Manchester United IX - Quest for Treble Glory Continues....

Quaresma vows to make impact at Bridge

Ricardo Quaresma is determined to put his nightmare spell at Inter Milan behind him and help reignite Chelsea's drive for silverware this season.

Chelsea became the fifth club of the 25-year-old's professional career when he signed on loan from the Serie A giants until the end of the season.

After an unsuccessful spell at Barcelona, the Sporting Lisbon trainee moved to Porto before he was snapped up by Inter boss Jose Mourinho last summer for 18million euros (£16.3million).

Despite scoring on his debut, the Portuguese winger failed to establish himself at the San Siro and was criticised by Mourinho for what he saw as the winger's poor work-rate.

After making just 12 starts for Inter, Quaresma admitted he was glad to leave the Italians for Stamford Bridge, where the man whom he used to play under with Portugal - Luiz Felipe Scolari - is currently manager.

"I didn't have many opportunities to show my qualities at Inter,'' Quaresma told Chelsea's website.

"I am really glad I have this opportunity to play with such a good club as Chelsea.''

Chelsea's defeat at Liverpool on Sunday leaves them five points adrift of Premier League leaders Manchester United, who have a game in hand.

Quaresma is, however, hopeful that he can put Chelsea's faltering quest for silverware back on track.

"Now I aim to play the best that I can to help Chelsea to achieve their goals because all I want is to show my qualities, to show what I am made of and hopefully I am going to help Chelsea achieve their goals,'' he added.

"Obviously Chelsea is a great club and it has great quality players and I am very proud that I can have the chance to represent such a great club.''

Quaresma was the only player to arrive at Stamford Bridge in the winter transfer window while Carlo Cudicini and Sergio Tejera left for Tottenham and Real Mallorca respectively.

He can play on either flank and will compensate for the absence of Joe Cole, who has been ruled out for the rest of the season with a knee ligament injury.

Quaresma, who has 24 international caps, will now compete with Florent Malouda and Salomon Kalou for places.

"I believe the competition is good and these two are players that I admire,'' he said.

"My intention is to work hard to gain my place in the team and I believe competing with great players is what makes you a better player.

"I am going to give my best, I am going to prove that I deserve to be in this team and that I am the right player to help Chelsea achieve their goals. Hopefully I will be able to do so.''

Quaresma joins countrymen Deco, Jose Bosingwa, Paulo Ferreira, Ricardo Carvalho and Henrique Hilario at Stamford Bridge and he believes that will help him settle into life at the club.

"With all the other Portuguese players, I am sure it is going to be easier for me and I am very glad to be here with them,'' he added. "I hope to please the supporters as much as I hope to please the team because that is what we play for, that is what motivates us.''

Keane to take over as captain at Tottenham

Harry Redknapp has confirmed Robbie Keane will captain Tottenham after completing his move back to White Hart Lane.

Although defender Ledley King will retain the club captaincy, manager Redknapp will entrust Keane with the responsibility for leading the team in matches.

Keane was unable to win a regular place in the Liverpool team and was picked up by Tottenham yesterday, six months after leaving to join the club he supported as a boy.

There have been suggestions Keane will have to win over the Tottenham support at the start of his second stint in north London, however Redknapp is certain the Republic of Ireland captain will prove a reliable team leader.

"He is such a terrific character and I am glad to have him here because he will be important to us both on and off the field,'' Redknapp said on the club's website.

"He is just the type of player we need here and gives his all every time he plays.

"He is a leader with great presence in the dressing room and I am sure his enthusiasm will rub off on others.

"Ledley is our club captain but because of his injury he accepts he can't be involved every week, so Robbie will be my team captain.''

What happen to Beckham's "oath" to promote soccer in America? :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

Beckham brings in lawyers over Milan move

becks412g0128.jpg

AC Milan general manager Adriano Galliani has revealed David Beckham's lawyers have started negotiations with Los Angeles Galaxy regarding a permanent move to the San Siro.

The on-loan midfielder has been a huge success in Italy, where he has scored two goals and provided three assists in his first five games to help Milan move into second place in Serie A.

On Monday, Beckham was included in Milan's updated UEFA Cup player list - fuelling speculation that they would try to keep him beyond his March 9 loan expiration date - and now Galliani has said he is ready to do a deal if Galaxy are ready to talk.

"Beckham's lawyers are talking to the Los Angeles Galaxy who are the rightful owners of his registration," said the Milan chief. "If they show themselves to be ready to look at a deal, we would be really happy to do so."

Galliani, speaking at Milan's Malpensa airport as his team prepared to fly out for a friendly match against Rangers, said: "At the moment there's neither optimism nor pessimism."

"The player belongs to Galaxy. We wish they decide to release him, but if they don't change their minds the player is theirs.

"We are looking to get him either on loan until the end of the season or on a permanent basis. Otherwise, with the greatest regret from everyone - starting with me - Beckham will have to go."

Galliani added: "Players can make their choices but their clubs can refuse their wishes. Moreover, the Los Angeles Galaxy have always been very nice to us and have behaved in a very gentlemanly manner.

"In any case at this moment there are no dealings and we haven't made an offer, but Beckham's lawyers are talking with Los Angeles. There is time until March 8 to get us round a table and close a possible deal."

When Milan touched down at Glasgow Airport ahead on Wednesday night's match at Ibrox Beckham was swamped by the media but refused to answer any questions.

The 33-year-old has proved so effective for Milan that coach Carlo Ancelotti claims the Rossoneri's Scudetto chances depend on Beckham staying at the San Siro.

"The Scudetto race would be much easier for us if he stays," Ancelotti told Sky Italia. "He has given us a new boost in quality and in enthusiasm, he has given this team an added extra.

"He has added his own qualities to the team, in the way he plays, his focus, his qualities of assist and in the goals that he has scored. He has given a great contribution that we didn't expect."

Ancelotti reiterated his desire to keep Beckham at the club, but once again insisted he is powerless to make that happen.

"I'm a realist," he added. "I know that he will be with us until March 9, we have to try and take advantage of that in the best way possible, as he is doing now.

"His desire is to stay - he hasn't hidden that - but it's a problem between him and the Los Angeles Galaxy. In this we, as a club, cannot get involved."

DB wants to get into Eng team and I think he likes Milan and the style in Italy suits him where the pace is slower. Milan is like retirement home for footballers!

But they got quite a collection of oldies with new players like Kaka and Pato.

Rumour that Man Utd is stalling for Tevez and might not take up the 1st option to sign him.

Beckham admits he wants to swap LA for Milan

becks22_200.jpg

After weeks of speculation David Beckham has finally admitted what many football fans across the globe already suspected: he wants to cut short his time in the MLS with Los Angeles Galaxy and move permanently to Italy's Serie A and European giants AC Milan.

After playing the first half of Milan's 2-2 friendly draw in Scotland against Rangers on Wednesday night, Beckham revealed he hoped to make his loan deal a permanent transfer.

''I've expressed my desire to stay here but at the moment I'm still a Galaxy player,'' Beckham said. ''I respect the Galaxy and everything they have done for me. They have always been great to me.

''But I hope they can come to an agreement and it's down to the clubs now. At this point it's out of my hands. I've said what my feelings are to both clubs. To be given the chance again to play at this level at my age is pretty incredible and I've enjoyed it so much I would like to continue it.

''I knew I would enjoy it, but I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I have and do as well as I have.''

A big hint that Milan thought a permanent deal was possible came earlier this week when the Italian giants included Beckham in their updated UEFA Cup player list, a competition Beckham has not won and which resumes later this month.

Milan have made no secret of their desire to retain the services of the 33-year-old beyond the end of his loan deal, which is due expire on March 9 thereby allowing Beckham to return to the US and take part in pre-season training ahead of the MLS season.

After Sunday's 3-0 win over Lazio in which Beckham failed to score in his third consecutive game, but did create two goals, Milan coach Carlo Ancelotti described the former England captain as ''indispensable.''

Similarly Milan's vice president Adriano Galliani has previously claimed his club will go the extra mile to keep Beckham at the San Siro, saying: ''We really want to keep him, but it depends on Galaxy.

''To lose him would be a blow, hence, we will make every sacrifice and every attempt to keep him. When he joined us we expected him to do well but we didn't think he would do so well,'' said Galliani earlier this week.

In his brief period in Italy Beckham has been an immediate success winning over a sceptical public and media thanks to his impact on Milan's side.

So far Galaxy have refused to discuss Beckham's future, with club spokesman Patrick Donnelly insisting on Wednesday: ''We have no comment to make.''

The main reason behind Beckham's decision to seek a loan move was his ambition to play for England at the 2010 World Cup finals and he clearly feels that aim would be better served by moving from the US back to the top-class European game.

Beckham said: ''I think people have seen the way I've been since playing at this level again. It's nothing against the MLS and the football over there, because it's a game that will grow but it will take quite a few years.

''I'm still confident that will happen eventually, but I want to have a chance of being involved in 2010 and I believe my best chance of doing so is to remain here.''

Beckham, who recovered from a minor bout of flu to play in Glasgow, revealed England manager Fabio Capello had encouraged him to play at the best standard of football he could.

Beckham said: ''When I was first thinking about going on loan, obviously I asked his advice on where I should play and he said, 'All I can say to you is play at the highest level'.''

However, the former Manchester United and Real Madrid player refused to look back with regret at his decision to move to America.

He said: ''I have always made decisions never regretting anything in my career and my life. At the time I felt it was right for me and I have had great times there.

''Who knows, I might enjoy myself in the MLS again in the future. It's nothing against the league. It's just I have enjoyed myself so much here I want to stay for a while.''

Milan general manager Adriano Galliani earlier claimed Beckham's lawyers were in talks with LA Galaxy over extending the midfielder's stay at the San Siro.

While Beckham did not believe talks had reached that stage, he does expect both clubs to discuss a deal in the coming days.

Galliani said: ''The Los Angeles Galaxy have always been very nice to us and have behaved in a very gentlemanly manner. There is time until March 8 to get us round a table and close a possible deal.''

LA Galaxy fans are going to hate Becks to the death.
After spending so much on him, not only did he never make an impact or help them win the title.
Now he's turning his back on them. :nono:

DB wants to get into Eng team and I think he likes Milan and the style in Italy suits him where the pace is slower. Milan is like retirement home for footballers!

But they got quite a collection of oldies with new players like Kaka and Pato.

Leauge in the US is the most taxing leauge in the world having to fly hours long distance flight in between games with min rest! Who can tahan such a taxing leauge alot of world class players went over and no one make it!:confused:

So its normal that if Milan where to hint of anything DB will certainly jump at it, wouldn't be supprise if it is DB who request for the move!:devil:

Rumour that Man Utd is stalling for Tevez and might not take up the 1st option to sign him.

Alamak this saga is draging to long liao!:sweatsm:

I would say use the $30 million for Tevez on Karim Benzema. :thumbsup:
Imagine Berbatov and Benzema strike force. :o

14203benzema.jpg

I would say use the $30 million for Tevez on Karim Benzema. :thumbsup:
Imagine Berbatov and Benzema strike force. :o

14203benzema.jpg

:think: Not a bad idea but we still need an strong in the box finisher!:devil:

Benzema will be the one :devil:

Liverpool lost 1-0 to Everton in the FA Cup replay.
Match went into extra time.
Everton nick it in the 118th min. :bsmilie:

Quaresma for nani anytime........ that dude combine with ronaldo ..... the best winger Left/Right

Actually Nani has lots of potential in him.
His pace, cross, and powerful shot, has scored a number of goals outside the box.
Just hope SAF can nurture him well.

And most likely Ronnie will be gone next summer.

I second Fergie should give Nani more first team chance....he has penetration and flair...he can handle pressure.....he did very well when he just arrived last year....everyone else was injured or off form and because of him MU picked up many valuable points early in the season :thumbsup:

Actually Nani has lots of potential in him.
His pace, cross, and powerful shot, has scored a number of goals outside the box.
Just hope SAF can nurture him well.

And most likely Ronnie will be gone next summer.

Its ok for Ronnie to go as we are begining to get use to not having him around .... actually he around or not not much effect!:bsmilie:

Actually i think he will leave when SAF leave!:devil:

Its ok for Ronnie to go as we are begining to get use to not having him around .... actually he around or not not much effect!:bsmilie:

Actually i think he will leave when SAF leave!:devil:

I disagree lah....MU has became even more exciting to watch since Ronnie arrival 5~6 years ago, he is also one reason why not many people complaint after Beckham and RVN left.....I just couldn't think of any other EPL player that is more excited to watch with the ball, not even Roonie, Torres etc.....he is the only one constantly among the best player in the world like Kaka and Messi :thumbsup:

Selling him now might fetch an instant win fall for MU but the support to the club and merchandisers and telecast sales will inevitably loose out to primadonna team like Real Madrid etc :sweat:

I disagree lah....MU has became even more exciting to watch since Ronnie arrival 5~6 years ago, he is also one reason why not many people complaint after Beckham and RVN left.....I just couldn't think of any other EPL player that is more excited to watch with the ball, not even Roonie, Torres etc.....he is the only one constantly among the best player in the world like Kaka and Messi :thumbsup:

Selling him now might fetch an instant win fall for MU but the support to the club and merchandisers and telecast sales will inevitably loose out to primadonna team like Real Madrid etc :sweat:

Yes, Man Utd have been more exciting to watch with Ronaldo but selling him will not cause the club to lose support, club merchandise sales etc as many others like Cantona, Becks, Keane etc all left and Man Utd still have a strong base support and merchandise sales.

Ronaldo is impt to Man Utd but not indispensible, not even King Eric is. Players come and go and Ronaldo has already been with us for 6 years but I think he will stay as long as Fergie is in charge.

Quaresma on his day is a world beater, even better than Ronaldo and Messi but must be on his day and his day dun come often enough. :bsmilie: Think back in 02 Man Utd was tracking him but eventually back out cos he was not consistant enough.

LA Galaxy fans are going to hate Becks to the death.
After spending so much on him, not only did he never make an impact or help them win the title.
Now he's turning his back on them. :nono:

Galaxy is never going to be the club for Becks. The only reason he is there cos its in Hollywood and offers him mega bucks.

Becks is only 1 man and football is a team sport. If his team is crap, then there is nothing much he can do. Not even Pele can help MLS let alone Becks. :bsmilie: