Macro ring flash for digital Dynax...

drake336

Hi folks, anyone knows which model of macro ring flash (Minolta or 3rd party, doesn't matter) is capable of TTL and ADI mode with the 7D / 5D series (like the 5600HS (D) and 3600HS (D))?

The older models that I know of can probably only be used in manual mode like the old 5400HS / 3600HS which is really a pain...

Macro masters, inputs?

KM Macro ring flash 1200 or the twin unit 2400. but both will set you back a few hundred bucks. there're supposedly 3rd party ones out there at a fraction of the price although i've no idea if they'll work as well. try ebay.

I was thinking, the 1200 / 2400 were from the same generation as the 5400HS / 3600HS (non-D version), and those lose their TTL when used on the 5D/7D, won't it be the same for the macro flashes?

drake336 said:
I was thinking, the 1200 / 2400 were from the same generation as the 5400HS / 3600HS (non-D version), and those lose their TTL when used on the 5D/7D, won't it be the same for the macro flashes?

hmm u dun say i also din notice, maybe later i go test...

I think there is no ADI metering on all the ring flashes, new or old. I did saw a cheaper version , mmmm SUNPAK? cost around $500 which is good for portiats and marcos at the same time as the mount is big! 72mm, if i remenber correctly.

drake, you don't specifically want TTL or ADI or what, just as long as it has an auto setting instead of pure manual right?

i think the old minolta ring flashes can be used in auto mode, but you have to get a new controller... the one that mounts onto the flash hotshoe and is connected to the ring flash by cable...

very ex lor...

just as i thought... other option is Sigma EM-140 DG, somehow I think that not cheap too...

Ebay have Phoenix / Vivitar ones selling at US$75, think that's as cheap as can be liao...

the KM brochure for the 5D lists the 1200 and 2400 (plus controller of course) as add-on components so i assume metering is still possible.

Hiee Pals....

As long as you use the ring flash 1200 with the new controller you get ttl as the controller allows double triggering.

New flashes like the 3600/5600 and the new controller for the 1200 or the 2400 include retriggering device that allows the flash to double trigger for pre-flash metering...