Lucky Plaza - Corner Shop near McDonalds

I second Lords.

When I was still green into DSLR, i made a few queries on stuffs that were pretty unnecessary ( now that I thinking back ), and they helped dissuade me from getting them even though they got the items on sale.

They are also the guys who lent me the 70-200mm VR to walk ard the whole Lucky Plaza to try. ( maybe they trust me alot ;p )

Ryan

Well, like what most people say here, Lord's is the ONLY shop that you'll ever want to go into at Lucky Plaza, and to actually buy something.

The rest, well to be honest, are just a bunch of f***ed up people.

There is one shop, around the left side, near mcdonalds, but it is visible from the main road. Dunno what's the name. They display a variety of lenses and camera bodies on the front display. I went in (just for fun really, never thought of buying anything from them) and asked about an accessory item. They quoted me more than double the price of what I eventually got it for (from another shop of course).

And not just that, but their attitude also. For f***, are they interested in selling or not??

What gives you a headache about this? It's a very honest answer. How many shops can admit that they don't have stock and even warn you that the new stock would be more expensive? How many shops will try to comfort you "please wait.." and later will give you all kinds of excuses for higher price?
Have mixed experiences with Lords. When I was there with my friends I got a good deal. Returning alone they tried daylight robbery. MSC is consistent, no tourist "surcharge".

Why no headache? No stock of cos cannot overcharge.

MSC (just like any other retailers) are opportunistic. Everyone goes in and buys at different price depending on a wide array of factors.

Well, like what most people say here, Lord's is the ONLY shop that you'll ever want to go into at Lucky Plaza, and to actually buy something.

The rest, well to be honest, are just a bunch of f***ed up people.

There is one shop, around the left side, near mcdonalds, but it is visible from the main road. Dunno what's the name. They display a variety of lenses and camera bodies on the front display. I went in (just for fun really, never thought of buying anything from them) and asked about an accessory item. They quoted me more than double the price of what I eventually got it for (from another shop of course).

And not just that, but their attitude also. For f***, are they interested in selling or not??

Eh, I think this is the shop I was referring to. Display a ton of stuff. I went in, service was good. Quoted me good price also. Damn.. should have just bought and left.

only lords in lucky plaza is trustworthy,e rest are ridiculously daylight robbers.whenever i wanna laugh then ill go to the other stores and pretend im a naive buyer,its really funny how hard they want your money.:devil:

Eh, I think this is the shop I was referring to. Display a ton of stuff. I went in, service was good. Quoted me good price also. Damn.. should have just bought and left.

i think they see face one. if your head resembles a carrot head, you cannot blame them for trying to chop it off...

i never had problems at lucky plaza. prices are not attractive enough for me to get anything from them too.. so i go get my stuff from one of the reputed "chop people" shops at simlim, who offered me a price cheaper then lords or OP or AP. been a repeatd customer since, brought a few pple there too, who got pretty ok priced stuff there.

i think they see face one. if your head resembles a carrot head, you cannot blame them for trying to chop it off...

i never had problems at lucky plaza. prices are not attractive enough for me to get anything from them too.. so i go get my stuff from one of the reputed "chop people" shops at simlim, who offered me a price cheaper then lords or OP or AP. been a repeatd customer since, brought a few pple there too, who got pretty ok priced stuff there.

Agree with you. So what if not reputable cos I still go back to Canon for repairs anyway.

I go in and I say a string of lens code like Canon L Lens EF 70-200mm USM f/2.8 with IS and Local warranty... try to say slow slow so it is like damn long and they know you not carrot head. Hahaha...

If you go in and say... Er... Ah... got Lens boh? Die... their parang shimmering gleam will come out.

lord's is perfectly ok

After a recommendation from a Professional Photographer who accompanied me to Lord's, I bought a Nikon D80 and a Sigma 18-200mm lens from them.

When I had a problem with the lens, I brought it to Sigma who told me that the lens was a grey set-I was not told this by Lord's.

It would not have reflected badly on them if they had told me the source of the lens at the point of sale, and allowed me to make a choice as to whether I wanted a parallel imported lens.

I have since refused to purchase any items from them and would not recommend them if asked by others.

ermmm... just go straight to Lords, skip e rest! :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

This is surprising, for Lords, which apparently has gotten good reviews from people, to sell gray items without prior notice!

After a recommendation from a Professional Photographer who accompanied me to Lord's, I bought a Nikon D80 and a Sigma 18-200mm lens from them.

When I had a problem with the lens, I brought it to Sigma who told me that the lens was a grey set-I was not told this by Lord's.

It would not have reflected badly on them if they had told me the source of the lens at the point of sale, and allowed me to make a choice as to whether I wanted a parallel imported lens.

I have since refused to purchase any items from them and would not recommend them if asked by others.

MSC (just like any other retailers) are opportunistic. Everyone goes in and buys at different price depending on a wide array of factors.
I think MSC is also another shop which see face one.. Local people who don look like Robert, they will take a calculator and give you a super good pricing. Once I bought a bag from them and I saw the price tag on the bag is $280.. see already I scared. But when I told him the price is a bit ridiculous, guess what he put on the calculator... $110.
I think the price is crazy and its not recommend to go unless you know the market price well. If you can go more than 60% discount on the price tag.. might as well change the price tag.
Another encounter is just a few days ago.. I was actually thinking of buying a diffuser.. so went into MSC since I'm over at the area. They quoted me a Normal diffuser at $30... Sim Lim quoted me $18 and I was reluctant to buy. How would I buy a diffuser at $30.
I think everyone has encounter different thing in different stores.. Really depend on luck and the salesman who serve you. That's why till now I still go back to the original store like sony, nikon or canon to ask for quote or buy any stuff. Although slightly more expensive but I still feel that they are more reliable. (That's just my opinion) :)

i am gonna be quite neutral. i ALWAYS have friendly experiences at Lords. The only reason why i dun get anything from them is cos, their prices are not attractive enough for me, as compared to that "chop people" shop i visit in SLS.

i doubt they meant to exclude the fact that the lens was parallel import. but its important to always ask this question, no matter how dumb it makes you feel or look, " this set got local warranty hor". i essentially have bad experiences with almost all the "recommended shops to visit by clubsnap", except for John and Lords. but at the end of the day, i still go by pricing. i am a cheapo. sorry..

Me and my friend bought our D90 at Lords too as the shop belongs to a friend's uncle and therefore was more confident of buying the product. But too bad the price that was given is what was quoted to everyone else as he said he can't go any lower. Only gave a free cleaning kit & screen protector.

I second Lords.

When I was still green into DSLR, i made a few queries on stuffs that were pretty unnecessary ( now that I thinking back ), and they helped dissuade me from getting them even though they got the items on sale.

They are also the guys who lent me the 70-200mm VR to walk ard the whole Lucky Plaza to try. ( maybe they trust me alot ;p )

Ryan

How much do they sell an AF-S VR 70-200mm f/2.8G IF-ED these days?

about 2900+ or there abouts when i was in the shop just a couple of days ago.
its due to nikon increase the price of their lenses :(

i agree.. i used to be a loyal customer of MSC but i got one bad experience with them last week and I really feel bad.:angry:

have always gotten fair pricing from Lord's.... you need to speak to the same guy you always buy from...

I agree...be it MS Colour, Lords...I always look for the same person...the relationship is there...I bought my D40X from Lords and the uncle remember me always...when I bought my S5Pro from MS Colour...the uncle also remember me liao...I always look for them when I return to them

Just have to establish the relationship lor...:)

I agree...be it MS Colour, Lords...I always look for the same person...the relationship is there...I bought my D40X from Lords and the uncle remember me always...when I bought my S5Pro from MS Colour...the uncle also remember me liao...I always look for them when I return to them

Just have to establish the relationship lor...:)

It depends sometimes. One day they may give you good price. The next time you approach them to buy another item, they may or may not give you good price. Loyalty is a two-way thing.

Moral of the story is, just shop around and see who gives you the best deal that you are comfortable with. With so many shops around, it's all part of the competition.

Best shop in Singapore is Southern Cross... BTW.