Minolta reccommednations?

My earlier post in this thread .. :bsmilie:

deslim27 said:
BTW, what makes you choose Minolta instead of Nikon or Canon? Just curious and kapoh.. :bsmilie:

Like Splatt said, think twice :bsmilie:..

For myself, I'm very happy working with my equipments .. to take pictures, can't imagine myself switch brand anywhere in near future..

(I'm the limitation, only if I'm half as good as my equipments :embrass: )

splatt said:
I hate to rain on this little Minolta party, since I am a long time Minolta user, but you should really think very, very hard before buying Minolta AND before buying a film based SLR.

Fact: The VAST majority of pros and semi-pros use Canon or Nikon gear
(not because they are inherently better but because they have a wider range of gear which is widely available and they provide better support for pros)

Accepted fact: Hardly anyone will be using film cameras within 3 years.

The problem here is that you will inevitably start to build up a system of lenses, flashes etc which will be worth far more than camera body. Because the market for Minolta gear is so small, it is hard to get hold of both new and used equipment. You will always feel like you are swimming against the tide.

Furthermore, any money you spend on film bodies now is likely to go up in smoke within 2 or 3 years (lenses should be fine). Worse still, Canon & Nikon are already 2 or 3 generations of digital SLR ahead of Minolta and are likely to play catch-up in the immediate future. They also have much larger R&D budgets for sensor development etc.

I suggest that your easiest, cheapest, safest route would be:
1. Buy a 2nd hand Canon/Nikon film body and a used 50mm f1.8 lens for very little money which will help you to learn all about photography. You should not have to pay more than S$300 for this combo.
2. Add other lenses e.g. a good 24-85mm f3.5-4.5 but very slowly (by the way, there is a HUGE difference between a 28-85mm f4.5-5.6 lens and a 24-85mm f3.5-4.5 lens).
3. In a year or two, pick up a 2nd hand Nikon D70 or Canon 10D/20D when the price will probably be around $500.

Now I know I'll probably get flamed for this message, but these are the facts of photography life.

I had to agree with you one some point, but not all.

1. I sincerely doubt film will be overtaken within another 3 years, digital output is still not up to the level of negative and with it's latitude level slightly lower then slide film, it is difficult to compare with negative film, not to mention slide film. Unless, of course some guru find a way to push the digital output to film level. Namely, it has the disadvantage of both negative and slide without their advantages.

2. Hard fact, I used minolta for a long time (15 years is classified as Long, I guess), then I switch to canon, then I switch back to minolta again. No doubt I guess more choices for lenses, in the end, only a few lenses are useful for me, minolta has it all. (Actually, I find myself slowly going backwards somehow, I used to use TTL, Zoom lens, Autofocus, Automode (namely Aperture Priority / Shutter Priority and such) etc etc ...., but as I goes along, I drop TTL totally and use manual flash or at least only in auto mode, I am slowly going towards fixed focal lens and slowly dropping zoom lens, I tend to use Autofocus only in fast situation now and slowing going toward manual focus, now I used manual mode more then I use automode). I used to own 21 lenses, now I have only a few and now I intend to slowly sell of my zoom lenses and go back to fix focal lens.

I now only own - 28-85 f/3.5-4.5 (which I intend to keep and it is not the 24-85), 70-200 f/4 (comtemplating to sell), 28-135 f/4-4.5 (Thinking of selling it away), 50mm f/1.4 (Keeping), 105 Marco f/2.8 (Keeping).

Thinking of getting a 28mm f/2, 300mm f/4, 500mm Mirror Reflex Catadioptics (Or maybe the 400 f/5.6), 1 x Kenko Pro 2x (maybe 1.4x) teleconvertor :).

3. Minolta is always called the innovator company. They might be 3 generation behind in Digital Camera, but if history are to be followed, Minolta first generation items are often better then other models 3rd generation items. For example, Minolta's 1 Generaton Autofocus camera, they are they creator, Minolta's 1 generation multicoated lens, they are the creator, minolta 1 generation high speed flash light sync, they are the creator (after 7 years since the introduction of High speed sync at 1/8000, no other brand can sync at that yet, and until the last I know, Minolta 5600HS is still the only flash that can sync at 1/8000 WIRELESS, not that I use it, of course), their 1 generation 14 segment metering which span across their consumer camera, which in personal view, can only be equalled by Canon 1v's or Nikon F5's metering. I am quite sure minolta will pick the fault of the other brands of camera and leapbound with their introduction of D7D, which I think other then Anti-shake technology will include something else.... Anti-shake technology is just a diversion for other brands manufacturer to drool upon while they come up with some "Secret" weapon, just like Canon's New's Objective's Lens (very nice green coating if I should say it myself, one of my favourite colour actually, other then blue and purple coating) which will lower down the cost of lenses to achieve the contrast of "L" lens.

yup, indeed minolta has made history before.
but, one can't really always dwell in history of past glories & honours.

to stay ahead, minolta really has to improve on their weakness & enhance their strength.
hope the launch of d7d thing will turn the table...

Toto38 said:
OH YES!! I did told u and blurblock about it, but the rest don't know lah:dunno: Any way i have been using it with my 700si for long long time.
Cora, trust me! trust me! until now this camera still working very well and help me to earn alots of $$$$$!!The meter system no others brand can bit it. Even my son can take good exposure with no mistake but composition :blah:
VISIT my place with some kopi talk, you will be surprised all the wonderful pic. were taken by MINOLTA camera! So don't go for branded and expensive camera, SKILL come first!!
MINOLTA WORTH FOR YOU TO INVEST IT :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Hi where do you teach by the way?

thanks for all your advise. It seems I might have chosen the wrong time to take this up as a hobby with the clash between flim and digital going on right now. Irony is, it was digital that got me interested in photography in the first place.

I still think i will stick to minolta and proably buy a second hand item. Ultimately I just need something to learn with. Too many features might totally confuse me anyway :P

You guys have just shaped my birthday present. Thanks :)

cora said:
thanks for all your advise. It seems I might have chosen the wrong time to take this up as a hobby with the clash between flim and digital going on right now. Irony is, it was digital that got me interested in photography in the first place.

I still think i will stick to minolta and proably buy a second hand item. Ultimately I just need something to learn with. Too many features might totally confuse me anyway :P

You guys have just shaped my birthday present. Thanks :)

As I mentioned before... Dynax 5 + 24-85mm + 3600HS flash second hand is very affordable... u get semi-pro functions with a sufficiently wide (can do landscape and group shots) to moderate telephoto (good for portrait) lens plus a flash which can do high speed sync with a data panel to tell u flash range..... I think $600 would do.... if u can get everything second hand.....

TME said:
As I mentioned before... Dynax 5 + 24-85mm + 3600HS flash second hand is very affordable... u get semi-pro functions with a sufficiently wide (can do landscape and group shots) to moderate telephoto (good for portrait) lens plus a flash which can do high speed sync with a data panel to tell u flash range..... I think $600 would do.... if u can get everything second hand.....

Cheat is selling D5 + 28-80 + 70-300 at 350 now.. good buy

deslim27 said:
Cheat is selling D5 + 28-80 + 70-300 at 350 now.. good buy

$350 meh? Mr Lim wanna earn $30 commission huh? :bsmilie:

Aiyah... if anyone interested, I could let go of the set at $300. Dynax 5 is simply too small and light for me lah... paiseh! :embrass:

The_Cheat said:

Aiyah... if anyone interested, I could let go of the set at $300. Dynax 5 is simply too small and light for me lah... paiseh! :embrass:

Basket! Didn't even say thank you, still want to accuse me! ;(

I think 300 too expensive, anyone interested should slash another 50% more.. :bsmilie: just kidding..

Good Buy!

deslim27 said:
Basket! Didn't even say thank you, still want to accuse me! ;(

I think 300 too expensive, anyone interested should slash another 50% more.. :bsmilie: just kidding..

Good Buy!

Haha~! Paiseh! Paiseh!

Thank you huh Mr Lim... treat you to kopi sometime lah!! :D

cora said:
Hi where do you teach by the way?

Let me speak on behalf of my lao shi :embrass:

He's none other than the legendary Stanley Lim of Stanley Lim Studio! :cheergal: :lovegrin:

The_Cheat said:

i'm still considering... not for myself lah. for a friend who is super interested in my camera. it's too ex to get for her as a bday present, yet she's a bit reluctant to part with the money cos she's not sure if she can handle a SLR.

sigh... anyway... i'm keeping your offer in view.

The_Cheat said:
Haha~! Paiseh! Paiseh!

Thank you huh Mr Lim... treat you to kopi sometime lah!! :D

Hey "the cheat", I cant confirm on the camera as yet. Will only be able to confirm things by next week. Will pm you k.