Kitchen samurai.... Please fall-in.

After reading this thread n following Photobum's good advice, I bought a Global Deba. Reasonably prices (under 150). I use it for fish, meat and cutting veg. For me being a total newbie, it just fits nicely and very sharp and of course not too costly.
Thx again Photobum and all the contributors here.

I am glad that you like your newly purchased Global deba. A 7-inch or 180mm deba bocho is a good size. Take good care of it, keep it sharp and it will lasts you for many, many years.

Now we are talking!

Great to know that there are a few culinary masters on ClubSnap.

Sadly, I am just an amateur when it comes to the food industry. :embrass:

Well, i think there is more who is well versed but haven't shown up yet.. anyway, cooking is just like taking pictures don't you think so? There is no ending in learning..

"Got eyes, but cannot recognise Tarzan." (direct mandarin translation) ;)

Exactly! Even with a degree in photography, I am still learning about it everyday.

Just saw a line of knives, Kai in Isetan...looks pretty nice too ;)

What you saw at Isetan were probably Kai Shun knives. Yes, they are beautiful.

Kitchen Samurai Theory 101 - Maintain knives.

Never misuse a knife: it is neither a tin-opener nor a screwdriver. You will irrevocably damage your knife and could easily injure yourself and others. There is nothing more tiresome and unproductive than struggling with a blunt knife, so keep it sharpened and honed. A sharp knife can 'drop' through a tomato, without any juice or puree escaping.

I am glad that you like your newly purchased Global deba. A 7-inch or 180mm deba bocho is a good size. Take good care of it, keep it sharp and it will lasts you for many, many years.

Thx Photobum.
Now my next question...which whetstone shd I get to sharpen my knife. Kasumi #3000/#8000 or #240/#1000 ? Or any alternative in your expert opinion is good and where cld I find it.
Thx in advance.

Thx Photobum.
Now my next question...which whetstone shd I get to sharpen my knife. Kasumi #3000/#8000 or #240/#1000 ? Or any alternative in your expert opinion is good and where cld I find it.
Thx in advance.

The Kasumi combination whetstones are too narrow and short for your 180mm deba bocho. I highly recommend the Naniwa grit 1,000/3,000 combination whetstone to begin with. The grit 1,000 is a medium coarse stone which has the ablity to 'shave' steel but not too much per stroke. In case you made an error (such as scuffing the blade surface), it can be corrected easily and quickly. The grit 3,000 will give you a nice medium-shine finishing. For mirror-gloss finishing, you will need a whetstone of grit 5,000 and above.

You can purchase the Naniwa 1,000/3,000 combination whetstone from Razorsharp. After you have purchased the combination stone, go to any Daiso store and buy a grit 300 sharpening stone (in a blue/green box; costs $2) for cleaning and reprofiling the 1,000/3,000 whetstone. Once you have acquired both stones, you are ready. (PS: Never use that grit 300 stone to sharpen your knives.)

Please be aware that traditional Japanese knives sharpen differently from Western knives. You may want to read this before you start. Wear an apron while sharpening as color dye from the whetstone may splash and stain clothing.

Kitchen Samurai Theory 101 - Handling knives safely.

Treat all knives with great respect, especially when others are in the kitchen. Never be tempted to try to catch a falling knife (even you are wearing rubber gloves) - step out of the way and let the knife drop to the floor.

If you have to pass a knife to another person, hold it by the spine (see anatomy of a knife) with the tip and cutting edge pointing downwards. Offer the knife to other person at a height that is comfortable for them, ideally over a work surface or on a cutting block.

When walking around the kitchen with a knife, hold the handle firmly, with the blade close to your side, tip pointing downwards and cutting edge facing behind you. For extra control and stability, place your thumb on the spine. Never rush or run with a knife, otherwise jeopardizing the safety of yourself and those around you.

The most common and dangerous of knife injuries occurs when a person grabs at something in a sink and a blade slices the hand between the thumb and forefinger (this actually happened to me once and it was not a pretty sight :sweat:), so never leave knives soaking in soapy water in the sink.

"Got eyes, but cannot recognise Tarzan." (direct mandarin translation) ;)

Exactly! Even with a degree in photography, I am still learning about it everyday.

You have a degree in Photography? Where did you graduate?

I was in RMIT from 1994-1996 but work for a year as a freelance photographer in Melbourne befor coming back over here.

You have a degree in Photography? Where did you graduate?

I was in RMIT from 1994-1996 but work for a year as a freelance photographer in Melbourne befor coming back over here.

I graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) in Rochester, New York. I obtained a MFA in Photography.

Wah...............envy sia...............RIT.............I wanted to go but it was way way too ex for me at that point of time.

Masters in Fine Art Photography. Wow.....!

Looks like we need to call you Master not only in knife but also photography too!

No lah.... I am still learning photography too. There are so many changes in the technology since I graduated. My training there was very "old school" - using the Zone System for exposure, developing film and Cibachrome printing in the darkroom.

No lah.... I am still learning photography too. There are so many changes in the technology since I graduated. My training there was very "old school" - developing film and Cibachrome printing.

My training also the similiar to yours too.......Black and White Fine Print, Colour and B&W film developing, Colour Printing and a little of the Science Photography where we learn about fast speed photography.

Sorry guys.......just a little OT liao.

Bro....we speak via PM lar......don't want to dirty this thread.:bsmilie:

Ok... back to being a kitchen samurai. ;)

My photography training is just for "bread and butter" but gourmet cooking and knives are the two things I truly enjoy.

Ok... back to being a kitchen samurai. ;)

My photography training is just for "bread and butter" but gourmet cooking and knives are the two things I truly enjoy.

Well, mine is the opposite of yours.. Haha.. anyway, we should one day combine Food and Photography together and it'll become Foodtography... Haha... i'm waiting for the day....:bsmilie::bigeyes:

Panda eats, shoots and leaves.

I will be dropping by Razorsharp this afternoon lunch time :) anyone wants to come along?

Didnt realised it so close to my office.

RAZORSHARP PTE LTD
315 Outram Road #01-03,
Tan Boon Liat Building,
Singapore 169074.

Well......that's what I am specializing now......FOODTOGRAPHY......!:bsmilie: