Lensbaby on Infrared ~ alternative on alternative. [limwhow]

hoho... interesting, thanks for sharing,...

Some more long-legged specimens of the species...

Hmmm... I Triton-ized the whole 535nm IR photo, leaving the two lovely ladies in colour.
It is very obvious that the colours are still indeed Infrared from the magenta artifacts on the fringes, and the pinkish hue of the skin tone.
The spillage of the masking at the foot of one of the ladies and the roughness of the post processing is a reflection of a deficiency in skill that still requires lots of practice and improvement.

5739380983_41c8868670_z.jpg

Another tone of PP.. where the green is supposed to be still green...

What a busy Tuesday afternoon it was along Orchard Road.
Aside from pretty Belle aplenty, there were hunks, chunks and punks railings to railings. Here goes another style of PP.

Cute Japanese girls...

5739822625_9f5d33150a_z.jpg

Arm-outstretched Ang Moh lady...

5739824507_03f4cb23b1_z.jpg

Larlarloo, you are modest!
Thank you for coming by and giving me your thumbsups!
I believe every shooter has his/her own preference. Some are totally into Lensbaby and Tilt-shift lenses because of the selective focussing. But others find that too much blur make them uncomfortable. Just like IR photos, certain shooters prefer to keep their IR photos as unprocessed and as little colour-changed as possible, while others (including myself) are wild creatures when it comes to colours.
I am merely a student learning the great work of art from all my sifus around here. Every time I see their works, every time they talk to me, I learn something new. That is why I like the forum so much.
I think I'm with you on this one. As in, I also like vibrant unique colours and want my IR pics to be as uniquely colourful as it can be. But I guess I gotta brush up lots on my PP skills to achieve the way you achieved. So that means I gotta learn more from sifus like you and many other sifus... I hope to be as good as you all soon! :)

Your stuff is really really good :) PP is great. Your thread here has made me order my Composer pro with the Sweet 35 optic!

Just to update a previous reply to this thread, you can buy just the Sweet 35 optic (and not the Composer pro) to get the aperture adjustment without using the magnetic aperture discs :) The only limit is the 35mm focal length. This lens will also close focus :) It is not necessary to but the Composer pro and the sweet 35 as a set. having said that, my set should arrive at the end of the month :D Can't wait to pair it with the converted D7000 I will be collecting at the same time :D

larlarloo said:
I think I'm with you on this one. As in, I also like vibrant unique colours and want my IR pics to be as uniquely colourful as it can be. But I guess I gotta brush up lots on my PP skills to achieve the way you achieved. So that means I gotta learn more from sifus like you and many other sifus... I hope to be as good as you all soon! :)

Haha... Larlarloo..
Well, don't wait. The sun is nice and bright right now. Go out and shoot some IR photos and share with us!

Kay Burn Lim said:
Your stuff is really really good :) PP is great. Your thread here has made me order my Composer pro with the Sweet 35 optic!

Just to update a previous reply to this thread, you can buy just the Sweet 35 optic (and not the Composer pro) to get the aperture adjustment without using the magnetic aperture discs :) The only limit is the 35mm focal length. This lens will also close focus :) It is not necessary to but the Composer pro and the sweet 35 as a set. having said that, my set should arrive at the end of the month :D Can't wait to pair it with the converted D7000 I will be collecting at the same time

Good to hear that. And thanks for sharing with us about the Sweet 35 Optics. Maybe that is the one that I should be looking at too cos I love wide angle, the wider the better...!

What about the R72 ...?

Some of my friends asked me what happened to my first IR love ~ the R72?
Haha.. it's still here. Held close to my heart.
Once in a while I still shoot with it.. like today.
Here are a couple of shots while I was on the MRT travelling home.

... passed by the waters...

5742173565_5de90b45df_z.jpg

... passed by the roads...

5742726954_c787614a85_z.jpg

... and finally, passed by the neighbourhood...

5742174773_6b031ba690_z.jpg

I feel that the R72, being of a higher cut-off, is much suited to IR photos with paucity of hues. And as I learn to shoot more IR pictures, I begin to appreciate this very characteristic of the 720nm filter, and thus I begin to tend not to push the colours too hard on this lovely piece of glass.
In short, I have learned to be more mellow whenever I am on the R72.

Colouring my R72 again...

Well... not that it is impossible.
The R72 is definitely far from colourless. And what I have always found is that in bright sunlight with good exposures, the IR pictures from the R72 can bear a great deal of intrinsic colours. And here again, I have resorted to my old time bad habit of drawing them out with layers after layers of Hue and Saturation... Terrible...

Walking down the slope...

5742415193_98e99dae00_z.jpg

Cool shots you have! love those toy effects. :)

how's the centre sharpness of this lensbaby control freak?

did any extra pp on the sharpness?

Cool shots you have! love those toy effects. :)

how's the centre sharpness of this lensbaby control freak?

did any extra pp on the sharpness?

Hello wmayeo,
Thank you for coming by and for your compliment.
The centre sharpness is actually not bad. Not bad at all. But I must be very honest to say that one's execution of the pressing-and-releasing method of focusing with the Control Freak must be practised to perfection to achieve a one-shot-one-kill sharpness. I say this because I am still very new to it, and my focusing often times was out. Thus, like my usual style, I PP and add in USM to most of my photos. If you want to have some examples of those that was not sharpened, these would be the ones...

[Click on it to see the enlarged picture]

Hello wmayeo,
Thank you for coming by and for your compliment.
The centre sharpness is actually not bad. Not bad at all. But I must be very honest to say that one's execution of the pressing-and-releasing method of focusing with the Control Freak must be practised to perfection to achieve a one-shot-one-kill sharpness. I say this because I am still very new to it, and my focusing often times was out. Thus, like my usual style, I PP and add in USM to most of my photos. If you want to have an example of one that was not sharpened, this would be the one...

[Click on it to see the enlarged picture]

nice one again. i understand how tough manual focusing on DSLR. is there any change in focusing screen to ensure your focusing is spot on?

Actually no change in the focusing screen at all. But what I have found to be one good way of focusing is to keep both eyes open and looking at the scene. Once the focus is spot on, I will be able to sense that both eyes are seeing in an exact same focus. That is when I know it's time to press the shutter button.

Looks like you have quite some free time on hand .. hahaha .. can go O-churd-Load to shoot

Eh.. Brother!
Not like you leh... recently so busy until MIA from both CS and FB liao, you....
I don't have much papers of value to count. So bo bian lor... just bring the small small camera with the small small lens around and shoot swee swee girls lor..
Hahaha....

The Edmund Long Pass (ELP) IR...

Of course, the ELP-modified Canon 20D shouldn't be left out. All my children must be given equal attention.

Fatherly Love

In this modern world, children who are half-grown usually want to appear Cool.
Open show of loving concern towards these young ones may often meet with embarrassed refusal.

As reluctant as we are as Fathers in appearing Cool around them and with them, deep inside, our deep Love for the young ones never ever fades.
It remains hidden from sight, only to emerge whenever the young Cool one takes a tumble and bruise a knee.

5764301003_639fd083cb_b.jpg

Hmmm... my message for the day. ;)

limwhow said:
The Edmund Long Pass (ELP) IR...

Of course, the ELP-modified Canon 20D shouldn't be left out. All my children must be given equal attention.

Fatherly Love

In this modern world, children who are half-grown usually want to appear Cool.
Open show of loving concern towards these young ones may often meet with embarrassed refusal.

As reluctant as we are as Fathers in appearing Cool around them and with them, deep inside, our deep Love for the young ones never ever fades.
It remains hidden from sight, only to emerge whenever the young Cool one takes a tumble and bruise a knee.

Hmmm... my message for the day. ;)

Dr lim! Ur msg is a good one.

Why, thank you Blackgoddess.
The love of a Father for his children... one of the most steadfast things in the world.
Difficult to express. But doesn't mean it isn't there.
Cheers to all Fathers in the world.

Back to the 535nm... again.

Still, I find that the colours of the 535nm is the most intense and most processable so far. And if I am not aiming for the snowy-white effects of the R72 or the pristine Golden effect of the ELP, I will still reach out for the 535nm. Until such day Fatigue has the 470nm for me... hahaha...

Here is another experimental shot with the 535nm. It was a really hot and bright and sunny afternoon. SereneXMM and I ascended a five-storey old flat to shoot from above.

5765719818_fce00e1145_z.jpg

535nm in China

Just returned from a trip to Southern China in a discovery of my ancestry roots.
It was one heck of a hot summer up there.
But with the scorching sun came the opportunities for IR.
What more, with my 535nm.

漳州 Village

We travelled up the hills of Zhangzhou 漳州 and passed by many many many rural villages with very old classic Chinese village houses
and their typical Chinese tiled-roofs. Scenes which I have seen only in Chinese movies, but never in real life.
And right in front of my own eyes, I had opportunities aplenty to appreciate traditions in continuity.

5841671355_e14a6478df_b.jpg

漳州华安土楼

These are big cylindrical enclosures of a couple of hundreds of household units.
And this one here built in Zhangzhou are, contrary to the usual Tulou (mud-houses 土楼), built by the Hokkien people instead of the Hakka people.
And needless to say, the sheer magnitude and complexity of the 土楼 was mind-blowing.
My Lensbaby shot does it no justice.

5842267156_ee5a39eda5_b.jpg