M8 2.0 Firmware: Anyone?

Upgraded to 2.0 last night.

Everything is working fine to my relief ...
cant wait to buy me a bitchin fast SDHC card.

does anyone know if they sell the new M8,2 charger ?

Upgraded to 2.0 last night.

Everything is working fine to my relief ...
cant wait to buy me a bitchin fast SDHC card.

does anyone know if they sell the new M8,2 charger ?

Get the 16GB Extreme III SDHC 30MB/s (has to be 16GB since the other lower capacity Extreme III cards are only 20MB/s). Some of us are using it.

I'm also waiting, but I think might as well get the M8.2 which has the new charger.

There is a new 8BG 30MB/s one...but hasn't hit our shore yet..at least that's what the salesman told me

Ya ya me want the charger too :)

And the Noc 0.95 and S2 and R10 and M9.. :sweat::sweatsm::lovegrin:

But at the rate Leica is pricing their product..think can buy a nice Mercedes liao :bsmilie:

Got my M8 back:) Quieter shutter too:thumbsup:Upgraded to FW2.0-no problem thus far. Will get a SDHC card to try tomorrow.
In Solms for check but back yesterday. Going to pick it up today:)

hmm... 8.2 really that enticing meh?

I heard the online clips of the shutter sounds... and seriously... they sound practically the same... (Perhaps in a real life A/B comparison it would be softer)... also .. the sapphire screen... oh man .. i would kill for one... im hoping the M8 can be still be upgraded in 1-2years time - for a more potent enhancements. (then perhaps spending $2700 to upgrade makes more sense)

Right now... besides the charger i really cannot say that there is any "Significant" improvement. unless you REALLY REALLY love the vulcanite finish.

hmm... 8.2 really that enticing meh?

I heard the online clips of the shutter sounds... and seriously... they sound practically the same... (Perhaps in a real life A/B comparison it would be softer)... also .. the sapphire screen... oh man .. i would kill for one... im hoping the M8 can be still be upgraded in 1-2years time - for a more potent enhancements. (then perhaps spending $2700 to upgrade makes more sense)

Right now... besides the charger i really cannot say that there is any "Significant" improvement. unless you REALLY REALLY love the vulcanite finish.

I thought of sending for the upgrade, but it will still lack the S mode. Anyway, just get the newer one to compare when it is available next month.

Saw the vulcanite; even wrapped it round my M8 to see how it looks-not so nice leh. Maybe may look better on black-painted M8.2. I think it will be nice on chrome M8.2 too. It looks like the M3 vulcanite.

hmm... 8.2 really that enticing meh?............

......Right now... besides the charger i really cannot say that there is any "Significant" improvement. unless you REALLY REALLY love the vulcanite finish.

The latest Leica M8 firmware update 2.002 is now available (instructions available here).
The update includes:
New function: Detection of 6-bit coding for new M lenses
The 6-bit coding and the correction profiles of the new Leica M lenses LEICA SUMMILUX-M 21mm/f1.4
ASPH., LEICA SUMMILUX-M 24mm/f1.4 ASPH. and LEICA ELMAR-M 24mm/f3.8 ASPH. have been
implemented. The profile of the lens LEICA NOCTILUX-M 50mm/f0.95 ASPH. will be implemented in a later
firmware version before the first shipments will start.
“Bug Fixes“:
a. If LEICA M8.2 cameras are set to the “Discreet” option and to single exposures, an unintended “black
image” may have occurred when the finger was not completely lifted from shutter release button
before pressing it down again for the next shot. (Not valid for LEICA M8 Cameras)
b. Setting “AUTO-ISO” in combination with lens dependent setting of the slowest shutter speed: the
camera will switch to the higher ISO when the shutter speed corresponding to “1/focal length” is
reached (was 1/focal length + 1 f-stop).
c. Correct display of image numbering.
d. Correct display of the fastest sync speed in the menu (1/180s on upgraded M8 and M8.2,
1/250s on M8).
Notes:
a. It is not possible to “downdate” LEICA M8 and M8.2 cameras to previous firmware releases, once the
version 2.002 has been installed.
b. Saved User Profiles will be deleted during the update process and have to be set again after updating
the camera.