Model for Test Shoot

lil_princess

I would like to do a test shoot with a few of my own outfits (probably about 5) thats are sexy (and some classy) but not revealing in any sorts of way. Colour theme will be black. I would prefer the shoot to be done in a studio setting. And if its possible, to rope in a MUA to help with the makeup and hairstyling. Theme shoots will be good too.

Unprocessed photos are to be allowed for me to view and to choose those that I think its good to be processed. I don't need many processed shots. Probably 3 processed images from each set of outfit is sufficient. They will only be used for my portfolio and for my own promotional purposes, and will not be used for commercial or any other monetary ways that may benefit me. And only the processed photos are to be used in the photographer's portfolio. The other photos are not to be used or shown to any other party in any form of ways.

Photos are to be burnt into a CD and passed to me within 3 weeks from date of shoot. Please do not request for a test shoot if you cannot adhere to the dateline. Cos if you cannt give me within 3 weeks, I will add you into my blacklist of photographers that one should not do test shoots with.

I would like every one to understand the reason why I am doing this - For I have come across this situation before. And I do not want to experience this again. Its a waste of time and effort. Serious.

Please do not PM me.
Please EMAIL me at feliza_ong@hotmail.com, preferably with an online site which I can view your portfolio, and probably some ideas if you have some in mind! :)

Thank you so much to all who view this thread!

-Feliza Ong-

*None of the contents are to be reproduced or used in any ways without the sole permission of the thread-starter*

lil_princess said:
I would like to do a test shoot with a few of my own outfits (probably about 5) thats are sexy (and some classy) but not revealing in any sorts of way. Colour theme will be black. I would prefer the shoot to be done in a studio setting. And if its possible, to rope in a MUA to help with the makeup and hairstyling. Theme shoots will be good too.

Unprocessed photos are to be allowed for me to view and to choose those that I think its good to be processed. I don't need many processed shots. Probably 3 processed images from each set of outfit is sufficient. They will only be used for my portfolio and for my own promotional purposes, and will not be used for commercial or any other monetary ways that may benefit me. And only the processed photos are to be used in the photographer's portfolio. The other photos are not to be used or shown to any other party in any form of ways.

Photos are to be burnt into a CD and passed to me within 3 weeks from date of shoot. Please do not request for a test shoot if you cannot adhere to the dateline. Cos if you cannt give me within 3 weeks, I will add you into my blacklist of photographers that one should not do test shoots with.

I would like every one to understand the reason why I am doing this - For I have come across this situation before. And I do not want to experience this again. Its a waste of time and effort. Serious.

Please do not PM me.
Please EMAIL me at feliza_ong@hotmail.com, preferably with an online site which I can view your portfolio, and probably some ideas if you have some in mind! :)

-Feliza Ong-

*None of the contents are to be reproduced or used in any ways without the sole permission of the thread-starter*
yo Feliza hope u able to find good photogs soon:)
upz for u

lil_princess said:

Please do not PM me.

-Feliza Ong-

Not trying to stir up trouble here, but if your adding them to your portfolio and using the images to promote yourself, then, isnt that (portfolio and promotion) going to be a contributing factor to why someone hires you for a shoot, which would probably get you some money and therefore it would benefit you in a commercial and monetary way, right? :dunno:

wildstallion said:
Not trying to stir up trouble here, but if your adding them to your portfolio and using the images to promote yourself, then, isnt that (portfolio and promotion) going to be a contributing factor to why someone hires you for a shoot, which would probably get you some money and therefore it would benefit you in a commercial and monetary way, right? :dunno:

make sense ..... I tend to agree with you :think:

Hi guys,

Just wanna share some pointers after reading through the posts so far.

* A lot of our local models need fashion pictures. They do not have many opportunities to appear in fashion editorial spreads nor have very good fashion photographers/team helping them. I know many fashion stylist, top makeup/hair, designers and fashion photographer do not need portfolio of local models and prefer to do pan asians and caucasians. However, we need to support them as much as we can so they can improve and become better :)

* There are 2 trends on going for local models/talents. One, they do a lot of lingerie, bikinis etc....Two, they do a lot of general lifestyle photographs. Hence its difficult to see them having pictures with mood/ feel, wearing designer wear and showcasing a different look from the two mentioned above.

* Having said that, I just wanna point out that good fashion photograph requires a good fashion stylist. photographer, makeup/hair and DI person. I dont shoot fantastic pictures by myself although I can do rudimentary styling/posing, makeup/hair and DI by myself ;p

* As for the selection of photographs for processing etc....I think its best for the model to leave it to the fashion stylist/art director if there is any or do a joint selection with the photographer. If you are the only one choosing, it becomes very rigid like a paid job le....

Give them the opportunities to try new stuff and better themselves in their long road ahead of them in modelling. All the best to everyone involved.

Seems to me to be another .....

this model or model wannabe has a very arrogrant and unfriendly attitude, I really wonder how far one can go in this very competitive industry with such a attitude and just average looks and way below average height. :dunno:

Hope you will find your ideal photographer, but if I am one that is of any good, I wont even consider shooting a TFCD for a model with such attitude and nothing much to show for it. :what:

good luck in your search...

Let me see if I understand this correctly. You want a photographer and MUA to give up their time and resources. First the MUA gets nothing in return for their services. Then, the photographer gets the privelege of using only the 15 images that you pick in their own portfolio.

So, in return for your services you effectively get creative control of the shoot and the copyright to the images (since you are dictating how and where the images can be used).

Sounds to me like you think way too highly of yourself. Not even the highest paid, most well known model in the world would get away with making such a request from photographers of similar calibre, they would laugh in the models face.

very arrogant leh feliza, u win liao.:bigeyes:

I tink we hv to give some credits to this lovely babe... know her personally... she is nothing near arrogant... maybe its the ppl she met that makes her arrogant :p

smurfman said:
very arrogant leh feliza, u win liao.:bigeyes:

bo pian... cos got ppl like me who still owe her 3 photographer's pic, which is about 3 months overdue... :sweatsm: she ask 3 weeks already very nice liao...

I think to call her "arrogant" is uncalled for.

If the terms she laid out are unacceptable to the photographers, the issue is the terms. Calling her arrogant is making a comment on her person, which is not appropriate. Sometimes actions are taken as a result of unpleasant experiences.

I think if anyone is interested, it would be appropriate to give her a call and discuss other possible ways of doing things.

student said:
I think to call her "arrogant" is uncalled for.

If the terms she laid out are unacceptable to the photographers, the issue is the terms. Calling her arrogant is making a comment on her person, which is not appropriate. Sometimes actions are taken as a result of unpleasant experiences.

I think if anyone is interested, it would be appropriate to give her a call and discuss other possible ways of doing things.

aiya early morning lets drink coffee and no argue lah....:bsmilie:

upz for her thread and hope she got her photographer.

Well thanks for all those who have emailed me stating your interest. I will be very much interested to do a shoot with you guys! :)

I would like to thank those who commented critically on my post. This shows that I have not explained myself further and in proper contest, hence the miscommunication. In addition, thanks for those who were nice in their words to me. At least you guys know what am I trying to derive from my 'terms'.

Just for everyone's information, definitely if there's a MUA who wants to be involved, of course she can use the photos too! Why not, isnt it?

About being arrogant. Am I? Thats not for me to say. Its up to one's perception. And if the photographer thinks that a shot is nice, but I think otherwise, it will be ok if he uses it, but I hope he can respect me by informing me. Its all about having an OPEN COMMUNICATION.

And by the way, listing out what I want (and don't want), I know there's A HIGH POSSIBILITY that I will be flamed. And I am already prepared for it. Is that still considered as me being arrogant?

Cheers to all!

bo pian... cos got ppl like me who still owe her 3 photographer's pic, which is about 3 months overdue... :sweatsm: she ask 3 weeks already very nice liao...
haha... im not saying you indirectly hor... you never mind, i know you are busy with your voluntary thingy... thats why i am not as pissed as for someone else's... you know la huh... hehehe..

hope you find the right photographer for yourself. after reading your blog for quite some time. i highly doubt you're the arrogant type in any way. =)

ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooook~~

i better deliver ur CD soon.. :sweat: :sweat:

jOhO said:
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooook~~

i better deliver ur CD soon.. :sweat: :sweat:
Jon dearie ah, me not referring to you leh. And at least you emailed me some soon after the shoot that time what. :)

lil_princess said:
Jon dearie ah, me not referring to you leh. And at least you emailed me some soon after the shoot that time what. :)
*phew**************

i was holding my breath all the way till i read ur reply.. turning green liow. :confused:

:heart:

hey, i think i have 2 photograhers dun mind doing the shoot with you and we dun mind paying u .....

Up for Bobman :)

You are a nice guy :)

I dont mind paying to help her too but my skills sucks nowadays :( the younger photographers are much better le ;p

cheers and have a great weekend to everyone.

PS: Let's not be too judgemental and give others the chance to prove themselves :)