LFC II - You'll never Walk Alone

Cheesecake said:
i only have the banana Yellow jersey bought some seasons ago. it was bought at a discount as i was a poor student back then! booo hoooo!

i'll set aside some $$ for buying a LFC's club polo tee! :)

the only soccer jersey i own is a white and blue spurs one from many many seasons ago when i was still doing my "a" levels. red was never my colour for shirts. wonder if they still had the one that is predominantly white with red trimmings. maybe can scrounge up some cash. :dunno:

imagine, if we all buy a shirt each, we can help the club finance 2 minutes of stevie gerrard's new contract :bsmilie:

giddygoat said:
the only soccer jersey i own is a white and blue spurs one from many many seasons ago when i was still doing my "a" levels. red was never my colour for shirts. wonder if they still had the one that is predominantly white with red trimmings. maybe can scrounge up some cash. :dunno:

imagine, if we all buy a shirt each, we can help the club finance 2 minutes of stevie gerrard's new contract :bsmilie:
just waiting for next month's pay!

will be buying maybe some nice LFC's club polo tee and perhaps some older jerseys where the $$ is not that high!

some $80 for a new one... madness! i can throw in another S$80 to make it S$160 and get myself some nice filters! :bsmilie:

Wah both of you are Liverpool supporters and only own 1 Liverpool jersey? Spurs somemore? Unbelievable! :bsmilie: Better cough up some cash to buy the winning CL jersey. Collectors' item!

I have quite a few of Man Utd's older jersey. Bought when i was younger, these days, sian liao. :bsmilie: Wearing jersey is out of fashion.

afbug said:
Wah both of you are Liverpool supporters and only own 1 Liverpool jersey? Spurs somemore? Unbelievable! :bsmilie: Better cough up some cash to buy the winning CL jersey. Collectors' item!

I have quite a few of Man Utd's older jersey. Bought when i was younger, these days, sian liao. :bsmilie: Wearing jersey is out of fashion.

no money mah brother!!

last time poor student leh... now working but yet still paying off bank loan taken for studying! :embrass:

seems like always in debt man... :sweat:

this time different. will grab a jersey(those past seasons one of cos). maybe if got enough left over from next month's pay maybe, will get the latest jersey for the new season!

this time hopefully will be decked in RED!! :heart:

yo people,

I been to the celebration the time when they parade the cup boy was the whole liverpool a sea of red unlike anything u see, anywhere else in the world...i got some pictures during the match but have yet to post them up as they need some scanning and also i will put it up soon so stay tune for the link...just to let u guys know liverpool is able to defend the title already read in the news yesterday...and also be prepared to see lots of new players coming to liverpool as lots of them is set to leave liverpool and also if you guys went on ebay there is a syndicate which i think it is selling the liverpool CL jersey and it looks fake to me, tell me what you think cause its going at £150 and only 1000 is made...follow the link to see the jersey...anyway stay tuned for pics of liverpool soon...

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=27289&item=5202069644&rd=1

afbug said:

eh i still student mah. just handed in my thesis so now unemployed some more. my shirts all cos 20 bucks at most, how to afford football jersey.
bought the spurs one cos i like the colour and it was on discount :bsmilie: spurs jersey always cheaper cos no demand i guess. anyway, it's my second fave team especially that year when they were under ossie ardilles.
also, i very choosy about materials, prefer 100% cotton shirts, never liked the materials in football jerseys.
anyway, even if my shirt is not red, my heart is the red and white of liverpool :)

I will defainately looking to buy 2004/2005 home jersey...even LFConline is run out of stock for medium size. Wait 1 year or 2 year..I am sure u can grab one at "WHY PAY MORE SHOP" around SGD40.

Rafa has to be ruthless

Bank balances are groaning, livers are moaning and the litter is being cleared from the streets of Liverpool and, hopefully, Istanbul.

Benitez in Istanbul: The hard work is about to start. (Photography/Empics)

The satisfaction enjoyed by those associated with Liverpool FC is unlikely to abate for some time. These are a set of people only too happy to remind rivals of their history and achievements.

But for Rafael Benitez, the hard work really starts here. And few could doubt that he is equal to his next task - turning his European champions into Premiership contenders.

Benitez's achievement is made all the greater by the acknowledgement that many of the players whose mantlepiece is set for a new, very special, adornment are players that the Spaniard obviously doesn't fancy and was landed with in the cash-strapped summer months of 2004. And though sentiment is never short an emotion on Merseyside, a cull is likely. And highly necessary.

Jerzy Dudek will forever be the hero of Istanbul. That amazing double save from Andriy Shevchenko and his Grobbelaar-esque antics to win the penalty shoot-out bailed out a team whose energy had been expended in that wonderful six-minute comeback. But Benitez will note his fragility in the early part of the game and for much of the season. Already Villareal keeper Pepe Reina is talking up his move to Anfield.

Vladimir Smicer took six years to become an Anfield hero. A rank underachiever who arrived from France's Lens as the best player in the old Championnat, Smicer's goal was quite a swansong. But with his contract up and Benitez perhaps looking to his old club Valencia for the services of the fleet-footed Vicente, no amount of post-match badge-kissing can change the view of Vlad as anything but an ex-Liverpool player.

Milan Baros already seems seems set for the exit. Djibril Cisse's return, with his added capability in holding up the ball, will hasten that. Benitez may again turn to Valencia with their striker Mista a favourite son. Baros' Euro 2004 performance continues to make him a saleable asset and a swap would seem prudent.

Full-back Steve Finnan spent most of the early season benched in favour of Josemi. He has been fortunate in that his rival's impetuosity won him a spot in the side. But Finnan was culpable for both Crespo goals and was subbed at half-time. With earnings from being European champions said to eventually total £50m, Benitez will surely look to reinforce here.

As for Harry Kewell, his time at Liverpool has to be over. Physical injury may well have been the end of his final but it is mental impairement that is his real problem. It is said Kewell took a groin knock. But then again so did the heroic Jamie Carragher late in normal time. Carragher, who this season has gone from willing foot-soldier to chest-thumping talisman, carried on as normal, playing through the pain barrier to force a penalty shoot-out.

Liverpool now have a reputation to protect. They're European champions but have not been a force in their own league for 15 years. Emotional fragility cannot be tolerated if they are to reclaim a place as a domestic power. Kewell can expect a move to a Premiership backwater or a hotter continental clime.

Jerzey Dudek won the trophy for Liverpool but that may not be enough to keep him there. (CliveBrunskill/GettyImages)

And what of Steven Gerrard? His goal was a captain's goal. His winning celebration was the most frenzied and his future is the most queried. He has spoken of imminent talks with club execs but is yet to fully say that he will definitely, no question, staying a Liverpool player.

It has been rumoured that his contract saga and high self-regard has annoyed some of his team-mates. A belief that he is bigger than the club may not be the attitude to take with an arch-pragmatist like Benitez. Add to this the fact that is was Gerrard and not Xabi Alonso who was moved from midfield alongside substitute Didi Hamann in Liverpool's hour of need in Istanbul. Gerrard got the ball rolling but the Spaniard who kept it pinging to Liverpool players as the sting was taken out of the rampant rossoneri.

Could a cashing-in of Gerrard to the continent further fund a revolution? A defensive midfield player to complement the one-paced Alonso would allow Benitez to play two strikers. Gerrard's instinct to charge around is not always conducive to tactical rigidity. Liverpool to part with their European Cup winning captain after a penalties win? It's happened before. Graeme Souness went to Sampdoria in 1984. The reasons may be different and Gerrard would be missed, especially by the fans, but he may not quite be an indespensible as he and they believe.

Hamann himself seems set to leave the club. Pivotal as the German was after replacing Finnan, Benitez is looking for younger legs in his midfield. Premiership suitors Bolton and Everton seem likely to be able to offer him similar wages and the chance for the 31-year-old to be in a starting XI.

And Sami Hyypia, the deposed captain, looked lost in that stunning first-half Milanese onslaught. Years have advanced and his pace has not. Nor has he ever looked as solid as he did alongside Stephane Henchoz. Mauricio Pellegrino have been a Premiership flop but his signing reveals that Benitez is not fully confident in the Finn. Hyypia's days are numbered. Expect to see him depart Anfield next summer at the latest.

Interest in Real Zaragoza's Argentine Gabriel Milito may hasten Hyypia's relegation to the bench and his Anfield goodbyes.

As for Djimi Traore; is it really true that he has a Champions League winner's medal? It is, proving football is a strange game. His first-half display revealed his shortcomings at the top level. Though Traore's late goal-line clearance made him as vital to eventual success as any of Liverpool's heroes, he seems destined to become a squad rather than first-team player, with perhaps only his versatility keeping him training at Melwood.

Steven Gerrard, Rafael Benitez: An uneasy alliance that may be ended? (Photography/GettyImages)

Liverpool's fans are in the pink. Their tales of a trip to the Bosphorus will be legend.

The half-finished stadium two hours from Istanbul was on a landscape more akin to the Steppes of Outer Mongolia than a European footballing capital. The journey back to Taksim Square was reminiscent of a refugee convoy's flight from a warzone, with stray fans wandering in amidst the stationary cars and on the mud-sodden roadside. All hope was lost at half-time, but a comeback as good as any in the 50-year history of the European Cup was made. Flying home, due to the lax attitude of Turkish airport staff, was made a standing room only experience for some fans. All memories for glasses to be clinked to, books to be written about, songs to be to sung to.

But time, as Liverpool, of all clubs, know, waits for no team. The current side still looks short of achieving Premiership success and seems unlikely to facsimilie the momentum of their run to Istanbul glory if they are readmitted to the competition they have just won.

Come August, Istanbul and the Liverpool line-up that won a 5th European Cup will be history.

Rafa will see to that.

If u ask me - Will u believe Liverpool to be allowed to defend their tittle next season playing in Champion League ?

I firmly do.

All the Big Guns G14( the grouping of elite European clubs) and the most powerful driving force - the sponsors, support Liverpool.

The Money is the devil and also speak the loudest. Without the sponsor money.....what is so attractive to win CL final.

Estimated Liverpool had/would bang in 50m to crown the Champion League. Excluded the ticket entrance to visit Anfield Museum to look at the Trophy that we will keep forever. :bsmilie:

Latest rumours..from media...

A Red Devil gonna join Liverpool !!!!!!!

Republic of Ireland international O'Shea was a boyhood Liverpool fan and the 6 million rated defender is finding it increasingly difficult to hold down a regular starting place at Old Trafford.

Liverpool are desperate for reinforcements at centre half. Sami Hyypia is feeling the strain and Mauricio Pellegrino was a disastrous signing. Moves from Old Trafford to Anfield are rare, but that will not discourage Benitez.

No way !!!

He's not really that decent...

cannot be. won't ever happen.
:sticktong

Cheesecake said:
cannot be. won't ever happen.
:sticktong

Even Pellegrino The Worst had played for Liverpool...anything could happen.
I am doubt that O'Sh*t is any worse than Pellegrino.

i'd rather have pellegrino stay than having o'sh1t in our squad

Next time when Man U vs LFC, that guy will own goal on behalf of his ex team or not? :think:

LFC, next time their player names will be hard to remember n pronounce. But hope the new players better give us see some good results else it is a waste of buying them. Baros going, wait like forlan, can score well, haha! :bsmilie:

Gerard Houllier is poised to take over as Olympique Lyon coach next season.
may the force be with you.

Looks the champs league triumph has won over the hearts of many. The legendary Maradona and Cruyff are 2 of the latest to join the list.

"There's not one club in the world so united with the fans. I sat there watching the Liverpool fans and they sent shivers down my spine. A mass of 40,000 people became one force behind their team. That's something not many teams have. For that I admire Liverpool more than anything." - Cruyff

"The Liverpool supporters didn't let me go to sleep the night before, there were 10 of them to every three Milan supporters. They showed their unconditional support at half-time when they were losing 3-0 and still they didn't stop singing." - Maradona

What makes us the supporters special is that no matter win, lose or draw, we remain united and support the team to the very last.

Of cause la. It doesn't make sense if the defending champion isn't allowed to defend its title. If Liverpool are to be in next season's CL, they will be outright qualifiers, meaning no need to go thru qualifying round because of UEFA's super cup. Read this from BBC.