Lens recommendation to replace kit lens.

thinking of getting a budget prime .. what do u guys recommend? Used Minolta 50mm f1.7 vs Sony 50mm f1.8

If you can find a good copy and intend to get the A99 next year :p, then of course Min 50/1.7 for the better built and FF coverage.

haha...can't even afford a77 ,,, thanks for the advice =)

gotta save up more lolz

SAL 50 f1.8 roughly selling 150 now depends if it's very new
Minolta 50 f1.4 is roungly 300-320 oso so can save up a bit more can get a much better lens =)

SAL 50 f1.8 roughly selling 150 now depends if it's very new
Minolta 50 f1.4 is roungly 300-320 oso so can save up a bit more can get a much better lens =)
thanks , just saw someone selling at bns at $320 =)

yeah suggest you try out some lenses before buying one =) and also I would suggest you getting two lens solution or even 3 lens solution and get a good lens.

example not so epenssive setup but good IQ would be

17-50 Tamron f2.8
70-210 f4 (beercan)

if you want longer ons can consider 75-300 f4-f5.6 (aka Big Beer Can) i find this big beer can better than the SAL75-300 although the big beercan is heavier and longer

But you may exceed a little bit from your budget of 500 =)
Actually i did look at the beer can, it can be quite affordable on the BnS section, For the tamon 17-50 f2.8, i don't really like 3rd party lenses.
Cz 24-70.
Cz 16-35
70-200g

Whoaa... Dont poison me with the Cz lenses, i really like Cz now days. BTW thanks for pursuing me not to change system. Now i never regret for not changing system. You know why i wanted to change to canon that time?? It's because of the L lenses red ring =). After all thanks a lot.
I dont really do PP too lazy and dont have time lolz so all of my pix the most I do was raw to jpeg and correction of WB =) comparing IQ of 18-250 with shorter lens like Tamron 1750 you can really see the difference specially when using to take landscape 18250 lens is not bad lens I have it and manage to get good pix =)
Yeah, i am also lazy to do PP.

Not that hard actually.. just need some discipline and the willingness to purchase. Save $200 every month. Can get 1 every year. if not. 2 years.
Instead of spending money buying TOTO 4D hoping for some luck.. I guess its better to save up that little bit (depends on individual, some bet alot) everytime.. in a long run they can become alot if you think about it. Getting bit OT already..

But TS...im just saying... Pls dont ask for so much when you are only offering so much. Compromise. Buy it. Use it. Its actually not that bad!! If you going to be so picky.. you will never be satisfy or maybe you will never even make a choice at all.
For the 1st part of the reply, i will agree to it, even though i am too young to bet it. If so easy strike 4D or Toto. Everybody at here will own Cz lenses.
Now i got poison by the A77 kit. But i don't know should i buy it a not. My parents is willing to sponsor me for my camera.
yeah true his best bet with is current budget is the 18250 which in BnS is selling within his budget =) or if he dont mind he could hunt for Minolta 24-105 or the 28-135 if he wants one of the outing I will bring my 28-135 see if he likes the field of view of 28mm =) this lens I think is within his budget also

or wait and look for 16-105 (BnS now roughly 550-600) this lens is also nice can cover most of your needs from wide to tele unless TS wants to do some birding =)
Bro albertri. you so good uh, you will bring your minolta lens for me to try??
16-105 is a good lens? Haven't tried it before. And i don't do birding. For the 16-105 should be okay if you take picture of bird in Singapore HDB area. =)
TS.. i suggest u save up abit more and then get ur dream lens.. IMO 16-80mm/17-70mm/16-105mm is nice focal length

for the time being.. zoom with ur legs.. LOL
Actually, i did save. After all i save quite a lot already but Bu She De Hua, as you know. Kids like me play a lot of things such as pool , movie all that.
why not consider the 16-105 if you not already have this lens.
Never tried the lens before. =( Shall go Sony Style and try if i got time.
someone posted Tamron 18-200 affordale price maybe TS could look into this but dont expect too much from this lens as this is not the fastest lens out there

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/buy-...amron-sonykmmount-18-200mm-f3-5-6-3-lens.html
Actually , is there a lot of different between sony and 3rd party lenses?? I don't seems to like 3rd party lenses.

This is like never ending.. Again we are back to square 1. You asked so much. We gave you so much help. in the end. You still BU SHE DE HUA. Half of the time...u say...pls recommend this..is this good or not..half of the time. bu she de hua. Like i mention in your other thread before.
If you bu she de hua (not willing to spend) That means you are not ready and probably you Really want but at the same time...you really afraid/dontwant. If you cant make up your mind. Then dont buy. Move on.. Save the money..or spend it elsewhere.

See...you didnt mention you are unwilling when it comes to entertainment such as movie..games..etc. That means. at this point of time. You probably feel happier doing those..since u nv complaint about Bu She de..Good..by all means. U are happy. We are happy for you.

You are fortunate that your parents are willing to sponsor you the camera. : )
Instead of telling you what are the differences..why not you tell us why u dont like 3rd party lenses? Im guessing..becos they are 3rd party?

Whoaa... Dont poison me with the Cz lenses, i really like Cz now days. BTW thanks for pursuing me not to change system. Now i never regret for not changing system. You know why i wanted to change to canon that time?? It's because of the L lenses red ring =). After all thanks a lot.

i didn't poison! besides... i didn't mention anything at all about changing system!

Telsoon said:
Actually i did look at the beer can, it can be quite affordable on the BnS section, For the tamon 17-50 f2.8, i don't really like 3rd party lenses.

Yeah, i am also lazy to do PP.

U should thank yourself for not changing system. Sony offers more than other brands.

For yr budget and the fact that u are still a student, go for Minolta lenses. Like what another bro said, go for 28-105 or something like that. Cheap and good. Play with it for now until u are ready for more ex lenses.

Sony 16-105, to me, is expensive. In HK, brand new price is SIN$600. I already heartpain to buy. That's why I decided to go for Minolta lenses.

The reviews are accurate. Try
http://www.dyxum.com/lenses/index.asp

Key in the focal length and brand of Lenses on the right side.

I have been checking quite alot on different lenses in this site. They even have reviews on Sony kit lenses.

3rd party lenses are not bad actually I have both Tamron 1750 and Sony CZ 1680 and to be honest sharness wise it's almost hard to tell the difference just that CZ has sligthly has better contrast. But build wise I want to scold Sony for the 1680 build luckily they've put a metal mount if they opt for plastic it's br the same build as the kit lens =(

and now using Tamron 73-300 Di USD and comparing to Sony's G lens 70-300 the sharpness is almost the same =)

This is like never ending.. Again we are back to square 1. You asked so much. We gave you so much help. in the end. You still BU SHE DE HUA. Half of the time...u say...pls recommend this..is this good or not..half of the time. bu she de hua. Like i mention in your other thread before.
If you bu she de hua (not willing to spend) That means you are not ready and probably you Really want but at the same time...you really afraid/dontwant. If you cant make up your mind. Then dont buy. Move on.. Save the money..or spend it elsewhere.

See...you didnt mention you are unwilling when it comes to entertainment such as movie..games..etc. That means. at this point of time. You probably feel happier doing those..since u nv complaint about Bu She de..Good..by all means. U are happy. We are happy for you.

You are fortunate that your parents are willing to sponsor you the camera. : )
Instead of telling you what are the differences..why not you tell us why u dont like 3rd party lenses? Im guessing..becos they are 3rd party?
i got bad experience on tamron 70-300mm lens, one things that i remember about the lens is noisy AF but i can't blame the lens because it's not those super pro lenses. i finally put my mind down, i notice that most of the minolta lens that are within my budget cannot cover my landscape needs as i love to take landscape whenever i go out any jalan jalan. Now i have a few lens in mind, Tamron 1750, Sony 18-250 and maybe Cz 16-80 if got good price at BnS ;)
i didn't poison! besides... i didn't mention anything at all about changing system!
Chill sister. =)
U should thank yourself for not changing system. Sony offers more than other brands.

For yr budget and the fact that u are still a student, go for Minolta lenses. Like what another bro said, go for 28-105 or something like that. Cheap and good. Play with it for now until u are ready for more ex lenses.

Sony 16-105, to me, is expensive. In HK, brand new price is SIN$600. I already heartpain to buy. That's why I decided to go for Minolta lenses.

The reviews are accurate. Try
A-mount lens database (lenses for Minolta and Sony DSLR cameras)

Key in the focal length and brand of Lenses on the right side.

I have been checking quite alot on different lenses in this site. They even have reviews on Sony kit lenses.
Thanks for the advice.
3rd party lenses are not bad actually I have both Tamron 1750 and Sony CZ 1680 and to be honest sharness wise it's almost hard to tell the difference just that CZ has sligthly has better contrast. But build wise I want to scold Sony for the 1680 build luckily they've put a metal mount if they opt for plastic it's br the same build as the kit lens =(

and now using Tamron 73-300 Di USD and comparing to Sony's G lens 70-300 the sharpness is almost the same =)
Thanks for the advice, mind letting me try your minolta lens someday?? i never play any minolta lens before. =(

If you dislike noisy AF..then no choice..you have to look at SSM lenses. Since u are considering those now..maybe you like to add the A77 kit lens in.. 16-50 F2.8 SSM.

btw...not all super pro lenses are quiet. Only those with SSM are less noisy.

i got bad experience on tamron 70-300mm lens, one things that i remember about the lens is noisy AF but i can't blame the lens because it's not those super pro lenses. i finally put my mind down, i notice that most of the minolta lens that are within my budget cannot cover my landscape needs as i love to take landscape whenever i go out any jalan jalan. Now i have a few lens in mind, Tamron 1750, Sony 18-250 and maybe Cz 16-80 if got good price at BnS ;)

Chill sister. =)

Thanks for the advice.

Thanks for the advice, mind letting me try your minolta lens someday?? i never play any minolta lens before. =(

sure once we go to outing togther will bring my minolta lenses (28-135, 70-210) so you could try out the difference between new lenses and the 1980's lens =) I like old lenses actually they have a different character than newer ones =... dunno hard to explain lolz

Oh i think one good comparisson would be you'll ask a draftsman/architect and a painter to draw the same building... you'll see how the painter will sketch the building to the canvas while the architect will draw them on paper and with very precise lines...

If you dislike noisy AF..then no choice..you have to look at SSM lenses. Since u are considering those now..maybe you like to add the A77 kit lens in.. 16-50 F2.8 SSM.

btw...not all super pro lenses are quiet. Only those with SSM are less noisy.

Yeah TS bear in mind almost all screw driven AF (meaning those lenses without build in AF motor) will be noisy whn focusing.... this is also true for CZ1680, tamron 1750, and all Minolta lenses =).

since when is screwing quiet? :bsmilie:

of course i mean screw-driven AF lenses :D

Now now, dun start giving me ideas...

you guys thinking what I'm thinking? ;p:embrass: