider before getting worked up over negative criticism. Thanks!

Yes I agree with your point :thumbsup:
There is a difference in the way we all give comments because of the experiences we had whilst learning skills through life. Nowadays we tend to expect to be taught in a respectable manner (take the army as a good example).
:think: some things to consider before getting worked up over negative criticism. Thanks!

Heh.. reminds me of kung fu.. olden days you get beaten black and blue until you learn to defend yourself.. now you just buy kung fu for dummies.

Anyway, when I started I also get criticized.. and the good thing is that pictures I thought are good was really not. In the end, I'm my own worst critic.

Good interpretion of DP comments. Maybe the TS did not see it that way yet.

i never once said DP's comments were not valid and unconstructive. what i am trying to say is that if he can phrase it nicer, wouldnt it be better? at least he would should friendlier.