Lens

Agetan said:
Well, just use 18-70 for portrait and general purpose. for reach, get the 75-300. Then if you need macro, then get Tamron 90mm f2.8 lor.. if budget is your ultimate goal. If you don't do real macro (meaning you don't do 1:1 most of the time) 18-70 & 75-300 should do for you.

18-70 lens is pretty good in terms of versatility, a bit soft wide open, but hey, its so light, I will bring it out anywhere...

Here some shots I did with 18-70.

55558474.jpg

55558467.jpg

55847649.jpg

Good luck... Buying good lens don't always equal to good picture.. learn how to use them properly. I am still learning a lot everyday.

Hart

Thank bro for the advise again and great pics... :thumbsup:

do you actually need 85mm for portrait :sweat: ?
Usually 50mm f/1.7 (equavalent to 75mm in 35mm term ) is usually good enough.

zcf said:
do you actually need 85mm for portrait :sweat: ?
Usually 50mm f/1.7 (equavalent to 75mm in 35mm term ) is usually good enough.

haaaa, kind of influence from my previous 300D era.... then I had a 50mm then the C people urge me to get the 85mm.... but before I could do that, system gone liao........ btw, any good Macro zoom to advise??

okie bro zcf, brpo pai, bro agetan and all

I am choosing between KM and Nikon now.... if I go for KM setup, will be looking at the following, though will not buy all the lens at once:

1. KM 5D w/18-70mm kit len
2. Tokina 12-24mm
3. 85mm (because got kit len covering 18-70mm so not looking at 50mm, unless can get the body only, then go for 50mm)
4. Sigma APO MACRO 150mm F2.8 EX DG HSM
5. 5600HS

What you guys think... passable budget setup???

no KM mount for Tokina 12-24, go for Sigma 10-20 or KM 11-18 instead.

1) $1160 from Oracle :D
2) As Drudkh mentioned, Sigma 10-20 $865 or KM 11-18 $895
3) I will recommend the 50mm 1.7 for $180 too
4) ???
5) $490 from oracle but i think no more

drake336 said:
1) $1160 from Oracle :D
2) As Drudkh mentioned, Sigma 10-20 $865 or KM 11-18 $895
3) I will recommend the 50mm 1.7 for $180 too
4) ???
5) $490 from oracle but i think no more

Thank Bro drake336 & Bro Drudkh....

4. Sigma APO MACRO 150mm F2.8 EX DG HSM (this one got from Nikon thread one, don't know if got any similar one for KM??)........... don't know if too late already for Bro Oracle... still not confirm yet on the choices..... but the advise is def very helpful.... :thumbsup:

KM has 200mm macro G. dunno price and dun think can find anymore.

Drudkh said:
KM has 200mm macro G. dunno price and dun think can find anymore.

Thank bro, hmmm would have a problem at the longer end.... thinking of getting one long enough for macro

SEXiao said:
Thank bro, hmmm would have a problem at the longer end.... thinking of getting one long enough for macro
so its either Sigma or Tamron.

Drudkh said:
so its either Sigma or Tamron.

alamak I think should be:

Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro , sorry.....

The Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO MACRO I copy from Nikon thread Price guide..... but think not long enough...

SEXiao said:
alamak I think should be:

Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro , sorry.....

The Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO MACRO I copy from Nikon thread Price guide..... but think not long enough...

marco lens are when u r able to get the scale 1:1 only (true marcos) ..i dont put the sigma 70-300 1:2 as a marco lens loh.

well 1:2 is good enough for most application... unless you are very dedicated macro shooter..

I don't have the patients...

anything from 1:10 or bigger is consider Macro by definition.

Hart