Minolta Lens Specs.

ninelives

Specs of Minolta Lenses :

lenspecs_c.jpg

Hope this help.

it certainly will help us to spend more!!!

Just curious, where did you get this chart? The units are non-metric. AFAIK, the local catalogues should be using metric units.

Originally posted by nhyone
Just curious, where did you get this chart? The units are non-metric. AFAIK, the local catalogues should be using metric units.

erm /me scratches head. what do u mean??

Originally posted by ninelives

erm /me scratches head. what do u mean??

The minimum focus distances and dimensions are all in feet and inches although in Singapore we use metres and centimeters. Also the weight is in ounces instead of grams.

BTW, for interested brothers here, I asked CP for a quotation for the Minolta 17-35mm f/3.5 G.........guess what ...............it's $2500!!!!!!! Got a real shock. Never expected it to be so expensive. Have got to consider similar 3rd party lens from Sigma, Cosina and Tokina already manz...........

BT, are there 10-24mm ultra wide angle lens around?

Originally posted by TME

BTW, for interested brothers here, I asked CP for a quotation for the Minolta 17-35mm f/3.5 G.........guess what ...............it's $2500!!!!!!! Got a real shock. Never expected it to be so expensive. Have got to consider similar 3rd party lens from Sigma, Cosina and Tokina already manz...........
ya lor, this one is a G lens mah. wat about AF20-35 ? have u check out the price?

Originally posted by TME
BTW, for interested brothers here, I asked CP for a quotation for the Minolta 17-35mm f/3.5 G.........guess what ...............it's $2500!!!!!!! Got a real shock. Never expected it to be so expensive.
I got a shock when I asked for the 300/2.8 lens. :D

Originally posted by ninelives
ya lor, this one is a G lens mah. wat about AF20-35 ? have u check out the price?

Aiyah, never but it's probably much cheaper since it does not have a fixed aperture. The Tokina equivalent 20-35mm PRO is about $1010 according to ckiang. I think I have got to settle for the Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 which is only $490, again courtesy of ckiang. The Sigma 17-35mm f/2.8-4.0 is about $780 - but price varies significantly from shop to shop. I think Alan Photo is the cheapest for the Sigma. CP does not carry Sigma. The Sigma has slightly better aperture range? Have never asked for the Cosina 19-35 f/3.5-4.5 price though. How's this lens, anyone knows? I think Ninja did put up some pics but not very conclusive cos he was taking photos in rather extreme circumstances - not a good gauge of the performance of the lens?

I got a shock when I asked for the 300/2.8 lens. :D

What's the price like? Anyway, that is a pro lens for me lah. Rather buy a zoom, more versatile and also I not good enough to spot any real differences in optical quality loh!

Saw someone selling his Minolta AF 75-300mm (D) lens on Singnet classifieds. Quite interested to get it but not sure about the quality of the lens. Has anyone had any experience using this lens? Thanks

Chew

Originally posted by TME
What's the price like?
I totally forgot about this thread until it resurfaced! :p Try Cathay Photo's eQuote.. ;)

Anyway, that is a pro lens for me lah. Rather buy a zoom, more versatile and also I not good enough to spot any real differences in optical quality loh!
But most consumer-class zoom lenses that go to 300mm are usually not very good at 300mm. This is only what I read, no practical experience.

And I believe the difference should be obvious, especially at wide apertures. Not just this lens; I believe you get what you pay for.

I totally forgot about this thread until it resurfaced! :p Try Cathay Photo's eQuote.. ;)

But most consumer-class zoom lenses that go to 300mm are usually not very good at 300mm. This is only what I read, no practical experience.

And I believe the difference should be obvious, especially at wide apertures. Not just this lens; I believe you get what you pay for.

But there is always a sweet spot loh for most lens range. That is where brands like Tamron, Tokina, Cosina, Vivitar and Sigma come in. The 3 big brands are really way off the scale for large aperture lens.

Originally posted by TME
But there is always a sweet spot loh for most lens range. That is where brands like Tamron, Tokina, Cosina, Vivitar and Sigma come in.
Do you mean there's an optimal focal length/aperture for every lens? Sure, but if the optimal point is 135mm @ f/8, it sure won't help you if you want to shoot at 300mm @ f/5.6. ;)

Among the consumer-class zoom lenses, I believe that there is a difference between the different telephoto offerings.

Let's take for example, 3 lenses: 70-210/4.5-5.6, 75-300/4.5-5.6 and 100-300/4.5-5.6. The last one has the smallest zoom range, but often has APO element and is priced much more expensive. As these lenses are already quite slow, it is important to be able to get good enough result wide open. The question is, can you?

It is unfortunate most lens makers use only price to differentiate their lenses. I'm sure they can do more than that. (But maybe not -- then who would want to buy their lowerend lenses?)

The 3 big brands are really way off the scale for large aperture lens.
No choice. Even a 300/4 lens is very expensive already, and it is "only" one stop faster than a 100-300/4.5-5.6 zoom lens. But what you get is not just that one stop. When you get such a lens, presumably it's to use f/4 most of the time, so it has to be good there. This is unlike consumer-class lenses, where you often have to stop down to get good result.

Hiee.....

Juz to share...for the Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 APO macro Super......surprisingy the shop directly opposite Mcdonalds in Lucky plaza (door entrance is angled to the walay outside).....i think its selling for minolta mount 330SGD.....Fotoguide i think is 380sgd.....

regards,
me

Hiee...

After looking at different manufcturers lenses, most of their consumer lenses uses similar basic design.

If you lok at the Canon 75-300,Nikon75-300 ,Tamron 70-300and Sigma 70-300....they looks like have similar internal lens elements only having different plastics chassis......(i call these lenses pinnochio lens...as they really extend to quite a length at the long range...

regards,
me

Originally posted by sulhan
Hiee.....

Juz to share...for the Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 APO macro Super......surprisingy the shop directly opposite Mcdonalds in Lucky plaza (door entrance is angled to the walay outside).....i think its selling for minolta mount 330SGD.....Fotoguide i think is 380sgd.....

regards,
me

Wah liew! That is a very good price leh! $330 only and can get a super telephoto. BTW, how's the image quality? Should be good right, cos got APO! Thanks!