LFC II - You'll never Walk Alone

nemesis32 said:
Ya... Rafa started with Potter and only subbed Cisse in in last 15mins...

One interesting thing though... looking at starting lineup and the bench, i think most likely Dudek and BAros will be gone plus nunez whom rafa saying is trying to sell.

personally, i believe Dudek will be forced out of the club. Baros is hanging there, middle of nowhere. he could go, and he might stay.

Nunez wrecked his own chances by unfortunately getting injured when he signed and thereafter, never really settled into the side. :sweat:

Cheesecake said:
still early in the season.
besides rafa prefers a 4-5-1 formation with a lone striker and flanked by 1(le Tallec) attacking midfielder and supported by 2 anchor midfielders(alonso and gerrard). 1 left wing(riise) and 1 right wing(potter, i believe).

can't blame the striker(morientes) for not scoring and besides the players looked out of sorts as confirmed by the post match report.

the opposition is here to do damage limitation and packed the midfield with 5 hardmen with even the exclusion of their top striker. most probably they raised their game in the presence of their illustrious opponents.

3-0 is a fair scoreline but deep inside, i feel that Liverpool could and should score more goals against an ooposition the calibre of TNS. maybe it's the first game of the new season... not forgetting the parading of the EUROPEAN CUP before the game, i believe that wore the players down considerably. haha

This is the problem dragged from last season after Mickey left us.

Yes..we dun blame the striker for not scoring..we blame that their defence are too good for us..we blame our defender not scoring... :dunno:

MU 3 season ago..played the formation with 4-4-1-1, Scholes as supportive and Ruud as lone striker...and Ruud bang the goals more than anyone else.

It is not about the formation..it is the quality. and the style we play.

When Ruud receive the ball...he run to the goal and try to shoot. When Baros receive the ball..he run here run there..refuse to pass to his temmate who is at better position and 60%..he end up losing possesion.

And we need 3-4 real good chances to score...

that is the problem.

I am sure baros the best can be our frindge striker...Hope..really hope that Morientes and CIsse can solve our problem.

btw...3-0 is not a fair scoreline...it should be 5-0. Even Rafa also admitted that the team are physcially gone into 2nd half.

Dudek is not even on the bench..look like Rafa still looking a new club for him.

simply, the team's not up for it yet.
RVN and Man Utd plays a different system, one that is very direct in attack. they have alot of good attacking players in the likes of Giggs, Scholes, C.Ronaldo... even their bench are packed with quality strikers such as Rooney, Saha etc.etc.

i think Liverpool is a team that lacks Man Utd in this area. any opposition playing against a team the calibre of Man Utd are always goin to be worried which player will get the last shot on goal. perhaps we only have Stevie G, Riise, Garcia... Morientes... etc to really scare the hell out of the opposition.

Cisse is still trying to find his way back. i hope we don't push him back too early.

at the end of the day, maybe we are lacking good attacking minded players with good attacking flair.

defensive wise, pretty strong. maybe the right back is a question mark. reina, the new GK, to me is an unproven quality. really hope that he turns out to be a good GK and not just a one season wonder like the past season he had for Villareal.

seems that Rafa placed alot of faith in him by letting go Kirkland and most likely Dudek...

Cheesecake said:
at the end of the day, maybe we are lacking good attacking minded players with good attacking flair.

this is the conclusion. That's why I say we could not win EPL this season.
We need to attack and score. Dun get me wrong...I dun mean we need a all-out-to-attack team. Even with Mickey, we played a very efficient counter attack game.. but we scored. We won lot of games by 1-0.

RVN and Man Utd plays a different system, one that is very direct in attack. they have alot of good attacking players in the likes of Giggs, Scholes, C.Ronaldo... even their bench are packed with quality strikers such as Rooney, Saha etc.etc.

No lah...I took 3 season ago MU as example. by that time they dun have Ronaldo, Saha nor Rooney.

They had Butt and Keane in the central, Giggs and Beckham as wingers and Scholes as supportive and Rudd the lone striker.

Today we have, Gerrard and Alono in the central, but we are quite weak in both wing. In EPL, wingers are very important. MU with Giggs and Beckham, Chelsea with Duff and Rubben. That;s why Rafa is willing to pay for 60k a week for 31 old player and smart enough to get Boro PLayer of last season for free.

Read this article....

aiya first competitive match and you write off our chances ???

aiyah pls lah, this is a pre-pre-pre season game... already leading 3-0 you think they will try to risk their ankles and hamstrings just so you can brag to your kopitiam mates about a 10-0 scoreline? These people have a LONG season ahead, stop blaming them for conserving energy and running down the clock. You rather we have another cisse-gone-for-whole-season kind of injury?

Annoys me when people judge our EPL chances on a game like this where most players haven't trained for more than a week. Give Rafa some credit, he won the Champions League, WE DIDN'T. We just post on forums and criticise him and the team.

LIVERPOOL FC - YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE! :thumbsup:

John Arne Riise got down the left and crossed for Fernando Morientes to lay the ball neatly into the path of his captain, Gerrard sidefooting the ball crisply past Gerard Doherty.

Doherty - captain for the night - performed heroics to keep out efforts from Gerrard, Morientes, Steve Finnan and Anthony Le Tallec.

wong_se said:
This is the problem dragged from last season after Mickey left us.

Yes..we dun blame the striker for not scoring..we blame that their defence are too good for us..we blame our defender not scoring... :dunno:

MU 3 season ago..played the formation with 4-4-1-1, Scholes as supportive and Ruud as lone striker...and Ruud bang the goals more than anyone else.

It is not about the formation..it is the quality. and the style we play.

When Ruud receive the ball...he run to the goal and try to shoot. When Baros receive the ball..he run here run there..refuse to pass to his temmate who is at better position and 60%..he end up losing possesion.

And we need 3-4 real good chances to score...

that is the problem.

I am sure baros the best can be our frindge striker...Hope..really hope that Morientes and CIsse can solve our problem.

btw...3-0 is not a fair scoreline...it should be 5-0. Even Rafa also admitted that the team are physcially gone into 2nd half.

Dudek is not even on the bench..look like Rafa still looking a new club for him.
Cannot compare.... When MU played 4411, RVR scored alot but scholes not scoring so the fans also complain mah... Overall, they also did not do well.

More critically, when Man U play that formation in EPL, most teams still play with a chance of an upset or a draw. TNS totally defend deeply and crowded the midfield and attacking 3rd so how to score? Usually if the other team is totally defensive, you need scoring from midfielders and even defenders... just liek Chelsea when they got so many goals from Lampard, Terry etc.

XPeriment626 said:
aiyah pls lah, this is a pre-pre-pre season game... already leading 3-0 you think they will try to risk their ankles and hamstrings just so you can brag to your kopitiam mates about a 10-0 scoreline? These people have a LONG season ahead, stop blaming them for conserving energy and running down the clock. You rather we have another cisse-gone-for-whole-season kind of injury?

Annoys me when people judge our EPL chances on a game like this where most players haven't trained for more than a week. Give Rafa some credit, he won the Champions League, WE DIDN'T. We just post on forums and criticise him and the team.

LIVERPOOL FC - YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE! :thumbsup:

it is not pre season. Liverpool is competing to qualify for CL.
playing TNS...as a European Champion..we should be need to risk our ankle to have a scoreline to achieve 10-0.....we should be easily score 5-0.

Yesterday Gerrard was wayyyyyy better than the rest.
he is The saviour again.

But I was really disappointed with Morientes. Really didn't do much running,
weak in ball holding, and finishing also below par. Although the opposition
keeper did well, he should have scored at least a brace.

Let's hope he really hit the form when it matters...

Aiyah..eventhough the season is not started..we had already known something right ? ie...WEst ham will not win EPL this season, Chelsea will be top 2 again, etc.

yes...we did not win CL, nor Rafa. It is LFC.

again it is true that..this season..I only hope for EPL. But I am also sad to predict that...the best we can do coming season is 3rd in EPL :bheart:

I tot we are going to sign a goos striker this season..but we did not. Unless the strikers department really improve much compared to now..other wise..I have to wait another...

I write LFC chances off ??? not likely...

If u refer back the previous LFC thread..I was one of not many who believed that we could beat Chelsea, Juventus and Milan in the CL. I said that before the match started, not after. and I did place a bet on Liverpool.

I am just being sincere to myself and the strength and the weakness of the team for the prediction.

wong_se said:
this is the conclusion. That's why I say we could not win EPL this season.
We need to attack and score. Dun get me wrong...I dun mean we need a all-out-to-attack team. Even with Mickey, we played a very efficient counter attack game.. but we scored. We won lot of games by 1-0.

Agreed that we dun have good wingers... thats why Benetiz trying to sign Figo... He also signed Zenden, who can play on both flanks. I believe SIssiko can also play on the flanks since he's supposedly an attacking midfielder.

wong_se said:
No lah...I took 3 season ago MU as example. by that time they dun have Ronaldo, Saha nor Rooney.

They had Butt and Keane in the central, Giggs and Beckham as wingers and Scholes as supportive and Rudd the lone striker.

Today we have, Gerrard and Alono in the central, but we are quite weak in both wing. In EPL, wingers are very important. MU with Giggs and Beckham, Chelsea with Duff and Rubben. That;s why Rafa is willing to pay for 60k a week for 31 old player and smart enough to get Boro PLayer of last season for free.

Read this article....

Yeah.. but they also wasn't veyr good then, they still lose to Arsenal in EPL. moreover, at that time, Beckham is at the top of his game and scored many goals from freekicks as well as pin-point crosses. Somehow, once he started to play for England in Central Midfield, he just deteroriate....

nemesis32 said:
When MU played 4411, RVR scored alot but scholes not scoring so the fans also complain mah... Overall, they also did not do well.

Precisely...even Ruud the lone striker bang in lots of goal..yet they also did not do well..

How do u expect Liverpool to do well when we play Morientes or Cisse but neither would score so much as Ruud ??

Where we finish in EPL is difficult to predict. This season, i expect the top 6 to be very competitive. My guess for top 6 will be Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Man U, Newcastle and Spurs.. yup... no EVERTON. I still believe they are one hit wonder and this season, you won't see tim cahill scoring more than 10 goals.

wong_se said:
Precisely...even Ruud the lone striker bang in lots of goal..yet they also did not do well..

How do u expect Liverpool to do well when we play Morientes or Cisse but neither would score so much as Ruud ??
Your theory is flawed... Drogba did not score but Lampard scored plenty and Chelsea won right? Impt thing is not who score but who win. So long as LIverpool keeps winning, i dun even care if all our strikers dun score a goal! haha

nemesis32 said:
Agreed that we dun have good wingers... thats why Benetiz trying to sign Figo... He also signed Zenden, who can play on both flanks. I believe SIssiko can also play on the flanks since he's supposedly an attacking midfielder.

yes..thats why we have Gonzales to replace Nunze, Zenden who can play both wings (but better on the right).....I see that Sissoko is to replace Biscan, where Sissoko can play both attack and defend....according to Rafa.

Not sure whether he can cope with EPL...but his size does convince me that he is strong enough.

nemesis32 said:
Where we finish in EPL is difficult to predict. This season, i expect the top 6 to be very competitive. My guess for top 6 will be Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Man U, Newcastle and Spurs.. yup... no EVERTON. I still believe they are one hit wonder and this season, you won't see tim cahill scoring more than 10 goals.

Who ever want to screw up their team...get SOuness as the manager.

I still could not believe a good team (who finished 4t and 5th) under Robson..could finish at 15th (was it 16th?) just less than a season SOuness been appointed.

and there was not much disciplinary problem under Robson...Now Newcastle become a joke...

I would pick Bolton ahead of Newcastle.

nemesis32 said:
So long as LIverpool keeps winning, i dun even care if all our strikers dun score a goal! haha

of course..as long as Liverpool is winning..I dun care who is the manager/defender/keeper/striker/coach/the cleaning lady.....

too bad...but that was not the case...since 80s.

wong_se said:
Who ever want to screw up their team...get SOuness as the manager.

I still could not believe a good team (who finished 4t and 5th) under Robson..could finish at 15th (was it 16th?) just less than a season SOuness been appointed.

and there was not much disciplinary problem under Robson...Now Newcastle become a joke...

I would pick Bolton ahead of Newcastle.
I think this season Newcastle will improve... Actually for last season, i believe a lot of problems are inherited from Robson. Newcastle does not play as a team at all, players like Roberts, Kluviet, Bowyer, Dyer and Bellamy don't play for the team thats why they cannot win games.. all have left except dyer (signed a new 4 year contract) and Bowyer (one time liverpool target now no one wants him...sad story).

The new players are pretty good. Emre is a very good player. From back to front they still have quality. I think so long as they can score goals, they will be in top 6. Shearer prob will score less than 10 goals this season (prob his lowest total) and retire.

Spurs is my pick for darkhorse... They have a good manager, very good young playersin the squad. Bolton, i think they won;t do it this year. Hierro is gone, Speed one year older, Jussi doesn't look as good as before, Diouf - may be their killer... i suspect he will do something stupid again this season. Stelios.. not sure if he stays but if he leaves they will miss his scoring from bench.

nemesis32 said:
I think this season Newcastle will improve... Actually for last season, i believe a lot of problems are inherited from Robson. Newcastle does not play as a team at all, players like Roberts, Kluviet, Bowyer, Dyer and Bellamy don't play for the team thats why they cannot win games.. all have left except dyer (signed a new 4 year contract) and Bowyer (one time liverpool target now no one wants him...sad story).

The new players are pretty good. Emre is a very good player. From back to front they still have quality. I think so long as they can score goals, they will be in top 6. Shearer prob will score less than 10 goals this season (prob his lowest total) and retire.

Spurs is my pick for darkhorse... They have a good manager, very good young playersin the squad. Bolton, i think they won;t do it this year. Hierro is gone, Speed one year older, Jussi doesn't look as good as before, Diouf - may be their killer... i suspect he will do something stupid again this season. Stelios.. not sure if he stays but if he leaves they will miss his scoring from bench.

those were not the problems under Robsob.. and became serious problem under SOuness..that's why I said if u wanna screw up your team..get SOuness.

Yes they will improve.if u finish 15th last season, u better improve.. :bsmilie:

wong_se said:
it is not pre season. Liverpool is competing to qualify for CL.
playing TNS...as a European Champion..we should be need to risk our ankle to have a scoreline to achieve 10-0.....we should be easily score 5-0.

Yesterday Gerrard was wayyyyyy better than the rest.
he is The saviour again.

But I was really disappointed with Morientes. Really didn't do much running,
weak in ball holding, and finishing also below par. Although the opposition
keeper did well, he should have scored at least a brace.

Let's hope he really hit the form when it matters...

Aiyah..eventhough the season is not started..we had already known something right ? ie...WEst ham will not win EPL this season, Chelsea will be top 2 again, etc.

yes...we did not win CL, nor Rafa. It is LFC.

again it is true that..this season..I only hope for EPL. But I am also sad to predict that...the best we can do coming season is 3rd in EPL :bheart:

I tot we are going to sign a goos striker this season..but we did not. Unless the strikers department really improve much compared to now..other wise..I have to wait another...

I write LFC chances off ??? not likely...
Did u guys see we have a serious problem here ?? we will not EPL at all.
so what is it you think? we will win or we won't win ? :dunno:

If u refer back the previous LFC thread..I was one of not many who believed that we could beat Chelsea, Juventus and Milan in the CL. I said that before the match started, not after. and I did place a bet on Liverpool.

I am just being sincere to myself and the strength and the weakness of the team for the prediction.
aiyo pls lor.. this is the first game... we only have one friendly before this game... we fielded a few youngsters... we bought new players... a few more coming..

nemesis32 said:
Your theory is flawed... Drogba did not score but Lampard scored plenty and Chelsea won right? Impt thing is not who score but who win. So long as LIverpool keeps winning, i dun even care if all our strikers dun score a goal! haha

aiya...winning EPL is not so simple as 1 theory mah....Chelsea won lot of 1-0 match. yes..their striker is not strong, I never said Drogba is good. But having midfielder score most of the goal..that is not a healthy or balance situation...Unless the striker department has the highest number in assist in goal.

Not having highest number of assist in goal and not having the highest of goal scored...then we pay 15m for a striker...might as well playe Sinama and Mellor.

For me...Chelseas last season success was quite similiar to ours during 1999/2000. They won lots of 1-0 match...they are extremely strong in defending...look at their number of goals conceded last season.
Terry and his team, and Cech just did a wonderful job..

In contrast...we have Kirkland and Dudek did us several floppy goalkeeping..ie we lost 1-0 to MU..Rooney weak shot just past dudek arms...we lost 1-0 to everton...where Kirkland did not move but diving at the same place when everton scored from freekick.

and Josemi....always off position and waved the hand to linesmand + jogging behind the striker together with our oldest player Pelle.

Attack can only build on strong defence. Even Fergi nowadays still looking desperately replacement for SheisMichael and he always give credits to the twin tower, Bruce + Pallister.