Malapascua

Makan is not cheap but not that expensive either. Ate at exotic resort only standard of food not too bad. exotic has a full board package at 1,000 php per day, good if you're a big eater. If not look to pay around 150-300 php on average for a main course, drinks are 35-80 php. (35 for a bottle of coke, 80 for a latte). Chicken dishes are plenty, beef too, fish and seafood also got. Food is a mixture of international/western and some chinese/local dishes.

Didn't explore the island so not really sure. There's a floating bar near exotic resort though, should be a nice place to catch sunsets. ;)

Thxs for the Info Bro !! :thumbsup:

I like your wide series. are you using the 8 inch dome for the wide angle? what's your review of the port?

heh, thot the wide angles were kinda sucky. still struggling with the proper settings with the 8mm fisheye. Missed a great photo op as a huge manta came head on towards me just as i turned off my strobes to try and shoot natural light as the vis was no good. Only shot the wide angles at monad shoal which is kinda barren with little landscape to shoot wides unless you're lucky and get really close to a manta/thresher/eagle ray/devil ray/whale shark/hammerhead.

First time using the 8" dome with the zuiko 8mm fisheye lens. the port is ok except for some things to note. There's a port body you need to screw on, boy it took me a while figure out how to screw it in properly. (fyi: it takes 2 hands and the housing to do it properly. After that, the dome fits to the housing by fitting it in and turning, no locks or latches, just water pressure to seal. Also heard the dome scratches rather easily, but thankfully none for me so far. I guess i didn't have much choice as ikelite was the only manufacturer for my camera. And to shoot wide angle properly you'll have to use the 8" dome.

thanks for the info.
yes, dome port scratches easily. even under water, have to put on the cover when not shooting. a friend once has his port scratched when diving in current.

thanks for the info.
yes, dome port scratches easily. even under water, have to put on the cover when not shooting. a friend once has his port scratched when diving in current.

Yup. Some others like sea & sea made of glass i think should be less prone to scratches.

Makan is not cheap but not that expensive either. Ate at exotic resort only standard of food not too bad. exotic has a full board package at 1,000 php per day, good if you're a big eater. If not look to pay around 150-300 php on average for a main course, drinks are 35-80 php. (35 for a bottle of coke, 80 for a latte). Chicken dishes are plenty, beef too, fish and seafood also got. Food is a mixture of international/western and some chinese/local dishes.

Didn't explore the island so not really sure. There's a floating bar near exotic resort though, should be a nice place to catch sunsets. ;)

you should walk around,
there's a really cheap and nice restaurant in the middle of the island, its about 100php for a main course + drink :)

you should walk around,
there's a really cheap and nice restaurant in the middle of the island, its about 100php for a main course + drink :)

Wow.... thxs for this info. :thumbsup:

you should walk around,

hehe, too tired to walk around. basically after diving only want to have dinner, review and delete junk pics, back it up and set up camera for the next day before hitting the sack. dawn dives at 5.30am and 3 more dives after that rannging in the 75-95 min range plus the cold does zap your energy. :bsmilie:

yeah i also very tired i got night dive somemore leh

but foooooddd so important!! :p

Btw howeikwok.... read from your Blog that you were using Nitrox when waiting for Thresher..... How important is Nitrox ?? Non in my Dive Gang is Nitrox train..... we thought about taking the course in Malapascua.... but the cost is an extra $350 SGD...... something like half of the whole dive trip..... too $$$$ for our buget.

Need an Opinion here..... is using or learning Nitrox really important for Thresher Waiting ??

Thxs for any info :thumbsup:

Btw howeikwok.... read from your Blog that you were using Nitrox when waiting for Thresher..... How important is Nitrox ?? Non in my Dive Gang is Nitrox train..... we thought about taking the course in Malapascua.... but the cost is an extra $350 SGD...... something like half of the whole dive trip..... too $$$$ for our buget.

Need an Opinion here..... is using or learning Nitrox really important for Thresher Waiting ??

Thxs for any info :thumbsup:

Nitrox extends your No Decompression Limit(NDL), hence allowing you to stay deep longer (pending on your air consumption as well).

For example, you dive on normal air, you go to 20-25m (thrasher waiting depth) your NDL is 20min.
On Nitrox 32% your NDL can be extend to 35min? so you can stay there extra 15mins and increase your chance of spotting one :)

Do your course in singapore, ranging from $150-250 only don't even need to dive, just need to go for class. One evening + 1 exam :)

Even without the threshers, going on Nitrox also means you are able to shoot longer underwater, no nid to rush to shoot ... compared to a diver on air

Thxs for the info Bros..... :thumbsup:

Just that the extra is a little to much on the Buget..... One dive centre in S'pore quote me $299 without dive..... adding $715 for the trip to Malapascua..... really cut into our buget. I do understand the important of Nitrox for deep dive..... but hard to convict every single person in my group...... some already express "Why don't we just decompass longer at 8m than again at 5m" kind of thinking......

hate to be the lazy guy here..... anyone have lobang on a cheap Nitrox course in S'pore for 6 ppl..... Don't think dive is needed.... just need to get Cert.

Thxs again for any info :thumbsup:

Nitrox is good for you, it flushes out the excess nitrogen in your body accumlated from the previous dives of the day, and it lowers your body's nitrogen intake, which lowers the risk of DCS.

i have, $150 each let me know if you're interested :)

Nitrox is good for you, it flushes out the excess nitrogen in your body accumlated from the previous dives of the day, and it lowers your body's nitrogen intake, which lowers the risk of DCS.

i have, $150 each let me know if you're interested :)

Really Bro !! THXS !! :thumbsup:

I need a few days to gather info from my group..... 1 of them still in KL. I also need to know what do we need to bring for class.... and where will the class be held.

I will PM you hopfully within a week..... THXS AGAIN BRO :thumbsup:

Bring yourself can liao hahaha.. classes in tanjong pagar, one evening, if you can pass exam same evening will be good, if not then one more day for lesson

or pay $250 for guarantee passing :)

btw, dun worry about scratches on the external side of the dome. Water will fill up the gaps so no impact optically......or rather in photos.....

That i know. However i was talking to dylan/ivan and his 8" dome has a pretty visable scratch and he says it shows up in sunburst shots? :dunno:

Bring yourself can liao hahaha.. classes in tanjong pagar, one evening, if you can pass exam same evening will be good, if not then one more day for lesson

Thxs.... get back to you asap. Btw..... Err.... this is not some 'Fly By Night' class right ?? I mean, confirm can get our Cert isn't it (if we pass of course) ??

Hahaha.... just like my OW & AOW..... :bsmilie:

That i know. However i was talking to dylan/ivan and his 8" dome has a pretty visable scratch and he says it shows up in sunburst shots? :dunno:

Sorry for kind of Hijacking your thread..... :embrass:

Thxs.... get back to you asap. Btw..... Err.... this is not some 'Fly By Night' class right ?? I mean, confirm can get our Cert isn't it (if we pass of course) ??

Hahaha.... just like my OW & AOW..... :bsmilie:

Sorry for kind of Hijacking your thread..... :embrass:

Ahhh no worries. my nitrox was under IANTD and cost $180 including 2 tanks of nitrox but not including trip. So made a trip to dayang last year to dive with the 2 tanks, one on EAN32 and the other EAN36. Plus learn how to use the analyser.