Mentor program

Originally posted by Poledra
But you're already my shifu ...
Remember sneak shots day?

So Darren would be my grand shifu lah.. So old one..
EEEeee......... :D

ok so i Master Sneaky Geeky. Darren is Grand Master Foto Nirvana. :D

Originally posted by Jed
Not to mention, I think it's seriously time to raise my profile a bit man. This is depressing :embrass:

Jed

time 4 u 2 post more pics :devil:

Originally posted by Larry

ok so i Master Sneaky Geeky. Darren is Grand Master Foto Nirvana. :D

Larry ,

I oso wan 2 learn how 2 b sneaky like u leh :devil:

Originally posted by jeffgoh
Larry ,

I oso wan 2 learn how 2 b sneaky like u leh :devil:
it's all in the mind... be one with the camera.... size matters not (just look @ my waistline)... and be prepared to waste film... :bsmilie: :D

errr wat talking u ?? i onli say sneaky nothing got 2 do with photography leh :angel:

/me runs and hide from larry

Originally posted by jeffgoh
errr wat talking u ?? i onli say sneaky nothing got 2 do with photography leh :angel:

/me runs and hide from larry
basket... :kok:

hello~

so is this mentor program on for real or not? sounds quite interesting leh.

Originally posted by MaGixShOe
doubt its gonna get thru:D
actually, in a sense, it's already in effect. for me i know i get a lot of PMs asking me for advice and tips, and when i go out for outings, i try as much as my limited knowledge allows to give some pointers as well, esp to newbies. not sure about the rest, but i know Darren's happy to give expert pointers as well (seen him do it more than once, and once for me - that's why i call him my sifu), and i'm sure so are the rest of the mods, admins and more "old bird" members.

IMHO i dun think there needs to be a formal structure for a mentor program. if you really want some advice or pointers, just PM the person you think can help you. chances are you'll get some answers. and believe it or not, SEEDs and outings also help as you can get some firsthand tips there, on almost any topic. just ask around and i'm sure there's someone around who can help or answer your burning questions.

it's a online community lah, and like all community, must be a bit thick-skinned mah. dun think you can (or should expect to) just sign up and wait for a "mentor" to be assigned to you. doesn' work that way i feel.

so... ASK! and you shall (usually) receive... :D

how come nobody volunteered to be mentor yet??

/me looking for a mentor! :p

Hey Larry, it sounds like you are using film to take pictures? It just seems that the whole world is turning to digital....

Originally posted by yeocolin
Hey Larry, it sounds like you are using film to take pictures? It just seems that the whole world is turning to digital....
he using digital also..

Larry ;p

Originally posted by MaGixShOe
he using digital also..

Larry ;p
i use both actually. digital for work, film for personal gratification. :D

huh?? what do u mean by personal gratification? Why does film produce more gratification than digital, unless you don't own the digital cam yourself?

Originally posted by yeocolin
huh?? what do u mean by personal gratification? Why does film produce more gratification than digital, unless you don't own the digital cam yourself?
i'm a long time film user, so handling and developing film gives me more personal satisfaction than digital. nothing like looking thru a loupe @ a well-exposed, well composed shot to give you that shiok shiok feeling. :D

so for work, i use digital for quick workflow and turnaround time. for personal stuff, i still prefer slide film. takes longer time but results are more gratifying IMHO.

ok so i Master Sneaky Geeky. Darren is Grand Master Foto Nirvana.
Hey I also want, oh great master hide-in-plain-sight-sneaky-around-at-nite....
:devil: :D :bsmilie: :angel:

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

:gbounce: :rbounce:

Nothing beats the feeling of viewing that favourite piece of slides through a loupe. Shiok.

Would be great to have a mentor to give serious critiques to photos. :rbounce: :rbounce:

Falcon said:
Would be great to have a mentor to give serious critiques to photos. :rbounce: :rbounce:
wow old thread being revived... didn't know this idea was still being kicked around. :D