LightSphere II Inverted Dome Diffusion System

Pro Image said:
OT here.....WAHAHAHA.................:bsmilie:...........now that's the joke of the week.

Ok on the serious note:
The best is to read more about studio lightings first. That's the best tip of the week.
wondering he kana con by who? :bsmilie:

Pro Image said:
Forget about the dome thingy for the moment and understand the basic lighting techniques before even pruchasing anymore products. Some of the users have good recommendation of the dome because they understand the basic lighting techniques to light up a subject.
Yeah, that's right.

LS Classic in action,

JL_0480-copy.jpg

CreaXion said:
I am a manual user. Therefore I can safely assume that there will be a difference in the use of the power level.
yes of cos there will be a difference in flash power when using a LS & without LS.

I also keen to know... when you mean manual user, you mean Manual exposure mode on your camera or you set your flash (SB800, 580ex etc) to Manual mode?

gryphon said:
yes of cos there will be a difference in flash power when using a LS & without LS.

I also keen to know... when you mean manual user, you mean Manual exposure mode on your camera or you set your flash (SB800, 580ex etc) to Manual mode?

Everything. Manual Exposure on cam as well as on Flash irregardless whether I use it on my D70s or my canon 30D. When I use my Nikon D70s with SB800, I seldom or rarely have white spot on the face due to my flash. However, I noticed that the white spot is quite a recurring problem on my 30D mounted with 580EX.

catchlights said:
LS Classic in action,

JL_0480-copy.jpg

Wah. Totally diffused. Make me totally gian over it. Kena infected by BBB virus liao

CreaXion said:
Everything. Manual Exposure on cam as well as on Flash irregardless whether I use it on my D70s or my canon 30D. When I use my Nikon D70s with SB800, I seldom or rarely have white spot on the face due to my flash. However, I noticed that the white spot is quite a recurring problem on my 30D mounted with 580EX.
u're beginning to sound like.... Ihsan Chua.

of course LS classic or LS II PJ will cut down flash power,
you use ceiling bounce will lose some flash power,
using white card will lose some flash power also,
using omnibounce will lose some flash power too.

catchlights said:

Tip of the week "USE DIRECT FLASH"............will not lose any power.......wahahaha:bsmilie:

Pro Image said:
Tip of the week "USE DIRECT FLASH"............will not lose any power.......wahahaha:bsmilie:
That's right!

all flash units are design being use that way originally, only because of photographers itchy hands, add this add that, turn here turn there, tilt up tilt down.

zcf said:
all shot with LS2PJ on,
20060709 Cosfest V group shots and etc (image intensive)

I must have use it more than thousands of shot since purchase, still in quite good shape.

quite a few of your photos are more tele-portrait kind..they dont do much justice to LSPJ2. taken wide or nearer, from exp, the LSPJ2 gives shadowless, even lighting. when used more tele, the light source becomes more direct because of the distance.

Cheesecake said:
pls remove ur LS in this instance and shoot it with ur naked flash.
in this instance do we shoot direct or use bounce card ? with tele lens i mean..

catchlights said:

Yeah. Tip of the week. But really so gian liao. Just went to Cathay and check out the price. Very very gian sia.

catchlights said:
That's right!

all flash units are design being use that way originally, only because of photographers itchy hands, add this add that, turn here turn there, tilt up tilt down.

I beg to disagree based on the context presented here. I am that type of photographer that will tilt my flash here and there. Before I start tilting my flash here and there, I actually have problem with even exposure. With that technique that I discover by accident and I am sure quite a lot of pp using this technique also, it results in more even exposure.

An example of a situation where u are standing at the side of a row of pp. To shoot them from the side, I will tilt my flash to the side and throw light to the other end. The first immediate person will not have immediate impact of the light and the other end is also lighted up.

From what u say about original design, the original design was meant to tilt here tilt there. Correct me if I'm wrong, but that was already in the design.

Cheesecake said:
need to address some points which i believe is misleading to non-owners and non-users.

LightSphere PhotoJournalist2 which is used by many photographers nowadays, is the more popular model.

it is light and made of plastic. so, if it can damage ur flashgun, ur flashgun mux be made of snow. even for the older version, it would be really incredible if it somehow spoils ur flashgun. haha

after long usages in many events... hmmm.. i'm most amazed that my LSPJ2 is still in its original shape! i mux be doing something drastically wrong that it doesn't warp!

i owned the original Lightsphere ever since it became available in CS from Weekh. it is still in its original shape. i'm so upset.

i've owned the LSPJ2 ever since it first became available. voila! it is still in good shape despite countless usages! wow! it mux be a defect.

the LSPJ2 is fantastic. get one today. :thumbsup:

Dear Cheescake sir

I am glad u enjoyed your LS2 as much as i enjoyed mine. I hope you do not make an assumption that i am trying to mislead would be users/buyers; i am but sharing some facts here. Seriously, this was what i heard from the pro and he is amongst us.

cheers pal.

Have one question on the LS2. I believe I will sound dumb but I wish to make an informed decision before I buy it. Still money even though cheap. Does the item help u all to take events that has difficult lighting situations? Canon has high ISO to help them push the brightness but Nikon has problem with noise. Please dun flame me on this. A matter of personal noise tolerance.

Cheesecake said:
after long usages in many events... hmmm.. i'm most amazed that my LSPJ2 is still in its original shape! i mux be doing something drastically wrong that it doesn't warp!

As for the part about warping under extreme, i believe u might have taken out of context from the my sentence. Do allow me to clarify that the heat i referred to is when a user leaves it in his/her car (most of the time) instead of bringing home after a shoot. The extreme heat can damage the LS since it is made of plastic.

cheers pal and dun get so worked up ya? It is only a plastic cup after all. But damm, Gary is making one hell of a dough from his invention. I am hoping for durex to make one some day cos they are the best in bringing joy to the world.:bsmilie:

contaxable said:
Dear Cheescake sir

I am glad u enjoyed your LS2 as much as i enjoyed mine. I hope you do not make an assumption that i am trying to mislead would be users/buyers; i am but sharing some facts here. Seriously, this was what i heard from the pro and he is amongst us.

cheers pal.
no worries. but i bet ur pro fren has not used the lightsphere as often and as long as i did.

contaxable said:
As for the part about warping under extreme, i believe u might have taken out of context from the my sentence. Do allow me to clarify that the heat i referred to is when a user leaves it in his/her car (most of the time) instead of bringing home after a shoot. The extreme heat can damage the LS since it is made of plastic. :
nope, i din't take it out of context. what u typed, u typed. i'm jus saying that it does not 'go out of shape' after long usages.

contaxable said:
cheers pal and dun get so worked up ya? It is only a plastic cup after all. But damm, Gary is making one hell of a dough from his invention. I am hoping for durex to make one some day cos they are the best in bringing joy to the world.:bsmilie:
no way do i get work up over such an issue. i'm jus sharing and clearing some doubts as a long time and frequent user of this product.

LSPJ2. get one today and make gary a millionaire!

CreaXion said:
Have one question on the LS2. I believe I will sound dumb but I wish to make an informed decision before I buy it. Still money even though cheap. Does the item help u all to take events that has difficult lighting situations? Canon has high ISO to help them push the brightness but Nikon has problem with noise. Please dun flame me on this. A matter of personal noise tolerance.

bro, just buy it. BBB wont go wrong as it does make a diff esp on skin tones - really. But then, as many veterans here indicated, understanding flash photography might be more essential for some. LS lowers 3-stops, omnibounce lowers 2-stops. Direct flash no need to stop.

I do have a friend who does events for past few years. He swore by his LS1 (since day 1 of his ownership) for most of his indoor and some outdoor shots unless he was in a temple or that the scene did not require/allow flash. For large areas, i tend to believe it would not be able to throw far without pushing for a heavier guide number flashhead.

Then again, my opinions are subjective for critique. haiz...

cheers anyway!