Mo: The Lightsphere Ii On-camera Flash Diffuser

Is it too late to join the MO for the Lightsphere for the 580EX flash?

Dr_ARCHer said:
Is it too late to join the MO for the Lightsphere for the 580EX flash?

Got some extra 580EX. Will announce once the stock arrives.

THe idea of the Omnibounce befroe this sphere thing came about was to allow some part of the light to bounce and some light to go straight ahead, much like the older types of flashes with two bulbs, one bounce and one straight ahead.

The sphere can actually be considered to be an extension of the omnibounce theory, as the surface straight through is larger.

marican said:
faster go collect from weekh. just got mine from him today.
its damn shiok. its everything that the omnibounce never was.

imho imnibounce is a total waste of time compared to lightsphere. I think the idea of the omni was just to diffuse the light before it even bounces off the ceiling. so when it bounces off the ceiling its even more diffuse.

But lightsphere does that, and MORE. with the dome on top, it diffuses the light before it hits ceiligng ( esp low ceiling). THe front side of the lightsphere also provides a very nice natural soft light to the front of the subject.

the entire device looks EXACTLY like a light bulb when the flash goes off. Very very nice!!

omni or bounce cards don't come close to this thing.

70 bucks is a good price to pay for something this useful, even though the thing itself probably costs like 40 cents to make. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

marican said:
faster go collect from weekh. just got mine from him today.
its damn shiok. its everything that the omnibounce never was.

imho imnibounce is a total waste of time compared to lightsphere. I think the idea of the omni was just to diffuse the light before it even bounces off the ceiling. so when it bounces off the ceiling its even more diffuse.

But lightsphere does that, and MORE. with the dome on top, it diffuses the light before it hits ceiligng ( esp low ceiling). THe front side of the lightsphere also provides a very nice natural soft light to the front of the subject.

the entire device looks EXACTLY like a light bulb when the flash goes off. Very very nice!!

omni or bounce cards don't come close to this thing.

70 bucks is a good price to pay for something this useful, even though the thing itself probably costs like 40 cents to make. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

hohoho! well done!! :thumbsup:

now, really can't wait to get mine!

For those who have not collected your Nikon Lightsphere, please contact me individually to arrange.
U can also self collect at Tiong Bahru area.

I've one extra unit of lightsphere for the Nikon for $75.
Please PM me if u're keen.

You have PM...............

The huge onion doesn't seem to be very secure on top of my SB800. Has anybody enountered it falling off while shooting? Especially when you point your cam down or something?

bernardsia said:
The huge onion doesn't seem to be very secure on top of my SB800. Has anybody enountered it falling off while shooting? Especially when you point your cam down or something?

If I'm not wrong, there is a 'correct' side to mount the lightsphere.
Notheless, this thingy is pretty heavy and tend to fall off. Wat u can do is to use a big rubber band to secure it (like those rubber band used for your army water botter). For higher class rubber band, i use the one the comes with my flash extender.

Any extra one for Nikon SB-80DX?

chucks said:
Any extra one for Nikon SB-80DX?

All reserved liao... Maybe another MO again.

Canon 580EX
1. Castlesinthesky (paid)
2. LeMans274 (paid)
3. max007007 (paid)
4. achong888 (paid)

Canon 550EX
1. Fizzy (paid)

bros attaching to nikon, the lightsphere is not that tight. anyway, can use gary fong's suggetsion of wrapping a few rounds of electrical tape on the top of the flash. it becomes SUPER TIGHT and SUPER SECURE after that.

If u are using sb600, which i think is slightly thinner than sb800/80, u can easily make it work as well by sticking on a couple of pieces of those thick thick spongy double sided tape on the left/right side of the flash, then wrap one round electrical tape. nice and steady after taht...

Can't wait for my lightsphere...Keng Hor..when is the 580 ex stock coming in?any news?

Hey... missed this MO totally... when is the next one for the Nikon SB800?

580EX already shipped. Expecting it by next week.
Ordered some extra 580EX but not for Nikon. May have to organise another MO again.

weekh.... me interested in getting the Lightsphere II for 580ex, still got anymore left??

Weekh, Hi any news on the extra Lightsphere for 580EX??

Hi, anyone wants to order one for their Sigma EF-500DG flashes? I'm going to order one, and will allow another 3 more people to hop on. PM me quick! I will require a deposit of 50 as well.