LX1 Rocks!!!

weekh said:
Will bring LX1 as a backup cam for my trip tomorrow.
Considering to decommission it after the trip and prepare for the LX2 upgrade....

lx1001.jpg

USS Kitty Hawk?;)

lim8395 said:
for those interested in getting Lumix LX1

a few days back, i was just browsing ard Best Denki Hougang Pt and there's a moving out sale.

Lumix LX1 $799 ( display set $699 )

Lumix FX01 can't rem the price shd be something like $579,.....i tink

$799 is still pretty high. btw..you're using ricoh grd? ;)

Wolfgang said:
PS: How have you been? :) Long time no see. :)

long time no see you too. :) i'm fine...busy with my baby..that's why seldom check in here already. p.s. baby here doesn't mean a camera...hehe.

isomers007 said:
i'm one of those who is tempted to get the lx1 cos of weekh. :D
i'm waiting for lx2 reviews to come soon...or else mite as well get lx1 with a lower price.

I think most of you will agree with me that many people are choosing LX1 because of weekh.
I myself have certainly learnt a thing or two and enjoyed reading this thread with many excellent pictures that weekh and others have shared.

So, I wrote to Panasonic Singapore on 26 Jun 2006, but after a week, there was no reply.
I was disappointed on their "no reply".
Then on 03 Jul 2006, I wrote again, this time to Panasonic Japan.
Two days later, I received a reply from Panasonic Singapore asking for weekh's contact.
I replied telling them to post a message in this thread, but sadly untill today I have not seen any messages from Panasonic in this thread. I guess they just don't care?

Below are the emails for those who care to read, sorry for the lengthy emails.

==============================================================

On 6/26/06, adelin wrote:
>
> Dear Panasonic,
> You may be aware that there is a discussion thread on LUMIX LX1 started by
> Weekh at Clubsnap. http://www.clubsnap.org
> If not, please have a look at this forum discussion thread at clubsnap:
> http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=167246
>
> Weekh through this thread has shown Singapore and the world what a great
> camera LUMIX LX1 is, and has made LX1 the camera of choice for many people.
> I don't think I need to write more, the forum thread speaks for itself.
> Would you kindly consider some form of sponsorship for Weekh?
>
> I am writing this because I sincerely think Weekh deserves at least a
> "thank you" from Panansoinic for his pictures through the lens of LX1.
>
> Please note that I am not in any way related to Weekh, I am just a reader
> of the forum. I do not know Weekh, he does not know me and I have never met
> him.
> Sincerely yours,
> Adelin.

===========================================================

To: lumix@desk.panasonic.jp
Date: Jul 3, 2006 2:06 AM
Subject: Re: LX1 rocks!!!
Dear Panasonic,

I am writing to Panasonic Japan to follow up on my email to Panasonic Singapore.

I wrote to Panansonic Singapore about a week ago about an online discussion of Lumix LX1 camera, please refer to email below.

After a week, I have not reveived any response nor acknowledgement of the email that I have sent to Panasonic Singapore. I am very dissapointed on the "no response" from Panasonic Singapore.

I have always had an extremely good impression of Panasonic as a global company with great quality products, but it is unfortunate to say that the quality of the response does not match the quality of the products.

Sincerely yours,
Adelin.

===================================================

To: adelin
Date: Jul 5, 2006 2:11 PM
Subject: Fw: FW:about an online discussion

Adelin,

Thank you for your feedback. We will consider your suggestion.

In the meantime, can you assist us by giving us Weekh direct contact (eg email) ? So that we will be able to establish direct contact with him if we need to use some of materials taken by LX1 in the
future.

Rg
Alice

===========================================================

To: alice.chng
Cc: lumix@desk.panasonic.jp
Date: Jul 6, 2006 1:42 AM
Subject: Re: Fw: FW:about an online discussion

Dear Alice,

Thank you very much for responding and for your kind consideration.

I am sorry to say that I do not have Weekh's contact number.

I think the easiest way to contact Weekh is to sign up as a member at Club Snap Forum (http://forums.clubsnap.org/), membership is free. Then post a message in the "LX1 Rocks!!" thread ( http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=167246) , and mention that you are from Panasonic asking to contact Weekh, and also leave your email address for Weekh to contact Panasonic.

I will be reading the forum to see your message in the thread. If you have any problem posting a message, please let me know, I will try to help.

I would like to take this opportunity to compliment Panasonic (and Leica) for creating a great line up of LUMIX cameras. I believe there is a huge crowed of LUMIX fans in Singapore eagerly waiting for the launch of the new LUMIX DMC-L1 in Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Adelin.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

great news, adelin! actually his photos are also known at photo.net. people often used his photos as lx1 sample pictures. :D

isomers007 said:
$799 is still pretty high. btw..you're using ricoh grd? ;)

long time no see you too. :) i'm fine...busy with my baby..that's why seldom check in here already. p.s. baby here doesn't mean a camera...hehe.

oh sorry. correction. i last check at best denki was $779. but i heard it's much cheaper to buy from hongkong, japan set, with no warranty.

Yes i'm using a Ricoh GRD.....and still have a Lumix FZ1v2 too:)

a pity there's no optical finder for the LX1 or the upcoming LX2.

but dammmm, i love the Black version of the LX2!!

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: for Adelin!!!!!

yes, duno why panasonic singapore just doesn't bother. need to make news big big and complaint them upside down then they scared. U can read my post abt my incident abt the Lumix LC1

maybe digicam is not their core bussiness....

:cheergal::cheergal::love1:

weekh said:
No lah... I'm dumping the 1Ds but I'm still keeping the SLR system which includes dozens of lenses and accessories... Thinking of upgrading so that I can dump the LX1 and start using the DSLR again.. ;)

Before I move into digital, I'm a keen user of compact p&s.

The LX1 really shiok to use. Still can't get over with it yet. :thumbsup:

lx1-n.jpg

hhmm...seems a very familiar place. taken inda morning..:think::thumbsup:

just got my lx1, how to convert raw to jpeg? im quite blur.. :confused:

seora said:

You can use Adobe Camera Raw to convert.

zhapchit said:
You can use Adobe Camera Raw to convert.

U need PS CS2 to use Adobe Camera Raw though.
Can also convert to DNG using the Adobe DNG convertor.

tried using the dng convertor, it says that e files are not supported. :cry:

seora said:

I'm using Picassa. It's free. Edit a little and then "Cntrl S" to save a copy. It comes out as Jpeg!! Also allows simple editing. It also has an "export folder" option that seems to save all the files from a folder into jpeg format. I've never used it before though.

RenegaeDing said:
I'm using Picassa. It's free. Edit a little and then "Cntrl S" to save a copy. It comes out as Jpeg!! Also allows simple editing. It also has an "export folder" option that seems to save all the files from a folder into jpeg format. I've never used it before though.

im using picassa to sort all my pictures too, but it doesn't seem to open the raw files. i think i'm having a major problem. i have all the files that you have and doesn't seem to know how to use them. :confused: :cry: :angry:

Don't know if this will help. If you look under Tools/Options/File Types, there is a list of files that you can enable Picassa to show. Make sure the "Raw Formats" box is ticked.

e box is ticked leh.. nvm, think something must be very wrong. i go try to fix it out. thanks :)

/jes

got it already. thanks everyone. :)